We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tacos should taste like tacos, not seasoning.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
California Tortilla
Ranked #183 of 354 Restaurants in Annapolis
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tacos should taste like tacos, not seasoning.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I've never had food that tastes like this in California so I don't know why they have this name. There's weird seasoning to the food and I don't understand the need for it. It's like they purposely try to hide the taste of the meat by overseasoning it. I've been here twice. The second time I had a free coupon for tacos and decided to give them another shot, but ended up throwing my food away (which I never do). At least they have a wall of hot sauce to alter the taste of the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BBQ Ranch BurritOhhh yeah!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

3 Simple Reasons why California Tortilla beats Chipotle:

1. Quirky newsletters and promotions
2. The Game Show Wheel O' Promos
3. BBQ Ranch Burrito/Quesadilla

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FenwayFrank86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“The Black Bean Caesar burrito is incredible”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I frequent this place at lunch time several times a month as I work nearby.

The Black Bean Caesar burrito is delicious. They have about 50-60 hot sauces to choose from so I always kick it up a notch wiith a few drops of "Scorned Woman" hot sauce. LOL

The chips and queso are really good and I really like the touchscreen soda fountain with so many good choices. Where else can you get Mr. Pibb Zero on tap!?

If you're in the area and in the mood for Mexican, make a pit stop here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ravenboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Convenient, Fast, Cheap”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Easy in and out. Food is good. In a shopping center.

Helpful?
Thank slaughterbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shady Side, MD
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Gyro Burrito Was Tasty”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I went to California Tortilla because they had emailed me that they had put a free burrito on my Burrito Elito Card for my birthday. I chose the Gyro Burrito. It was delicious.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shelllady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Tortilla also viewed

 

Been to California Tortilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing