We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Need for a Car!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No Need for a Car!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel is upscale and centrally located on a eclectic exciting street in Annapolis Everyone from the front desk staff to the concierge was helpful and friendly during my stay. While hubby was in biz meetings during the day, I was able to explore Annapolis by foot.. It is a VERY foot traffic friendly city. With the excellent location of the hotel, you can literally just walk out the front door and explore the beautiful city

Annapolis also utilizes golf cart type vehicles for taxis which help expedite travel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryBeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear MarybethR,

I appreciate the five star review on our hotel and location. Annapolis is a great city and the downtown trolley makes it easy to get around. We are very fortunate to be a walkable city to enjoy. Please come back,
Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
albert.montone@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    275
    145
    82
    31
See reviews for
189
349
36
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Everything was wonderful. The hotel was beautiful as was the restaurant and the breakfast was delicious. The rooms were comfy and once we got to our room with my sister who is a plebe this year, she slept for a few hours and said the bed was very comfortable. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and its location is very close to the US Naval Academy. The only thing that I had a problem with is that it is a bit expensive and then adding valet parking well even more money... other than that... I can only say I really enjoyed my stay with my family to go visit my sister at the US Naval Academy. :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojocandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear jojocandy,

Thank you for the five star review. It was a pleasure to serve you over the plebe parent weekend. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
albert.montone@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent my birthday weekend at O'Callaghan Hotel the weekend of August 23-25, and we had a wonderful stay. In a world where customer service and interaction can be lacking, the folks at this hotel were just the opposite, and made us feel very welcome everytime we saw them. I even had "Happy Birthday" sung to me when I was walking through the lobby on my birthday by Jacque & Marshall, and Matt sent birthday cake to our room. We'd never stayed at O'Callaghan Hotel before, but are glad we did. Beautiful hotel, clean & comfortable rooms, nice restaurant, bar area. And close enough to the downtown area to walk and burn off a few calories on the way if we didn't want to ride the free bus.Next time we're in Annapolis we will saty there again - we'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJL31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear GJL31,
I am glad our staff was able to celebrate your birthday with you. It is a pleasure to receive such high marks for your stay. I am very pleased that you will be back and recommend us.
Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
albert.montone@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

It is an older property with small rooms, but the location, parking and a cute bar and decent breakfast menu make up for that. Walking to the Naval Academy and the waterfront was easy. The Maryland Statehouse is right nearby. Good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear GayleT,
I am pleased that you found our hotel a good value. Our breakfast menu is new and we are getting a lot of great feedback on it. Our rooms are scheduled to be upgraded soon. Please come back,
Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
albert.montone@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at O'Callaghan's in August 2013 while attending a wedding in Annapolis.

Pluses: The front desk staff were very pleasant and easy to deal with while checking in. There is no direct parking on site, but there is a self-park garage across the street which charges $10 per day (24 hours). There is a valet as well. It is about a third of a mile (maybe half a mile) walk to the waterfront and downhill all the way. Our standard room was large, great beds, nice tv.

Minuses: This is a smaller hotel, so it is not likely in prime season you'll be able to check in early, since they don't have a lot of extra rooms. The bar downstairs was very nice but pretty empty (on a Sunday) so if you're looking for a crowd you'll probably head downtown. And it's a third of a mile (solid 10-15 minute walk) from the waterfront to the hotel, uphill all the way.

We would stay here again for the reasonable price, comfort of the rooms, and super check-in staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hutch08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Hutch08,

Thank you for your kind words on our fantastic staff. We are changing our food and beverage offerings to have a more active Bar and Restaurant in our John Barry Restaurant. Chef Raymond is new and promises to keep delivering a great experience to our guests.Please come back.
Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
albert.montone@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

My parents, boyfriend, brother and I decided to stay here for one night on our way to Ocean City. After going into town to do some shopping, we decided to head back and eat in the restaurant- and we all agreed it was the best meal we have ever had in this town. The special was prime rib topped with shrimp scampi, vegetable bisque and bread pudding, and each one was a delight. My boyfriend (who is from Dublin) and I had the Cottage Pie and were surprised to find that it was just as good as any shepherd's pie we have ever had in Ireland. The chef even came out to talk to the customers! Between the wonderful service, great food and Smithwicks on tap- you would be crazy to be in Annapolis and not eat here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear KatieW
Thank you for your stellar review on our new Restaurant specials.Chef Raymond is new and changing our menus to provide an excellent experience in our John Barry restaurant. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
albert.montone@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We decided to stay here since it was near the naval academy and we were in Annapolis for a USNA wedding. The ice machine was out the first night of our stay the staff was quick to repair the machine. My kids still talk about how nice the hotel staff treated them; which never happens anywhere else!

Room Tip: This was one of the quietest hotels we have stayed in! You only noticed other guests in the lobby, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear BSBW,
It was a pleasure to serve you. Thank you for the kind words about our staff service and our facility. Please come back. Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
albert.montone@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.6 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.1 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#1 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.8 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Property: O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
Address: 174 West St, Annapolis, MD 21401-2824
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Irish Welcome awaits you in Historic Annapolis! Make us your home while you explore all the great attractions of this great city. Walk to everything or use city transportation around the downtown area. All rooms offer free high speed internet. Enjoy a great happy hour in the John Barry Bar! Meetings, weddings and private events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
o Callaghan Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing