We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“interesting home”

Hammond-Harwood House
Ranked #11 of 90 things to do in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hammond Harwood House is the Jewel of Annapolis, preserved intact since 1774. In addition to its magnificent, perfectly preserved architecture inside and out, this National Historic Landmark contains an outstanding collection of John Shaw furniture and Charles Willson Peale paintings.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“interesting home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We took an interesting tour of home and grounds. The docent did an excellent job, including commentary on architecture, art work, furniture of the period. The home is in amazing shape. That alone is impressive. There are a few others I would like to visit as well, but will have to save that for another time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    27
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,273 reviews
637 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
“Lovely house with lots of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I managed to get a personal tour as I was the last of the day.

It's a nice historic home and when coupled with William Paca House gives you a good overview of early Annapolis life.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
373 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Very interesting house; Excellent Docent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I toured the Hammond-Harwood House during a brief visit to Annapolis. My wife picked it out based upon a recommendation in Fodor's travel book. Our docent tour guide was Carol Kelley. She was EXCELLENT! The house was interesting. Carol gave us lots of interesting tidbits about the architecture, the furnishings and the history of the house. It was an excellent example of pre-revolutionary architecture and construction for the well-to-do Maryland folks. It does involve a lot of standing and climbing stairs but it is very worth it. I would hardily recommend it to anyone visiting Annapolis and interested in pre-revolutionary life and housing. Don't forget to ask form the senior rate should you qualify.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MaroonDawg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting House”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The house itself is ok. It will not blow you out of the water. The kitchen is the most interesting room in the house. It is best visited when it is decorated for Christmas.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An interesting story”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our guide kept reminding us of the importance of the architect of this building, as well as the stature of the man who hired him to design it. An introductory video repeats much of the same. This is not what you expect from a colonial home: the rooms are big, ceilings high, proportions very different from anything of this period in New England (where I come from) and therefore very informative. The many moldings in every room and furnishings are elegant, florid and beautifully combined. Furnishings are from same early period, but mostly donated. Nonetheless, our tour and the information about its decor create a real impression of the times and values of its occupants.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammond-Harwood House also viewed

 

Been to Hammond-Harwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing