We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our new home away from home in Annapolis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Academy Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Academy Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nesconset, New York
2 reviews
“Our new home away from home in Annapolis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Having stayed at four different B&B's in Annapolis over the past three summers, I can undoubtedly say our stay this past week at the Academy was by far the best experience we have had. We had originally booked another B&B, but immediately upon checking in we knew we would have to look for another place to stay, as the room was uninhabitable.

We showed up unannounced at the Annapolitan the following morning, hoping to find a room available, and met John, the Innkeeper. After hearing about our situation and what we were looking for, he drove us to the Academy, and we knew we had found our new B&B! The location was perfect, and he provided us with parking. Once we parked our car, we never had to move it again, which was a pleasure. All of the rooms at the Academy are beautiful, as are the bathrooms. We loved our room - the bed was very comfortable, the decor was lovely, and the bathroom was exceptional. The entire Bed and Breakfast is beautifully decorated and immaculate, and we truly felt like we had our own home in Annapolis, only better!

Perhaps the best thing about the Academy was John himself. He was very warm and welcoming, and made us feel immediately at home. Instead of taking advantage of our situation, he saved our trip and gave us a great rate on the room. He cooked a delicious breakfast for us every morning (he is a wonderful cook!), and it was such a pleasure to talk to him each morning as we ate. He was easily accessible if we had any questions - we were able to reach him immediately each time we called him for a local suggestion.

We were very sad to leave the Academy and are looking forward to staying here again. Having stayed here, I cannot imagine staying anywhere else!

D.D. - Nesconset, New York

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    16
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
89
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

This is a stunning home, made into a perfect B&B. The rooms are spacious and elegant, as are the common use areas (kitchen, living room, dining room). John, the host, made us an incredible breakfast and was a relaxing and easy person to be around. The bathroom in our room was fantastic! large jacuzzi and enclosed separate shower/spa, plenty of towels & plush bathrobes provided.
The central downtown location made using your car unnecessary, which is a plus, as the narrow streets of Annapolis can be easily clogged with traffic.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starkart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

My family recently visited Annapolis for the opening of my wife's exhibition at Casa Nova in downtown. We had no idea about the accomodations at Academy Bed and Breakfast, since the reservations were made by the gallery owners. It turned out to be a great and welcome surprise. It is a sensational spot, and I can't recommend it too highly to anyone who is visiting Annapolis for business or pleasure. It's an immaculate, beautifully restored house that feels like home, if home were a sensational early late nineteenth century historic structure.

Everything was perfect, from the estimable downstairs, to the ample bedroom accomodations, vaulted ceilings. The bathroom was to die for, with a glass enclosed spa with chromo-therapy lights and steam. A pure delight. I highly recommend the harbor view room, and we also had the cathedral view room for our daughter: the entire third floor. Well worth it. Breakfast was also first class and our host, John, could not have been more accomodating. Certainly the best bed and breakfast we've ever stayed in and frankly, we don't even like B+Bs! Seriously, there is no way you would be disappointed in these accomodations.

Bob

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We live in Arlington but we wanted a nice getaway not too close, but not too far. The house has the perfect blend of old and new. Perfectly restored with modern amenities. Jacuzzi/Hot Tubs, Satellite TV, Steam showers, and my favorite... Reverse Osmosis filtered water HOUSE-WIDE.

The location was CENTRAL. A block from the Naval Academy and a block from downtown Annapolis. Once we parked, we never needed the car. We were able to walk to all restaurants and shops (Rockfish, highly recommended).

The owner, John.... Extremely nice and accommodating. We called him THAT MORNING and he was able to give us a great deal on a premier room. His hospitality is what all B&B should represent. Reachable for anything with a simply call and an awesome cook. He KNOWS how to run it! Customer service and hospitality was PERFECT!

Room Tip: We got this room very spur of the moment. Try the website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We couldn't have asked for better hospitality, accomodations, or location to downtown Annapolis and the Naval Academy. Our room was very comfortable and the luxurious bathroom facilities were quite unexpected... -T.D.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

The services were wonderful. It felt as if you were home away from home. The room was very well kept and the house was extremely clean. The workers were warm and welcoming. It is right outside of the center of the city, wo when you park, you do not have to drive again until you leave. The house was quiet and calm, and you felt as if you were the only people there. It was absultely beautiful and we will definately be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnc_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

The house is exceptional with original woodwork and not an over abundence of flowers and pastels--more classic lines and colors. I love old homes and this was has been well preserved. The location for downtown Annapolis can't be beat, particularly given the heat index this weekend. Can be a bit noisy, but that's to be expected with the downtown location. Jacuzzi tub and showers were terrific as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notjadedyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annapolis
0.2 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.2 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
22.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown Inner Harbor
1.0 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Bed and Breakfast

Property: Academy Bed and Breakfast
Address: 134 Prince George St, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Academy Bed and Breakfast is located In the heart of historic downtown Annapolis, steps from city dock, the Naval Academy and renowned shopping, dining and entertainment. The bed and breakfast underwent a multimillion dollar renovation in recent years, in order to bring modern, luxurious amenities to guests. While the property features gorgeous, modern bathroom suites and expansive rooms/suites, great care was taken to preserve the historic charm and elements that make the Academy Bed and Breakfast so special. A variety of packages are available to accommodate romantic getaways, local Annapolis events, wedding parties, sailing and more. The Academy Bed and Breakfast is also proud to offer private sailing charters aboard the Granmar Sailboat. The sailboat accommodates up to 8 guests, and offers a variety of customized itineraries. Be sure to inquire about vow renewals and anniversary specials, in addition to full house B&B rentals available for special events, weddings, reunions, Navy graduation and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Academy Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing