We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Once again we have enjoyed our stay in Annapolis due to the wonderful hospitality of the folks at Chick and Ruth's Delly and the Scotlaur Inn. This quaint inn above the delly is retro 50's and proud of it. Our room, #201, looked directly out onto Main St. with the American Flag flying outside our window. The room is small; with a queen bed, TV/closet armoir, and bathroom, but very clean and comfortable, AND breakfast is included! The $115 rate can't be beat for location and fun. With all the fancy hotels in town, we call the Scotlaur Inn 'home' whenever we visit.

Room Tip: Room 201 faces main street and the American Flag
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 90 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this B&B for one night in a room on the second floor. The room was very small but the main problem was a rancid smell that permeated the room. We didn't know if it was the carpet or the kitchen downstairs that stank so bad. First and last time we will book a room at this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Inn is right on Main street, so very close to shops, the harbor, everything. Although we were initially in a room on the third floor, problems with the toilet caused us to move - they were very accommodating in trying to deal with the problems, but it was a bit of a hassle. Despite being just one floor about the diner, we didn't hear hardly any noise. The beds were comfortable, and the rooms came with a TV, small bathroom (with weak water pressure) and a very powerful AC unit. Nice decorations and family memorabilia lined the halls. There are a few flights of stairs to walk up, but nothing too problematic unless you are carrying a 6-pound milkshake from downstairs or a 50-pound suitcase from overseas. The free breakfast is a nice feature of the deal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BriskTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We discovered this inn by accident. We were passing through Annapolis and had to grab breakfast at Chris and Ruth's. while dining, we noticed there was an inn upstairs. Just then the owner of the inn and restaurant manager, came by to chat about our breakfast. We had our two small kids with us. The owner chatted with us about the inn and was so friendly and welcoming of our little boys, that we decided to stay in Annapolis for the night. After our awesome breakfast we headed upstairs to check out our room for the night. It is cozy, cute and very charming. The staff was bringing in a bed for our boys and were more than helpful to make she our toddlers were comfortable. The room was a little small if you're looking for a loft, but we wanted to explore the downtown Annapolis City Dock area, so this was perfect. Our room really felt like we were visiting a relative's home. Very cute, clean and had an antique vibe. We spent our day taking a boat rides, shopping, eating Maryland crab cakes and having ice cream! Our inn room was centrally located so we could run upstairs to our room between outtings for kiddie bathroom breaks and dropping off bags.
This place is upstairs from a famous diner and lots of fun staying at a bed and breakfast. Just fun stay and look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place is certainly the best bang for the buck in the Main St. area. Rooms are a bit small, but that's how things were built in the 1800's. It is a historic building, with private bathrooms A/C & in every room, which are serviced by the cleaning staff daily. The managers of the B&B/restaurant are incredibly welcoming & friendly. The food and service at Chick & Ruth's was great. The location is prime, you can walk to just about anywhere in downtown Annapolis. I would recommend this place to anyone. This is a Bed and Breakfast, if you are looking for all of the amenities of a 5 star hotel, then book a 5 star hotel. If you are looking for a friendly, clean, and cozy place to stay in the heart of everything this place is for you. Annapolis is a great town rich with history and character, for future visits I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Demetruis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent 4 night at Scotlaur Inn the last week of April. Absolutely terrific location in downtown Annapolis, convenient to walk to shops, restaurants and the City Dock. It does not seem like a typical B & B, located above the Delly, and I would agree with the person who described it as "quirky". The rooms were quite small but very clean and well appointed. The bed was comfy and we slept well. Room 201 had a nice view of the street out front, but not all the rooms have a view. Room 203 looks at the wall of the building next door. We checked in at the busy Delly downstairs. The staff was helpful, informative, and friendly. The Delly food was delicious. We took the Super Shuttle from BWI right to the door. We did rent a car for one day to do some touring and got 1/2 price parking at the ramp behind Scotlaur. We enjoyed the experience and would stay again.

Room Tip: Second floor was high enough for me with suitcases & narrow stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pattig71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Terrific quirky place that reminded me of B&Bs in England where someone rented out an extra room to make some extra cash. Think "All Creatures Great & Small" not "Downton Abbey". The stairs are steep and the rooms are small but sparkling clean, PERFECTLY located. Comfortable bed, great "room darkening" curtains, plenty of pillows. It reminded us of a modern version of Gadsby's Tavern in Alexandria - except we didn't have to share the room with strangers. Food downstairs in the deli is classic tasty deli food and there were plenty of choices on the "included" menu. Don't miss the chocolate frosted cookies. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.1 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.4 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
884 reviews
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#8 of 21 in Annapolis
861 reviews
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 165 Main St, Annapolis, MD 21401-2000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range: $105 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotlaur Inn b&b
Scotlaur Hotel Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing