We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pampered by human and canine hosts on my 70th birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 29 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oceanside, New York
1 review
“Pampered by human and canine hosts on my 70th birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Thank you Elly and Maggie for the warm welcome (every time we came in the door). The intimate scale of the house was exactly what we were looking for, and the location was perfect.
There has been an obvious, loving commitment to every detail of decor and hospitality. The breakfast was terrific. When the need is to be gently ushered into another decade of life, settling into a cozy room with my wife (of almost 49 years!) was most comforting. The crab feast that preceded it wasn't bad, either. Thanks, again, Elly, and please scratch Maggie behind the ears for us.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank satchelkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
301
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My fiancee and I decided to break up a long, mid-July trip with a night in Annapolis, and we chose Chez Amis based on its excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. The location is excellent, wedged in a historic neighborhood between the harbor, the State House and the Naval Academy. The rooms are appropriately themed. We stayed in the Law Library room, complete with old legal tomes on the shelves. The room was modest in size, but it was very comfortable and we slept well. Elly, the proprietor, gave us excellent dinner recommendations and options (walk, water taxi) for getting there. We had a nice walk over to the Vin 909 Wine Cafe, also highly recommended on Trip Advisor, and got there just in time to get a counter seat on a Thursday evening. Elly served us some excellent Frittatas for breakfast, leaving us content but not stuffed. Breakfast is served at a large, rustic table built to accommodate eight guests. We had a nice chat with a younger couple while eating. Then we brought the car back and re-packed for the next leg of our trip. I should mention that parking is in a well-guarded garage about three blocks away. It was no problem for us, but visitors should be aware that old properties in a historic area with narrow streets are unlikely to have on-site parking. That said, we were really pleased with the facility, the warm and informative hostess, and the proximity to so many good restaurants and places of interest in downtown Annapolis. We will DEFINITELY be back, hopefully next summer if not sooner. This place is a wonderful find. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Look at the photos on the web site. They give you a good description of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashburn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Chez Amis for one night in July. The location is perfect because it is within walking distance to the dock and all the Annapolis attractions. Elly greeted us with a very warm welcome and recommended McGarvey's for happy hour down by the dock. The crab pretzel was delicious! Our accommodations in the State House room (king size bed) were clean and very comfortable. It was nice to have a private bathroom (although the shower was small). And, Elly's three-course breakfast was amazing!!! I highly recommend Chez Amis:)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My sister and I were looking for a one night get-away (she lives abroad so we rarely have time together) and she found Chez Amis. The owner, Elly, could not have been more hospitable. The room was stunning, the downstairs lovely, and the breakfast one of the best we've had at a B&B. The place was arranged very well with tea, lemonade and cookies available throughout the day. They also have a nice assortment of games, DVDs, and brochures on what to do in the area. We were in Annapolis to celebrate our joint birthdays and upon learning this Elly put a cupcake with candles in our room. It was just the perfect touch and made for a truly memorable experience. I will definitely be returning to Chez Amis the next time we're in Annapolis!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjplaywright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed for one Sunday night and it was friendly and comfortable. Great directions and restaurant recommendation. All that you could ask for in a B and B in Annapolis. Very nice breakfast nook, plenty of space to spread out with the New York Times which was on the coffee table in the morning.

Room Tip: We stayed in the law library and it was very comfortable and there is no pool but I could not remove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights this July. It's within a short walk to everything in historic Annapolis. We stayed in the Treaty of Paris room on the first floor. Really big room. Like others said, the shower is a little small but good for a short getaway. The multiple course breakfast each morning was delicious and the cookies in the afternoon were really good too. We would definitely try to stay here again next time we're in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I came here as a weekend getaway for my wife's birthday. We had had a super busy couple weeks leading up to it and this was the perfect relaxing weekend getaway. Elly and Joe were awesome hosts, helped us figure out where to go around town (since we hadn't had time to do proper research beforehand) and their recommendations were great. Great home made breakfasts too! Hope to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.0 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Historic Inns of Annapolis
#3 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast
Address: 85 East Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Chez Amis" in French means "Among Friends". Come share a day, weekend or week with us and enjoy the state capitol of Maryland and all it has to offer. Our 4 bedroom Bed & Breakfast is located in the heart of historic Annapolis, Maryland and is nearby the State Capitol, St. John's College, the waterfront, city dock, the Naval Academy, antique shops and fabulous dining and entertainment places all within walking distance.Find comfort and old fashioned relaxation at Chez Amis. Since each guest room has a private TV, the French country styled common area is designed for reading, conversation, and playing many games of your choice. Bananagrams and scrabble seem to be our guests’ favorite. Refreshments and homemade cookies are available throughout your stay so we understand if you ‘sneak downstairs’ for just one last cookie. The dining area is a wonderful piece of carpentry that was built by the previous inn owner. It comfortably fits our guests but we also offer supplemental seating if you choose a more intimate table. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing