We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Crowds if Possible” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maryland State House

Maryland State House
Ranked #4 of 89 things to do in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The seat of government for the state of Maryland.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid the Crowds if Possible”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I was there on a Friday in May, and the place was overrun with school kids on field trips. Im not sure how busy it gets on the weekends.

In general, though, it's a very beautiful building and worth a visit. It's where George Washington resigned as Commander in Chief. The entire building is surrounding by a circle of red-brick streets. Great old-town feel.

When you climb up the steps to the front door, there is a nice view from the entrance. Upon entering, a security person who obviously would rather be somewhere else will tell you to put all your items on the conveyer belt. She then will hand you a sticker with a number on it, and give you no explanations whatsoever as to what it's for. It's probably to assign you to one of the tour guides, but since there were so many children around, I decided to just wander around by myself.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    162
    31
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“History comes alive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is the cleanest building I have ever seen. The History that is told here is really informative. They do have tour guides, that are dressed as old time inhabitants. Large group of school children are present on most days. Stop at the Visitors Information Center on West Street for tour information or just wander the halls of the State House.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great architecture and interesting history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We liked the beautiful setting, helpful guides, great place to learn a little of MD.history . Also the story of how the building was built is interesting

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank woodstockflea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A place Marylander's should be proud of”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This building is really grand. I live 25 minutes from Harrisburg and our capital is nice but I like Maryland's better. The interior is beautiful, I really liked looking in the house and senate chambers. The self guided tour is free and security is friendly to people. When in this great city take 10 minutes and go inside the capital, it is free and beautiful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PAcopperhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wescosville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
652 reviews
426 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Good place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The state house is a place full of history. Self guided tours through the first floor include the two house chambers and the restored old house of delegates. The are restoring the old Senate chamber. Also, a couple of rooms deal with historical aspects of Annapolis. Centrally located.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tank1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maryland State House also viewed

 

Been to Maryland State House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing