We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn and Staff Good Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Clean rooms and Inn, very nice people work here, convenient location. Bkfst included downstairs at Chick ^ Ruths, and our waitress was quick and sweet as pie. Breakfast was on the table in 6 minutes from the time I ordered and all was good. You park in the big parking garage behind the inn. This was painless as was check in and out. You check in at Chick ^Ruths restaraunt counter. Furnishings and bed linens are good quality and in good condition. I will stay here again. If you are are staying with kids I would ask for a bigger room. OUr room was one of the smallest and just fine for a couple.
Just an FYI, there is no bar, lobby, valet, gameroom, fitness room or pool and they joke about that in the information book, So dont expect the extras as the Lowes, Westin or Sheratons. This place is an INN and B&B

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nthemermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 89 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

Centrally located in downtown Annapolis, the Scoutlaur Inn is a nice, family-run B&B located above the family-owned restaurant, Chick & Ruth's Delly. The rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfast is included at Chick & Ruth’s downstairs (make sure to get there early for the Pledge of Allegiance).

Location is near the Naval Academy and a short drive to Washington DC, Baltimore and Ocean City.

Parking is available in the city-owned garage near the rear entrance.

I will definitely stay again the next time I visit Annapolis.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpaq68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We arrived at the Inn on a late Friday night in September. I received a confirmation letter in the mail with instructions about how to get in if you arrive late. Well the deli was still opened when we got there and good thing because the back door code was no longer in use.
We were on the second floor with a double bed and private bathroom in room 203. The room was small, but enough space for two people. Now the bathroom was tiny, but we did not spend much time in our room. The sink to the bathroom was located in our room vs. the bathroom. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom door was a problem, it was an issue to open and close. If you closed it all the way, then you would have to slam it opened.
It was actually quiet on the weekend we went. They were sold out on Friday and Saturday, but we were able to sleep in and not have many issues (until the last night). We went down to the Chick & Ruth’s for breakfast and it was crowded, but they did get us seated before anyone else because we were staying upstairs. The deli is very entertaining. The owner was running around and helping out and making sure everyone was happy. The breakfast that comes with it is like 6 choices (I think). It was very basic, so on Sunday we tried something different off the menu (crab’s Benedict which was fantastic).
On our last morning there we had a fire alarm go off around 4:00 am; I think there was a total of three rooms being occupied. We had to call the owner to have it turned off, but the scary part is that no fire department or police showed up. The owner never apologized to us and kind of tried to plan one of us.
For the price you could not be any closer to the action, we walked all through Old town and other to the Academy. It is a no thrills place, cleaned, comfortable and walking distance to the waterfront. If you are looking for the typical B&B, I would suggest looking elsewhere. I would recommend this place and if I have another wedding in Annapolis I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScubaCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

First time to Annapolis and we we used a B&B.com gift card. This is not your typical B&B but that is clearly pointed out on their website. The deli is an experience. We enjoyed reading the history of the family and loved the magic tricks. We walked everywhere and explored a lot of Annapolis with out having to worry about moving our car. It was hot that weekend but our very small BR was like an icebox. This is an excellent value.

Room Tip: You must be able to climb stairs.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Since we wanted to eat at Chick and Ruth's as a surprise to our grandsons, we decided that after drinking a giant shake we would not want to travel far. Thus we booked a room in the Scotlaur Inn, room 301. When you arrive you need to park in a parking garage which runs $8 / day but you get a sticker for half off. Then you must walk to the Inn with luggage and check in at a very busy "delly". You must climb steep stairs to get your room. Our room was not very clean and all of the wooden furniture had some sticky polish on it which caused anything placed on it to stick. The floor had not been vacuumed as I picked up two cherry stems. The air conditioner was not strong enough to cool the entire room and bathroom too. As stated by someone else the towels and wash clothes were dingey and very coarse. The closet contained the roll away but the doors were off the hinges so we could not retrieve the roll away therefore our youngest grandson slept on the couch cushions laid on the floor. Overall, the room did not feel clean and we were deeply disappointed. OH you must order from a set menu for breakfast which is very chintzy i.e. bagel, cream cheese, coffee or muffin, coffee, and juice. They do discount your meal if you order something else off the menu.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gegejeffz1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

If you are searching for typical B&B look elsewhere and pay more. If you are you searching for clean, inexpensive room with absolutely no frills in a great location, this might be an option. This B&B is located on Main Street, only steps away from restaurants, bars, shopping and City Dock. You check in at the deli and free breakfast is included, which was the best part of the stay. We were located on the third floor (be prepared to climb up lots of stairs (approx. 18-20 per floor). Our room was very small but clean. My suggestions: bring your own towels (towels-really thin and rough and a small hand towel for floor mat) and toiletries (poor quality) and the pillows (really hard and scratchy).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAHITTHEROAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The name of this place "Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast" is deceiving - this clearly is not a Bed & Breakfast. It is located over a deli on the main traffic street of Annapolis, MD with check in at the cashier in the deli, none of the special bathroom amenities (tiny bar of soap?? thin towels), no comfy sitting area, no elevator (40+ stairs to 3rd floor), no cozy outside garden or porch area, breakfast was in the deli, etc. I'd call it a hotel room over a deli. I can say that the room, being right on the main street, was very quiet and the bed comfortable. Parking is in a parking garage around the corner. Overall, we were disappointed. Within a few blocks were what appeared to authentic B&B's that I would recommend checking into for a true B&B experience.

Room Tip: Find a true bed and breakfast with all amenities
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.1 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.4 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#8 of 21 in Annapolis
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gibson's Lodgings
Gibson's Lodgings
#3 of 25 in Annapolis
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 165 Main St, Annapolis, MD 21401-2000
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range: $110 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotlaur Inn b&b
Scotlaur Hotel Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing