We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
St. Petersburg, Florida, USA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Staff was great, the feel as you walk in is awesome and inviting. Once you get to the room this changes. Adequate but not inspirational. Beds were hard, Place looked older, TV wasn't HD. Seems like everything remained unchanged since 1980 except the price. Would expect a much nicer place for the cost. Convenient to Downtown so I'm sure that's what they lean on to get guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbriza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCHAnnapGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear BigBriza,

Thank you for your tripadivsor reveiew, we appreicate your sharing your comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed our Irish hospitality!

We are currently working on new TV's for all rooms and hope to have those installed in January next year, so please do come back and let us know what you think.

Many thanks again.

Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    281
    150
    88
    33
See reviews for
196
362
36
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Spur of the moment stay. Had a king bed which was important. AC unit was so loud as was the fan in the bathroom. Also room needs an updated look. Carpet with stains, coffee table with marks all over it.
Ice machine not located on each floor. Had to go to another floor to get ice.
Check in was easy, let us in early...probably because it was a Wed and not a weekend. Friendly staff.
Nothing special but would stay again in a pinch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWS34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCHAnnapGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear TWS34,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us and thank you for choosing us for your spur of the moment overnight. I am glad we managed to get you in early!

I sincerely apologize if your AC unit and fan were loud; we are currently addressing this with our maintenance program to ensure they are all working efficiently.

Thank you for your kind words about the staff and I very much hope that you will consider staying with us again for your next visit to Annapolis, please contact me personally so I can assist with your booking.

Many thank again.

Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
634 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Comfortable bed, clean rooms. Cramped. Musty stinky smell, cramped hot and humid "workout" room. Not a good value. Pay more and go elsewhere. We are not coming back here. Nice staff, but the hotel is expensive and nothing for the price other than a place to sleep. Would've been better at a courtyard or even quality inn... :(

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCHAnnapGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Rita V,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. I am glad that you liked our rooms and apologize that you did not have a great experience with our fitness room.

I will certainly address any odors and be sure that the air conditioner in there is working properly. It is a small workout room and because of that we also offer discounted rates at a local full service facility, as well as walking and running routes around the area.

If you are coming back to Annapolis and would consider coming back to stay with us, please contact me and I will help with arranging for you to go there.

Thank you again.

Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Nice hotel, friendly staff. Good location but free trolley at the door really helps to get anywhere in the Historic Annapolis. Service could be better. Valet parking only, but there is a parking garage across the street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCHAnnapGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Lilia L,

Thank you so much for your review and for taking the time to share your comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to use the trolley. It is provided by the City of Annapolis and we love it!

We are only able to offer valet parking at the hotel for $18 per night, but there is a city garage right across the street with public parking for up to $10 per night. We do our best to make all guests aware of this option, however there are no in and out privileges.

Thank you again and we very much hope to see you back soon.

Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Good location, easy walk to harbor. Good restaurants nearby (try Levels--we loved it). Hotel is nothing special, but the staff were friendly and it's clean. We didn't have breakfast there but the coffee in the morning was appreciated. Valet parking is not mandatory; there is a city garage about a block away that's $10 a day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Scubalo,

Thank you for taking the time to share you comments, we appreciate you mentioning our staff and the tips on parking and restaurants are great - we love Level too! Parking at the hotel is $18 for valet only and Knighton's garage accross the street is $10 per night (no in and out priviliges). The great thing is that there is a free city circulator that takes you to City Dock (1 mile) and it runs every 10 mins. So our guests can park when they arrive and forget about their cars for the rest of their stay!

We hope to see you back to check out more of Annapolis' great restaurants (our key card packet gets you a free drink in a few of them!).

Thanks again

Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our family stayed at the hotel over Labor Day. We had a pleasant experience except for some loud, rude guests our first night. Other than that, it was a very convenient place to stay. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. We had reserved four rooms and all of us had a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear M M,

Thank you so much for your review and we are pleased you had a good holiday weekend with us. I apologize for other guests keeping you awake, we do our very best to avoid that, we have a quiet time sign in the lobby and also our quiet time policy is on our key holders so guests know that we take a good night's sleep seriously.

Since you stayed with us we have also installed cameras on the elevator lobby of each floor so if groups hang around making noise, we can address it faster.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back in Annapolis very soon.

Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Nice place for a reasonable price. The trolley shuttle into the center of town was perfect - saved on having to deal with the crowds and parking issues. Great staff and manditory valet parking. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Geoffrey D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words, we greatly appreciate it. We also love the city circulator - no more downtown parking hassles! It also runs until 2.30am for the late night weekend crowd!

We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks

Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.6 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.1 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#3 of 21 in Annapolis
1,209 reviews
0.8 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
843 reviews
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Property: O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
Address: 174 West St, Annapolis, MD 21401-2824
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Irish Welcome awaits you in Historic Annapolis! Make us your home while you explore all the great attractions of this great city. Walk to everything or use city transportation around the downtown area. All rooms offer free high speed internet. Enjoy a great happy hour in the John Barry Bar! Meetings, weddings and private events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
o Callaghan Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing