We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, but yes it's pricey!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miss Shirley's

Miss Shirley's
Ranked #8 of 347 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great, but yes it's pricey!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Breakfast is by far my favorite meal so I had been really anxious to give Miss Shirley's a try. I can tell you, I was NOT disappointed! I had the Crab Cake and Fried Green Tomato Benedict with a side of scrapple that I shared with my Dad. (I didn't want to share it, but he was paying! :) ) The food was so incredibly delicous that regardless of the price, I will definitely be back! We had breakast for lunch so all things considered it wasn't too terrible. But again...I cannot stress enough how fantastic the food was...I mean really delicious! AND, there are not tons of places in Annapolis that serve scrapple...for whatever reason! It is a breakfast staple after all! So, get over to Miss Shirley's as soon as you can!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GoGoGidgetinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    128
    41
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pitman, NJ
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Expensive, but Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stopped in for Easter Sunday breakfast (looking for an alternative to our usual stop at Fado, next door), expecting a diner-like experience, and were taken by the excellent, but pricey fare. I had a $17 Bayou Omelet (andouille sausage, blackened shrimp, tomato, cheddar) that was delicious and the most expensive omelet that I can ever recall having. Miss Shirley's is most certainly NOT a rip-off -- the food is adventurous, creative, and very well prepared. As you should be when you sit down.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank gjmalcyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Slow service, Very over priced for breakfast.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Yes the scrapple is very good. The eggs were ok. Very over priced een for Annapolis.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brianscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, PA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Breakfast for two...$50...seriously?....its breakfast!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

The concierge at our hotel recommended Miss Shirley's. While my wife's omelet was phenomenal, I think it was $14. My pancakes were upwards of $10 and dry. Apparently the syrup (which I believe it to be actual maple syrup) must be kept under lock and key guarded by some bean-counting manager who I assume reports directly to the owner regarding the daily syrup consumption at the establishment. After requesting two additional servings of syrup (which come in tiny little syrup tins) I was finally able to make the pancakes palatable. The bright spot of my experience was the scrapple. If I go back, I am ordering two orders of scrapple and nothing else.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lloyrdestroyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A Breakfast You Will NEVER Forget!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Miss Shirley's in Annapolis, MD is a MUST DO. Never thought I would be eating chicken and waffles for breakfast but I can't wait to do it again!! The peppadew-jalapeno butter melted into the nooks and crannies of the white cheddar-green onion waffles while the honey mustard aioli drizzle complimented the boneless breast of chicken pieces. Combine all on a fork, take a bite, close your eyes and enjoy. WOW!! Can't wait to do it again! Also, if you're a Bloody Mary fan, you will LOVE, LOVE, LOVE their bloodies. Shirley's version of a Bloody Mary consists of Stoli Citrus, Green Tomato Slice, Pickled Okra, Peppers, Jalapenos, Celery, Peppadew, Lemon, Lime, with an Old Bay Rim With 2-oz. of MD Lump Crab. YUMMO!! A meal in itself. Also recommend the Big Easy Benedict which is Poached Eggs & Cornmeal-Encrusted Jumbo Shrimp, Sliced Tasso Ham on Grit Cakes & Cajun Hollandaise Sauce. Served with Collard Greens made with Tasso Ham & a drizzle of Old Bay Remoulade. We went on a Sunday morning (11ish) and it was very crowded but service was fantastic. Restaurant was very clean and inviting. Open 7:30 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Shirley's also viewed

 

Been to Miss Shirley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing