We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Small, but Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maryland State House

Maryland State House
Ranked #3 of 83 things to do in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The seat of government for the state of Maryland.
Westbrook, Maine
Level Contributor
220 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Small, but Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

There isn't much here, but what is here is nice. The highlight is definitely the recreation of the old state assembly meeting room. There might have been more upstairs, but it was roped off so it was hard to tell. This probably isn't any more than a 15 minute stop.

Helpful?
Thank virginiagamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    130
    29
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Although it's small, it's full of interesting information about the War of 1812. A must see place in Annapolis.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nguyen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Charming and historic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I've been here twice, and consider it a must-see while you're in Annapolis. It is not one of these gargantuan 19th century capitol buildings that are so daunting to visit. It is very VERY small, and is colonial. Annapolis was the capital of our country for a brief time early on, so this building was THE Capitol. It is so pretty, and the recent renovation really did work out very well. Every detail is lovely. The first time I went, there were guided tours, but it looks like they've done away with those. Funding cutbacks, no doubt - ya gets what ya pays for. However, the posted information is good, and the day I was there, the guard at the door was helpful with answering every question and even adding a little more detail than I expected. There's really no excuse for not at least walking through this beautiful, historic building, as it is right in the heart of Annapolis, AND, it is FREE.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank alborealis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Chock full of history at a very manageable size. George Washington resigned his commission here. The area is walkable, close to the Naval Academy and other sites, as well as shopping and restaurants.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Caro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The State House is beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We had no idea that the State House would be so beautiful and impressive. We are very proud of being Marylanders....

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerFr0mMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maryland State House also viewed

 

Been to Maryland State House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing