We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Candidate visit to Naval Academy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Overall this hotel was a nice place to stay-very convenient and the staff was very helpful and accomodating which is high on my priority of a good experience. The hotel is in a great location for visiting the Naval Academy-easy to find and get in and out of and the shops and restaurants nearby in the Townscenter are great

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisDoubletree, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the DoubleTree Hotel Annapolis. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay while visiting the Naval Academy and hope that we see you on a return visit.

Your comments will be shared with the team members of the property. Again, thank you for providing us with feedback.

Warm regards,
Tracy Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked a quick overnight this past weekend, off season. We were warmly greeted and quickly processed ahead of check in time but it went down hill after that. First, we had to have to our room changed because the dead bolt just would not work no matter how we jiggled or tugged the door. Our room rate included 2 tour tickets for either a walking tour or a water tour of Annapolis but as it is off season, I guess very few walking tours were even available and the boats were not running on any schedule. When I remarked at check out that we could not use the tour passes, the gentlemen checking us out was barely apologetic and made no offer to lower the rate to the regular rate. Breakfast in the morning was an ordeal. We were seated but no offer of coffee and explanation of our breakfast passes was attempted (like, "You get the buffet."). Another couple came in several minutes after us, was seated and got menus and coffee before we even saw our server. We finally flagged down the person who seated us who told us our server would be right with us!! Still no offer of coffee...she was now in dangerous territory for me. Finally, we got coffee and was told to go to the buffet. We had to ask for water. Our server was just so unfriendly despite our cheery greeting. At that point, she got what she gave us in terms of surliness. If you are going to work in the people business, you ought to like people or at least fake it if, for nothing else, the tip. I am generally a very, very generous tipper as I realize wait staff often work only for tips and it is hard work. This server got the bare minimum from us.

Room was clean, rest of property was clean and brightly lit, hotel was quiet. It's a great location with easy access to Annapolis docks and town. There are lots of places to eat from fast food to quality dining within walking distance. Just need to upgrade staff training/morale/attitude.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3d4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisDoubletree, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the DoubleTree Hotel Annapolis. We appreciate your feedback and the negative issues mentioned in your review will be addressed with the supervisors of the departments.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be clean, located in a convenient area, and that you were comfortable in the second room.

We definitely do not feel you should pay for tickets that you were not able to use and we will make compensation to you for not being able to enjoy the total package. Please contact our Front Office Manager, Dienna Diamante at ddiamante@doubletreeannapolis.com.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.
Respectfully,
Tracy Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Fiirst of all-- I paid over $190.00 for one night and did not get any Hilton honors points because they would not transfer points to my card. I agreed to take over the room from a friend that had made other arrangements and thought they could refund her card and use mine for the transaction. Very unfriendly, cold and seemed very put out and unapologetic by my request.

Upon opening the room (in the tower--avoid this area) there was an unpleasant smell, the toilet was running constantly and the room was very stuffy. When I turned on the A/C it made a lot of noise. The room had seen better days--scuff marks on walls, marks on bathroom vanity, dirty looking carpet, scraped bathtub and toilet bowl!!?. Also the bathtub would not drain.

The room was very awkwardly laid out-even for one person. The decorating was an odd, out of date combination of colors, furniture (Green faux leather chair). My room was on the highway side--loud noise from cars and trucks all night! Walls thin and the mattress felt cheap and flimsy. (Said hotel was completely booked, so no chance to change rooms.) No full length mirror and really no place to put on make-up. Very difficult to do in the bath as the vanity was so big. The coffee pot was difficult to figure out-very different from any that I have ever seen.
Only one caffeine available--2 decaf. Again--no free brewed coffee in lobby!

On the plus side-lots of washcloths, towels and lovely bath items (Crabtree and Evelyn).. There were issues with the TV--losing signal and some channels unavailable--but the charming, professional and kind Night Manager (Alan Telsy) came to room promptly and fixed the problem with the lost signal. ( He also tried to look into getting my honor points-but I don't think anything could be resolved.) NIce, big refrigerator where I could put bottled water and a bottle of wine. And a good microwave. The clock/radio was very good.

Also, I had a room that was just about the furthest from the lobby--so I got a pretty good workout during my stay.

Just about all of the "Excellent and Very Good" reviews were connected someway to the Hilton Rewards program. Just saying??

Oh my! Won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Tower rooms hard to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtswilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisDoubletree, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the DoubleTree Hotel Annapolis. Your feedback is important and your comments are valued. I apologize for the challenges with changing the name on the reservation and obtaining Honor Points for your stay. Our Front Office Manager would like to speak with you regarding the issues you encountered. Her name is Dienna Diamante and if your will send her your contact information, she will reach out to you to discuss a resolution for your dissatisfaction. He email address is ddiamante@doubletreeannapolis.com.

Your kind words for our night auditor will be passed along and I know he will appreciate your comments.
Kind regards,
Tracy Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Pet friendly room was clean but no refrig or microwave.Basic room that is convenient to the outside but backs up to a major hwy with loud traffic noise all night. Service was excellent but offers no free breakfast or coffee in lobby. Disappointed in the basic room for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Virginia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisDoubletree, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the DoubleTree Hotel Annapolis. We are always happy to welcome our four legged guests and we are glad that they were able to travel with you.

If you return to the area and need a microwave and refrigerator, please let the reservation know and we will do our best to accommodate the request. We want you to be comfortable and enjoy your stay.

Again, thank you for your feedback.
Warm regards,
Tracy Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Amenities were weak. The only towel bar was in shower and bathroom was cramped. Only Decaf coffee was provided in room. Breakfast was really overpriced for food available. Overall, the hotel was not bad, but the service was not very friendly and everyone on the staff seemed somewhat cold to the patrons.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jary W. L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Staff was very nice and easy to get to the "Yard".They also have a free shuttle service to take you to down town or even to the Navy Marine Corps Stadium for a football game. This place is also pet friendly. Only thing with that is, if your pet is not in a cage, they will not clean your room unless you are in there.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rpzm777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisDoubletree, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the DoubleTree Hotel Annapolis. We appreciate your feedback and the information you shared. We are delighted that you were able to utilize the shuttle service and found it easy to navigate to the areas in Annapolis that you wanted to see.

For your pet's protection and our staff's safety we do require a carrier if you would like to have your room serviced while you are away. However, we will be glad to schedule a time that is convenient for you to allow us into the room to clean.

Again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to a return visit.
Kind regards,
Tracy Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Hotel staff was the definite highlight of our 3 night stay. Everyone from the front desk staff, to housekeeping, to the shuttle drivers were friendly, helpful, and caring. They also made excellent recommendations for nearby restaurants.
The room was clean, but a bit small and the airconditioner tended to be a bit on the noisy side. Although this hotel is about 4 miles from downtown Annapolis and the bay, the shuttle service is prompt and efficient and allows you to leave the car at the hotel and not worry about finding a parking space in town which can be very difficult.
We found this hotel to be very conveniently located and really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Annapolis
3.1 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 20 in Annapolis
1,291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Annapolis
Crowne Plaza Annapolis
#12 of 20 in Annapolis
594 reviews
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis

Address: 210 Holiday Ct, Annapolis, MD 21401-7001 (Formerly Radisson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range: $88 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis features premium accommodations with stylish guest rooms and convenient amenities. Guests of the hotel feel right at home with our comfy beds, complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel, an onsite restaurant with convenient room service, fitness center, pool, and much more. Book a stay at this Annapolis hotel to enjoy all of these great services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Annapolis
Annapolis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing