We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious but pricey”
Review of Miss Shirley's

Miss Shirley's
Ranked #9 of 354 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious but pricey”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Enjoyed a delicious breakfast at Miss Shirley's. Read a few reviews before making our choice and was intrigued. The menu was filled with mouth watering, original delights - it was hard to make a choice. Settled on the Coconut Creme Stuffed French Toast - sinfully sweet, delicious and filling. My sister enjoyed the B'More Breakfast Trio Of Sliders. The decor was very nice and quite welcoming. Good service and friendly staff. Only drawback are the prices - nearly $50 for two for breakfast (no adult beverages). However, the meal was so filling, no lunch was needed - so maybe that averages things out! Despite the prices, the place was packed on an April Monday morning at 9:30 - with travelers, business people and locals - so obviously not a deterrent. Would recommend if you want a treat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine_3073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    133
    50
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful day-- great breakfast!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were 4 adults and 2 toddlers. We arrived around 9:30 and were seated within 15 minutes. I had never tasted grits so I ordered the "Get Your Grits On!" which consisted of jumbo blackened shrimp on fried green tomatoes and stone ground grits with diced bacon and roasted corn emulsion. Deeelicious! The others in my party ordered Coconut Cream Stuffed French Toast, a bagel loaded with smoked salmon and other goodies, a cone of sweet potato fries with mango ketchup and citrus aioli, Southern Slammer Sandwich (a towering sandwich of avocado, fried eggs, bacon, with grits), something with chicken and grits, very delicious; and the kids had pancakes and bacon. We all had a round of orange juice (and 2 mimosas). I thought the servings were generous--two people took half of their food home in a doggy bag. The grits were really tasty. The server was very attentive and pleasant. The bill was $139 plus 20% tip for a total of $166. I would go back there again to try their Breakfast Banana Split of Greek yogurt with a whole banana, raspberries, blueberries and pineapple topped with homemade granola with nuts! That was $9.99 on the menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancineMiddlecozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaltimoreJen, Public Relations Manager at Miss Shirley's, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so pleased you and your family had a beautiful day and brunch with us in Annapolis! We hope to see you again soon to try our Breakfast Banana Split!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Holy cinnamon roll waffle!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

My daughter and I tried Miss Shirley's for breakfast this past week. Oh. My. Word. We shared cinnamon roll waffles. Warm, fluffy, and surprisingly not overly sweet deliciousness in each bite! Followed by a vegetable omelet with everything but the kitchen sink in it.....zucchini, green beans, corn. A side of perfect hash browns and crispy bacon. A savory biscuit ended our extravaganza. We are both good cooks but Miss Shirley gave us higher standards. You must go! And definitely get the cinnamon roll waffles. You will be glad you did!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, maryland, USA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and lots of it”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Good food and adult beverages, but be prepared for a very high bill. $80 (including an average tip) for breakfast was a little much. Not quite worth the price. But a good experience overall. Great wait staff and the outdoor seating is excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SoCalTraci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We went there after a waiter at Ramshead recommended it
About .4 from Loews
Coffee was great. Seated immediately in quiet booth.
Had great omelet with nice hash browns
Nice orange juice too
Mrs J had "the best waffles I've ever had"
That's what will bring us back

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaxon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Shirley's also viewed

 

Been to Miss Shirley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing