We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a B&B should be...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gibson's Lodgings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gibson's Lodgings
Ranked #3 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shenandoah Valley, VA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a B&B should be...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

... although I would say this is more a boutique hotel then a true B&B. First off is the location, just a block over from the inner harbour and 2 blocks from the Naval Academy entrance - with free, off street parking. The rooms are well decorated and very comfortable. We had a good night's sleep even with being just a block from the partying harbour. The breakfast has a large selection of self-serve, good quality foods from fresh fruit to waffles.

The staff we met were extremely nice and very helpful - especially in letting us continue to park our car after checkout for a couple of hours while shopped. (Note that they were not fully booked and it was during the transition between check-out and check-in.)

They offer a lot of extra, including a kitchen in each structure with free water, cookies, coffee, sodas, and microwave popcorn. In our building we had a large back porch, which while overlooking just the landscaped parking lot was a quiet amenity for breakfast or an evening read.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yarwak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    30
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
47
139
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia,PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Gibson was a great place to stay in Annapolis. We used a Living Social deal for the B&B. We were very close to the harbor, Naval Academy and the shopping. Very walkable town. The 2 original houses are beautiful inside. We had a kitchen with coffee, soda, water and snack at our disposal. The breakfast was very fresh and tasty. even had a waffle bar. They welcomed us with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. We would definitely come back to Gibson Lodging.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardt53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We just returned from our 2 day stay at Gibson's Lodgings. What a fantastic location, with immaculate rooms and topped off with wonderful hosts. We were literally right in the heart of Annapolis and could walk to the Naval Academy (in less than 5 mins). Since Gibson's was only half full. we were upgraded to a suite. This suite was Immaculately kept with a better than Hilton king size bed, flat screen tv, all upgraded bathroom and hardwood floors. Our hosts were wonderful in recommending what restaurants they thought would suit our particular tastes, all of which were again in walking distance. Gibson's serves a wonderful breakfast; waffles, fresh fruit, bagels and breads, muffins, yogurt, etc. The only thing missing are the eggs which you could easily do without. On Tuesday evening we walked over to the pier where the Naval band played for almost an hour and half (this happens every Tues.( weather permitting). All we can say is that this is not to be missed! There is lots of musical talent in the Naval Academy. If we were going back to Annapolis, Gibson's would be our first choice!

Room Tip: If you have flexibility, go on Mon. Tues. because it is less crowded than the rest of the week. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macenmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklawn, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

this was our first visit to gibsons lodgings.we could not have had a better experience.the rooms
could not have been more comfortable.we have never met an owner who was more helpful &
friendly than meredith lauer.she gave us all the upcoming events.she also gave us a full tour
of the rooms at the lodgings.we booked 2 rooms for midnight madness in dec.for anyone looking
for a place to stay in annapolis i highly recommend gibsons lodgings.

Room Tip: any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was my very first B&B experience and I could not be more pleased. Our room and all the houses were gorgeous, tastefully furnished in beautiful antiques. The bed was very comfortable.
The Continental breakfast was very nice, with lots of fresh fruit and bagels available. The waffle bar was good too. Keurig machine, snacks, water, soda and snacks were available 24/7 in the kitchen of our building.

Situated next the USNA and less than a block from Old Dock, it was the perfect location to explore Annapolis. The management was friendly and accommodating and made the entire vacation very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muzikgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Excellent location to historic downtown, 2 blocks from US Naval Academy, 2 blocks from waterfront, 2 blocks from succulent crab restarants plus some of the softest bed sheets anywhere. A real jewel. And if you don't stay here.... after you try for an hour to park anywhere near the waterfront, you'll be real happy the Gibson's Lodging has their own parking lot.

Excellent beds and nice and quite. Friendly staff... greeted with a nice bottle of wine and chocolate covered strawberries and smiling faces. Sad time came when we had to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just got back from my second stay at Gibson's Lodgings and would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Annapolis. Especially if you want to be within walking distance of the town, dock area, or the Naval Academy. They have free parking and plenty of it. The rooms are clean and well kept. And the people that work there are very helpful and friendly. I feel lucky to have stumbled upon a place I feel so comfortable and safe staying at when I'm in Annapolis.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.7 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#1 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
3.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibson's Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson's Lodgings

Property: Gibson's Lodgings
Address: 110 Prince George St, Annapolis, MD 21401-1704
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gibson's Lodgings 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are fully remodeled and under new ownership as of December 2010. The three houses on the property, circa 1770, 1890, 1988, offer 20 rooms as well as a small meeting room. This is a great and distinctive place to stay while learning about the abundant history of the Annapolis area. We are conveniently next to the Naval Academy and only a half block from the City Docks. Two of the buildings are historic town houses: the Patterson (a 1760s Federal Georgian with 5 rooms and our main office & dining room) and the Berman (a 1890s house with a porch and 9 bedrooms, one equipped for travelers with disabilities). Behind them is the Lauer House, a 1988 addition with six king suites, a full kitchen and a sitting room that can serve as a meeting room. Filled with both antiques and reproductions, the bedrooms are of varying sizes. A central patio and courtyard serve as a common area for all three buildings.We offer free courtyard parking with your stay and a continental breakfast (including a hot waffle bar) each morning from 7:30-10:30. All our rooms are air-conditioned and have free Wi-Fi access along with flat-screen televisions, hair dryers and access to an iron and ironing board. A selected number of rooms are pet friendly with a $35 fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gibson's Lodgings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibson`s Lodgings Hotel Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing