We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, affordable, warm towels, and completely remodeled!”
Review of House of Hunan

House of Hunan
Ranked #212 of 355 Restaurants in Annapolis
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
748 reviews
433 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Delicious, affordable, warm towels, and completely remodeled!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I have been going to this restaurant since I was a little girl. They have completely remodeled the inside and yet the menu is still diverse and affordable. My kids look forward to eating here because the food is delicious, the warm towels are fun, and the free ice cream at the end, along with the fortune cookie, is a treat!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melaney68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

Wow. I was really surprised anout this place. I had eaten here before many years ago so I knew that the restaurant was ok but boy has this place changed.

The restaurant had a major make over with above average decor. The small decorative glass wall tile is very attractive.

Although the food price was a little high this was offset by the high quality food & presentation and above average service.

I have never been a Chinese food fan but this place made me a believer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WaikikiBeach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Chinese Cuisine in a First Class Setting”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We love the new interior look and feel of the House of Hunan, and the dishes and service are always first rate. The Hot and Sour soup is a favorite starter for me, and my wife loves the steamed dumplings. They offer a variety of different sauces and preparation styles (Szechuan, Hunan, etc.) as well as a fat free menu. You are offered hot towels before and after your meals, and in addition to the usual fortune cookies a plate of delicious fruit is complimentary after your dining is complete. The menu items are typical of many Chinese restaurants, but I feel the taste is superior to anything else in the Annapolis area (we've tried them all) and the presentation is delightful. If you want really good Chinese food in a clean and comfortable setting, you will not go wrong here, and your wallet will be happy too!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TopCat390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not up to the new decor”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The restaurant was closed for a while for redecoration and it now has a sleek interior (although be careful when you sit at a booth - the booth seats are no secured and you can 'bump' whomever is sitting in the adjoining seat!), but the quality of the food didn't live up to it. Fried dumplings were encased in overly thick and gummy wrappers, hot and sour soup was adequate but un-zingy and the filling in the spring rolls had a gummy texture similar to the dumplings. The entrees were adequate but not up to the pricing.

I will say that the service remains unparalleled. The staff are quick, courteous and very thorough - hopefully they'll get the food up to the same standard!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margrete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracys Landing
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great chinese food at a comfortable local establishment”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Here's a local chinese restaurant with a warm feel and a friendly staff. We visit regularly. Never been disappointed. Just been redecorated. Plenty of parking. But best of all, real good chinese food, generous servings, at reasonable prices, and fine service. . . a winning combination. Favorites include Sesame chicken, firecracker shrimp, beef with spring onions, vegetable lo mein, and many more.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Hunan also viewed

 

Been to House of Hunan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing