We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly Good!”

Banneker-Douglass Museum
Ranked #22 of 90 things to do in Annapolis
Attraction details
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Good!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This African American history museum is definitely worth a visit. We thought 30 minutes would be enough to get through this museum since it was small and free, but we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the exhibits. We had to hurry our visit because our parking meter was up, but we will definitely stop by again during our next visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank greatone3800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
351 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“a must see”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

this site presents the difficulty faced by our society in melding together diverse populations into Americans and the ongoing struggle for equality in a very interesting and fair manner, I advise every person visit

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank uckbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband and I literally just walked by this museum and decided to stop in. It is rich in African American history and definitely worth a stop. Very well done.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ozziep9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“History of the African American contributions”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

A unique experience. Exhibit well designed, special exhibits even more special. Maryland and Annapolis a split city and this tells the background, about its citizens

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanna29494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Information and Free”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We are so happy that we visited!! The museum was very welcoming and is very historic. We really enjoyed the photography and scenery. The museum was a great addition to our trip.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MoneyPennyGarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banneker-Douglass Museum also viewed

 

Been to Banneker-Douglass Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing