We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“prettiest state house I have ever visited”

Maryland State House
Ranked #4 of 90 things to do in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The seat of government for the state of Maryland.
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“prettiest state house I have ever visited”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Parking is never fun in Annapolis but this intricate wooden tower is beautiful. We enjoy the statehouse more than the rest of the town. Consider visiting the US Naval Academy, or the renaissance festival on the same day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elias David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    180
    32
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“nice state house”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

It is a very nice, state house. When you enter, they scan your purse and such, like happens at all government facilities nowadays but when you walk in, it is really nice. Very clean with this whole House of Cards air on the stairs and hallways. They have some interesting historical documents and memorabilia in one small room and you can see the House and Senate rooms. Overall, definitely worth a walk thru. I wouldn't plan on spending more than 30 mins max but neat to see.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
618 reviews
397 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Oldest state capitol still in continuous use”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We walked up the hill to the grounds of the Maryland State House. The grounds are beautiful and open for walking all around the building. For history lovers, this place is an A+++++++++++.

We went inside (go through security), but it is free, and you can walk around on your own and read the informative placards. This historical building is the oldest state capitol still in continuous use and is designated as a National Historic Landmark.

You can look into both the house and senate chambers and wander around at your leisure....helpful when you are reading all of the interesting material. We also learned that it has the largest wooden dome in the US constructed without nails (used wooden pegs) and the only state house to have served as the nation's capital. Very interesting!

If you like history, there is a lot to absorb here. I loved it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank igolfCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayer, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best state Capitol building in the US.”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The oldest wooden rotunda still in service and was also briefly our nations Capitol. I did not find allot to see except the grounds and the room where Washington resigned his commission. But I have a great affection for the building. It is a sight to see because it centered on all of the old harbor and can be seen from almost every point.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mc2252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“history”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The buildings are great to look at and learn about. A tour is useful. Adventure tours was very nice, a large golf cart type vehicle, but better, was able to take us places larger trollies could not go,

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maryland State House also viewed

 

Been to Maryland State House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing