We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Academy Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Academy Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Augustine, Florida
1 review
“A charming visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at Academy Bed and Breakfast this past weekend on my first visit to Annapolis. I was in town for the opening reception of my recent paintings at Wynn Bone Gallery, located on Main Street. Academy B&B is located in the heart of downtown Annapolis, perfect for walking access to local shops and restaurants. No detail was overlooked in the recent renovation of this house, creating an atmosphere of luxury within a warm and inviting setting. The breakfast each morning was delicious and the chef easily accommodated the meals to fit my vegetarian diet. I would highly recommend staying here, as it was a true pleasure. More information Academy B&B can be found at: innannapolis.com.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    16
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
89
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beltsville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

This was my 1st bed and breakfast experience and by far one that I will never forget. From the moment we checked in, we were treated like royalty. The venue was immaculate, the hospitality was over the top and the accomodations were just what we were looking for...free parking and easy access to all the activities we were participating in during our stay.

We had a magnificent time, thanks to the attentiveness of the owners and staff. We do plan to return as often as our schedules will permit.

Looking for the #1 bed and breakfast in Annapolis, MD.? Academy Bed and Breakfast is the place to book....hands down!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TuneN2Tonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairplay, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

I visited Annapolis recently to see my grandson and daughter. We had a lovely stay at John's B and B and will come back again and again. The location was perfect and we were treated very well by the owner and the staff.

As an inn owner myself, I can appreciate the hard work that went into the Academy B and B.

Constance
Colorado

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cking54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesconset, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Having stayed at four different B&B's in Annapolis over the past three summers, I can undoubtedly say our stay this past week at the Academy was by far the best experience we have had. We had originally booked another B&B, but immediately upon checking in we knew we would have to look for another place to stay, as the room was uninhabitable.

We showed up unannounced at the Annapolitan the following morning, hoping to find a room available, and met John, the Innkeeper. After hearing about our situation and what we were looking for, he drove us to the Academy, and we knew we had found our new B&B! The location was perfect, and he provided us with parking. Once we parked our car, we never had to move it again, which was a pleasure. All of the rooms at the Academy are beautiful, as are the bathrooms. We loved our room - the bed was very comfortable, the decor was lovely, and the bathroom was exceptional. The entire Bed and Breakfast is beautifully decorated and immaculate, and we truly felt like we had our own home in Annapolis, only better!

Perhaps the best thing about the Academy was John himself. He was very warm and welcoming, and made us feel immediately at home. Instead of taking advantage of our situation, he saved our trip and gave us a great rate on the room. He cooked a delicious breakfast for us every morning (he is a wonderful cook!), and it was such a pleasure to talk to him each morning as we ate. He was easily accessible if we had any questions - we were able to reach him immediately each time we called him for a local suggestion.

We were very sad to leave the Academy and are looking forward to staying here again. Having stayed here, I cannot imagine staying anywhere else!

D.D. - Nesconset, New York

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

This is a stunning home, made into a perfect B&B. The rooms are spacious and elegant, as are the common use areas (kitchen, living room, dining room). John, the host, made us an incredible breakfast and was a relaxing and easy person to be around. The bathroom in our room was fantastic! large jacuzzi and enclosed separate shower/spa, plenty of towels & plush bathrobes provided.
The central downtown location made using your car unnecessary, which is a plus, as the narrow streets of Annapolis can be easily clogged with traffic.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starkart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

My family recently visited Annapolis for the opening of my wife's exhibition at Casa Nova in downtown. We had no idea about the accomodations at Academy Bed and Breakfast, since the reservations were made by the gallery owners. It turned out to be a great and welcome surprise. It is a sensational spot, and I can't recommend it too highly to anyone who is visiting Annapolis for business or pleasure. It's an immaculate, beautifully restored house that feels like home, if home were a sensational early late nineteenth century historic structure.

Everything was perfect, from the estimable downstairs, to the ample bedroom accomodations, vaulted ceilings. The bathroom was to die for, with a glass enclosed spa with chromo-therapy lights and steam. A pure delight. I highly recommend the harbor view room, and we also had the cathedral view room for our daughter: the entire third floor. Well worth it. Breakfast was also first class and our host, John, could not have been more accomodating. Certainly the best bed and breakfast we've ever stayed in and frankly, we don't even like B+Bs! Seriously, there is no way you would be disappointed in these accomodations.

Bob

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We live in Arlington but we wanted a nice getaway not too close, but not too far. The house has the perfect blend of old and new. Perfectly restored with modern amenities. Jacuzzi/Hot Tubs, Satellite TV, Steam showers, and my favorite... Reverse Osmosis filtered water HOUSE-WIDE.

The location was CENTRAL. A block from the Naval Academy and a block from downtown Annapolis. Once we parked, we never needed the car. We were able to walk to all restaurants and shops (Rockfish, highly recommended).

The owner, John.... Extremely nice and accommodating. We called him THAT MORNING and he was able to give us a great deal on a premier room. His hospitality is what all B&B should represent. Reachable for anything with a simply call and an awesome cook. He KNOWS how to run it! Customer service and hospitality was PERFECT!

Room Tip: We got this room very spur of the moment. Try the website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annapolis
0.2 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.2 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
22.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown Inner Harbor
1.0 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Bed and Breakfast

Property: Academy Bed and Breakfast
Address: 134 Prince George St, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Academy Bed and Breakfast is located In the heart of historic downtown Annapolis, steps from city dock, the Naval Academy and renowned shopping, dining and entertainment. The bed and breakfast underwent a multimillion dollar renovation in recent years, in order to bring modern, luxurious amenities to guests. While the property features gorgeous, modern bathroom suites and expansive rooms/suites, great care was taken to preserve the historic charm and elements that make the Academy Bed and Breakfast so special. A variety of packages are available to accommodate romantic getaways, local Annapolis events, wedding parties, sailing and more. The Academy Bed and Breakfast is also proud to offer private sailing charters aboard the Granmar Sailboat. The sailboat accommodates up to 8 guests, and offers a variety of customized itineraries. Be sure to inquire about vow renewals and anniversary specials, in addition to full house B&B rentals available for special events, weddings, reunions, Navy graduation and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Academy Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing