We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like Family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Alberta
1 review
“Just like Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel is the very best stay in Annapolis. I have been going there for 4 years as my son was in the Naval Academy They are my extended family and knew me by name and the Hospitality is outstanding.
The rooms are spacious, clean, they have all the little perks and amentities. it is within walking distance to the Naval Academy and when you do not feel like walking they shuttle you. Shopping and other fantastic Restaurants are close by.
The Restaurant and Bar are the Best Kept little secret in Annapolis and Sally and her crew treat you like Royality.
I do not remember the last time I sent a Thank you card to a Hotel for their Outstanding service but I certainly did here.
You will not be disappointed. They went above and beyond to treat me like a Special guest. They even honored my son with a Graduation Gift!!
Enjoy your stay at the O'Callaghan

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bucketlist56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, Director of Sales and Marketing at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, July 13, 2009
Thank you so much - we love to hear that you enjoyed your time with us over the past four years!

We hope just because you no longer have a Midshipman in Annapolis you won't become a stranger - come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    271
    144
    79
    31
See reviews for
187
347
36
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

I chose this hotel based on the previous reviews. My husband and I had traveled to Annapolis before and loved the area and decided to come for a return visit. I have to say, that I never witnessed the "Irish charm" that everyone speaks so highly. I am Irish and remember times with my extended Irish relatives, and this hotel didn't lend that feeling. It just seemed like an average hotel. Perhaps it is because i had just come in from Alexandria where I stayed at a marvelous hotel with very attentive, friendly staff. The rooms here appeared old, and needed some updating. The doors creaked terribly loud (perhaps needing a little oil?). I was also dismayed that we were charged $8 for the very limited, sparse "continental breakfast". Most hotels that we have stayed at recently, provide that free of charge. O'Callaghans is not a bad hotel, just lacking the warmth and cozy feel that others have said that it has.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Midwesternmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, Director of Sales and Marketing at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, July 13, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are disappointed that your stay was not what you expected. We will certainly take your comments on board about the guest room door making noises and have them checked. We are also in the process of refinishing the guest room furniture.

It is only with your feedback that we can addresss these issues and we appreciate hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

I stayed at the ocallaghan hotel last week on business with three other colleagues, we all loved the hotel. Staff were really friendly and helpful, from recomending restaurants, getting us directions, sorting out hire car and then bringing us everywhere in their van. The rooms are pretty big, very warmly decorated and there is free internet and even a cable in each room. Stayed 3 nights and we had no housekeeping issues at all.

I have to confess that we did happy hour a couple of evenings! Half price food that was really good and the bar is very relaxing. Dinner in Carpaccio's Italian was excellent and very reasonable. We also went to India's, little pricier but worth it if you like Indian food.

We travel to Annapolis often and this was the first time to try the ocallaghan as our usual hotel was full, we will definately be going back, great value and service and we loved being down town.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tenngirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, Director of Sales and Marketing at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, June 10, 2009
Go Raibh Maith Agut - thank you in Irish!

We appreciate your positive feedback and are always sure to share this with our team.

We do have special rates for regular business travellers, please contact us if you would like to set that up.

We look forward to seeing you back in Annapolis soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoemakersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

First, the good. The hotel is within walking distance (several blocks) blocks away from all there is to in Annapolis. It's clean and not unlike most other hotels. The lobby is small but charming.

But it's really overpriced and pretentious. You can actually be charged up to $300 a night, parking not included (You have to valet your car). We got our room on Expedia for about $139. We were very happy with this price, considering their website's promises:

It calls itself a luxury boutique hotel full of Irish family warmth and charm, as well as Irish furniture throughout the hotel. That sounds nice, but once you're past the lobby, there's little to distinguish it from a basic hotel chain. There was no Irish furniture in our room, and what was there was well worn. There's also no refrigerator and no pool. The only thing that stood out in our room was the victorian curtains. Aside from this and lobby's mahogony trim, I don't see the luxury boutiqueness they want to charge for.

Of the pictures of the hotel on the website, the first one you see strongly suggests that you're right by the water. You're nowhere near the water. There's no outside picture of the "actual" hotel to correct this assumption. See pics for the real view we had.

The hotel prides itself on the friendliness of the staff. When we checked in Friday, we were greeted in kind by the valet guys. But we got probably the worst service ever by the check in women. Everyone has a bad day now and then, but they were as blatantly cold and inconsiderate as could be. Hours later, when all was quiet, we attempted communication again, and they did it to us again. I was seething inside.

However! Sunday morning upon check-out, there was a different woman working. She was Irish, smiling, friendly, and wonderful. She and the valet guys must be the staff the brochure is talking about.

But we still left feeling blatantly decieved as well as insulted, vowing never to stay here again at any price. Reading others' reviews supports that decision, as well as management's unconcerned responses.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sterling123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, Director of Sales and Marketing at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, June 10, 2009
We are very disappointed that your stay with us did not meet all of your expectations.

Firstly, thank you for bringing to my attention your misconception of our location, the image is not meant to imply the hotel is on the water and I will ensure that is changed and our exterior image is on our website also.

We dont want to mislead anyone, although it may not appear so, we imported virtually everthing in the rooms and public areas from Europe. In addition our toiletries are Ishipped directly from Ireland and braded for us.

We strive to give everyone the feeling of a "warm Irish welcome", we are gratefult to you for letting us know that this is not always happening.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I can assure you that we do take note of your and other guests comments to improve our service standards.

We always appreciate a second chance, please contact me directly if you will consider returning to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for Inauguration this week - it was amazing! The staff are fantastic and really went out of their way for us. Rooms are very nicely decorated, clean and much bigger than the pictures on the website!
They offer a free shuttle which was great to get downtown in the cold weather and had some great restaurant recomendations.
We went to Lemon Grass a Thai accross the street, very reasonable and great food.
We love annapolis and have stayed many times but this was definately the best and we will go back to ocallaghans again.

  • Liked — Great staff, lovely rooms and excellent happy hour in the bar!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank katiebjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, Director of Sales and Marekeitng at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, June 10, 2009
Thank you! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, the staff love to hear that they did a good job.

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2008

December 5,2008
We just wanted to let everyone know what a wonderful place this is!! Our son is in the Naval Acadamy and we visit with him as often as possible. They are always very accomodating. They really go out of the way to meet all of our needs.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ladybugneedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, Director of Sales and Marketing at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, January 14, 2009
Thank you so much for your response! We are delighted you had a good stay with us, we always love to welcome Navy Parents and hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2008

The rooms at this hotel are not very well sound-proofed. You can hear everything on both sides of you as well as very loud slamming doors down the hall.

I would not suggest this for people looking for a quiet stay in Annapolis.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank w1uaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, Director of Sales and Marketing at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, January 14, 2009
We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory and you were disturbed. We do our very best to ensure the hotel is as quiet as possible and have not had complaints of this in the past. We will certainly look into this.

Thank you for taking the time to give this feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.6 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.1 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Annapolis
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Property: O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
Address: 174 West St, Annapolis, MD 21401-2824
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Irish Welcome awaits you in Historic Annapolis! Make us your home while you explore all the great attractions of this great city. Walk to everything or use city transportation around the downtown area. All rooms offer free high speed internet. Enjoy a great happy hour in the John Barry Bar! Meetings, weddings and private events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
o Callaghan Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing