We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect B&B”
Review of Gibson's Lodgings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gibson's Lodgings
Ranked #3 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A perfect B&B”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have stayed at Gibson's Lodgings in historic Annapolis twice now. First, I have to say it really can't be beat for location, if your visit is to primarily visit the Naval Academy and the historic area. It is literally next door to the Academy and just steps from the Old Harbor. You can find everything close to hand.

Secondly, Gibson's is one of the cleanest and warmest places I have stayed at. The staff are friendly, the rooms are spotless; and I love the fact that they provide drinks and snacks for the guests 24/7. I would never stay anywhere else in Annapolis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    34
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
48
145
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hooversville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We just spent two nights here and enjoyed it very much. The young host(ess) was charming and delightful, and the historic buildings were beautifully restored w/in the past three years. We were in the center of things, being very near the Naval Academy and restaurants, all w/in easy walking distance. And the off-season rate can't be beat. We enjoyed the Keurig coffee maker available at all times, and we also liked the sitting room where we had a chance to chat with friends who had driven to Annapolis to have dinner with us. Rooms were very clean.

The room in the Berman House (1892, the "newer" of the two historic buildings, and not the haunted one, darn it) was rather small, and the mattress pad was slippery on the zipped "bag" that covered the mattress, so it got bunched up as we slept. The breakfast was adequate, pretty much exactly what you get at the Hampton without Hampton's extras like yogurt and hard-boiled eggs, but this morning we also got little biscuits with egg, cheese and Canadian bacon, a specialty on the weekends. Very nice fresh fruit, and the coffee is good.

We noticed several people had dogs, which we hadn't realized were allowed. We heard one barking for a bit during the day, but otherwise it wasn't a problem. Would recommend, for sure.

Room Tip: If in the Berman House, ask NOT to have the room by the back stairs. Somebody trudged up the wooden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaDeLia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibsonslodge, Owner at Gibson's Lodgings, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear LindaDeLia,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a nice review! We really appreciate your feedback. I am sorry your mattress pad bunched up while you were sleeping. We have mattress protectors on all of our mattresses to ensure that they stay fresh and clean. That is what the "zipped bag" is. We are glad you enjoyed breakfast as well. I wanted to mention that Gibson's does offer yogurt. Perhaps you just missed it in the Dining Room. We have many guests stay with us, and 99% of the time they are extremely courteous of other people sleeping—(if they have a late night). I am sorry that someone was loud and woke you at 2:30 in the morning. There is no excuse for that. Thank you again for your valued feedback and we certainly hope that if you ever return to Annapolis, you choose to stay with us!
Thank you,
Meredith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Pines, MD
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a weekend at Gibson's Lodgings, a quaint and lovely place to stay for our get away. The staff was friendly and accommodating, although they took such great care to make sure their guests had everything they needed, we didn't have to ask them for anything. The 3 separate guest building kitchens are well stocked with complimentary snacks and non-alcoholic beverages. Gibson's also offers a complimentary and plentiful Continental breakfast and free parking on their premises, an added bonus when visiting Annapolis. It is in a prime location on a quiet street, walkable to anywhere in the historic district. Our room was very clean and comfortable, a corner room on the 2nd floor with plenty of sunlight. The living room in the Berman Building was also large and cozy. I would very highly recommend you choose Gibson's Lodgings for your visit to Annapolis!

Room Tip: Ask for Room #1 in the Berman Building, the corner room with lots of sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minigrandtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibsonslodge, Owner at Gibson's Lodgings, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear minigrandtour,
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review!We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves.I am also glad you liked Berman 1 so much, it is one of our most popular! We hope you can come back and stay with us again in the near future!
Thanks again,
Meredith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I've stayed here twice and loved the experience both times. The location is perfect for exploring the Naval Academy and the harbor area. The staff was always friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The on-site parking was a bonus. One of my favorite places in Annapolis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSUDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibsonslodge, Owner at Gibson's Lodgings, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear OSUDaddy,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so glad you enjoyed Gibson's. We hope you come back and visit us again real soon!
Thank you,
Meredith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Inn is just a short block from the Marina district, and a block from the entrance to the USNA. The complex consists of three building(two historical) and free off street Parking. The facilities were extremely clean and well organized. Coffee, tea, bottled water, ice and snacks available 24/7.
A friendlier and more helpful owner and staff you will not find anywhere. The day we left we were sent on our way with a fresh pot of coffee and hot cinnamon buns.The Breakfast would fill-up those with the most hearty of appetites (including fresh eggs, home made waffles, bagels and pastries). Do not miss the opportunity to be their guests...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibsonslodge, Owner at Gibson's Lodgings, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Frank T,
Thank you so much for leaving us such a nice review!It was so nice to meet you both and we certainly hope you come back and visit us again soon! (hopefully when it's warmer!)
Take Care!
Meredith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I just recently got back from a two night stay at Gibson's Lodgings. We always wanted to go to Annapolis but never found the time. Since it was a special occassion (my 50th birthday) we decided to take the opportunity and visit the city. We decided on Gibson's largely based on the favorable reviews and location. Let me say that both are very favorable.

When we arrived, Merridith was there to greet us. Since the place was not full, she upgraded our room at no cost to us. When we got to the room there was a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting. The room was a suite with a lounge area and a bedroom with a private shower. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable.

Breakfast in the morning is continental, ceral, bagels, fruit and waffles. They have juice, coffee, water, soda and snacks available throughout the day and evening. The staff is very helpful and always askiing if we needed anything etc. In fact, when we needed to confirm a dinner reservation, the staff was more than happy to take care of this for us.

In terms of location, when I tell you that you are right next to the naval academy, you are litterally right next to the naval academy. The wall is about 30 feet from the lodge. In terms of getting to the main street for shoping and dining, its a 5 to 10 minute walk. Even the State House which is up the hill is within easy walking distance. This is key since Gibson's has free parking on site and while we were there in the winter when it was less crowded, I hear in the peak months of spring and summer, parking can be a problem.

In terms of things to do in Annapolis, I high recommend you visit the Naval Academy and take a guided tour. They ask for a $10 dollar donation and its well worth it. My wife and I were lucky enough to get a tour by ourselves with a tour guide who was great. The insights into the academy that he was able to impart was priceless. The history, stories and traditions there are unbelievable.

For food, there are a number of great places to dine. We ate dinner at an Italian Place on main street that was fantastic. The next night we had seafood at the water. Both meals were fantastic.

Overall we had a great time. I highly recommend a stay at Annapolis and Gibsons in particular. The place and people are great and you can't beat the location. Believe me, you will not be disappointed if you go.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennfam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibsonslodge, Owner at Gibson's Lodgings, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear jennfam5,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. It was so nice meeting you both and I hope you come back and visit us again !!
Warm regards,
Meredith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Last weekend we were with a group of special friends ( 36 ), all of us had a wonderful time here. Everyone was very helpful and friendly , Location just couldn't be better to see Annapolis. The rooms are beauitful, We just loved it. and so will you .Thank you so much

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibsonslodge, Owner at Gibson's Lodgings, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thanks, Dave, for taking the time to leave us a review. It's always nice to hear back from our guests, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure making sure your stay was comfortable and memorable. I look forward to having you again on your next visit to Annapolis!

Warm regards,
Meredith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.7 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
874 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
849 reviews
3.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibson's Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson's Lodgings

Property: Gibson's Lodgings
Address: 110 Prince George St, Annapolis, MD 21401-1704
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gibson's Lodgings 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are fully remodeled and under new ownership as of December 2010. The three houses on the property, circa 1770, 1890, 1988, offer 20 rooms as well as a small meeting room. This is a great and distinctive place to stay while learning about the abundant history of the Annapolis area. We are conveniently next to the Naval Academy and only a half block from the City Docks. Two of the buildings are historic town houses: the Patterson (a 1760s Federal Georgian with 5 rooms and our main office & dining room) and the Berman (a 1890s house with a porch and 9 bedrooms, one equipped for travelers with disabilities). Behind them is the Lauer House, a 1988 addition with six king suites, a full kitchen and a sitting room that can serve as a meeting room. Filled with both antiques and reproductions, the bedrooms are of varying sizes. A central patio and courtyard serve as a common area for all three buildings.We offer free courtyard parking with your stay and a continental breakfast (including a hot waffle bar) each morning from 7:30-10:30. All our rooms are air-conditioned and have free Wi-Fi access along with flat-screen televisions, hair dryers and access to an iron and ironing board. A selected number of rooms are pet friendly with a $35 fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gibson's Lodgings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibson`s Lodgings Hotel Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing