We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Meal...BUT...”
Review of Ristorante Piccola Roma - CLOSED

Ristorante Piccola Roma
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Piccola Roma Restaurant is the perfect location in Historic Downtown Annapolis MD for great Italian dining. Located on Main Street, Piccola Roma is open for lunch and dinner with a great selection of menu items and a fantastic wine menu. Menu items include a wide assortment of appetizers, salads, pasta dishes, sandwiches, risotto, entrees and desserts.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Good Meal...BUT...”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Am I the only one that visits Annapolis Restaurants with the expectation of being delivered an incorrect bill at the end of the meal.. We learned from another Annapolis restaurant that to just sign the bill after a fine meal with a libation or 2 is a big mistake. This time, at Picolla Roma, we had a very good meal, one of the best we have had in Annapolis. Then the Restaurant manager, who waited our table, overlooked!? reducing the bill by the $100 gift certificate we presented!!! Poured cold water on an otherwise very nice experience. This white table cloth Italian restaurant bill with a nice bottle of Chainti on Valentine Day came to $171.00 before tip! Granted it was a very good meal...but WATCH THE CHECK. When this happens, which it does often, we automatically reduce the tip by at least 50%. Normal non-holiday daily menu prices are in the low $20's.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnE_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    20
    16
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berlin MD
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Good service and good food. Our waiter was a delight. There were 4 of us and we all ordered on the specials, it was fresh fish with scallops and mussels baked in parchment paper. It was delicious! I have some special food allergies and they were very accommodating with baking my fish without certain ingredients. We also ad the grilled calamari appetizer with was excellent as well.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank opgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, MD
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect for date night”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We chose a weeknight to go there for a date. The appetizer of beef carpaccio was a new experience for us and we love it! The beef was complimented with evoo, salt/pepper and arugula. The seafood pastas were both delicious. Great bread is olive oil for dipping. Two words: Italian Margarita! Yum!

Helpful?
1 Thank JulsMorrVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing Christmas Eve Dinner”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Hmmm… was expecting so much more from them. Christmas Eve dinner out is a tradition in our family and we always eat Italian. Piccola Roma had a fixed price dinner with choices for apps, entrees and desserts. I would have to say that most of the meal was "okay," except for the egg plant soup, which should never have been served. The ravioli appetizer was "okay," but not memorable as was the halibut entree. The bottle of wine we ordered was reasonably priced and good. For $450 for four people, I expect better than this. On top of that, they were rushing the courses. That really annoys me. I love one of their regular menu appetizers (crab puff pastry with cream) so might be back for that at lunch, but not dinner any time soon.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnapolisLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

One of the best risotto and eggplant parmigiana I ever tasted. Try the mushroom risotto, you'll never regret it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JojoAmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Piccola Roma also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing