We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and charming inn”
Review of Gibson's Lodgings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gibson's Lodgings
Ranked #3 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and charming inn”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night last weekend to do the Annapolis ghost tour. One of the reasons I chose this place was because there was a parking lot right in between their properties! Its was so convenient to just throw our luggage in the car and walk around to the shops after we had checked out on Saturday. Meredith at the front desk went above and beyond of welcoming us! She was very helpful about where to eat and get drinks later--gave us a highlighted map to help guide us! We stayed in Patterson #6 which is their oldest building and the accomodations were great: bathroom and bedroom were clean and comfortable. Loved the decorations from the wall fixtures to the china during our breakfast....definitely felt like I was eating parlor back in time. I can't wait to go back because the location was perfect to venture to all the shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Decided to go with Patterson building (#6) because when I called she said it was the oldest building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RV3_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibsonslodge, Owner at Gibson's Lodgings, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear RV3_12, It was so nice meeting you both! It was my pleasure making you feel at home, and it sounds like you had a great time going around Annapolis. I'm happy the map came in handy too. I appreciate your compliments on Patterson #6—we do try to keep it cozy and warm for our guests! We hope you come back and visit us again soon!

Take care,
Meredith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    34
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
48
145
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Burke, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Spent the New Year's Eve in Annapolis and stayed the night at Gibson's. We had Berman #1 and #8. To me it was like going to stay at my mother's house. The rooms were inviting and comfortable. Upon arrival we found a welcome package consisting of champagne, hot chocolate, and New Year's party favors in each room. Additional complimentary snacks, coffee, tea, and drinks were available in the kitchenette. The breakfast buffet provided was awesome. Gibson's location can't be beat. You are located right next to the US Naval Academy gate, 1/2 a block from the City Dock, and only a few minutes walk to several great shops, restaurants, and taverns. I have nothing bad to say about our stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: Berman #1 is a second floor corner room over looking Prince George St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibsonslodge, Owner at Gibson's Lodgings, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Stephen H, Thank you for your kind review. We hope that many good things await you and your family in 2013. Thanks for your support. We would love to have you and your family come and visit us again sometime! Thank you, Meredith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We recently stayed at the Gibson Lodge, as we were in town for a wedding at the Naval Academy. We had a choice between the Westin, Marriott and Gibson Lodge. The rates were relatively the same but the Gibson Lodge was much closer to campus and included breakfast. We were thrilled with our choice! The Inn was very well kept - someone was always cleaning. It was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Parking was easy. The bedroom was beautiful. We stayed in the main building and enjoyed the natural light in our room. The bathroom was very clean and had a full whirlpool tub. This would be a great spot for a family gathering or girl's weekend too. It was nice to walk out the front door and be in the center of all the great shops and restaurants of Annapolis. No complaints here! Great location, great service, friendly people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie_vabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibsonslodge, Owner at Gibson's Lodgings, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Katie,
It was so nice to meet you and your boyfriend this past weekend!We hope you come back and visit us again soon! Happy Holidays! Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at Gibson's Lodgings in August when we were passing through for only 1 night. The owner, Meredith, went out of her way to help answer my questions in advance before booking our stay there. I had previously lived in Annapolis so was quite familiar with the area already. This is the best possible location to everything in downtown Annapolis - the Naval Academy, downtown shopping, restaurants, the waterfront, etc. And I can't say enough about how comfortable the bed was - we didn't want to get up. Onsite parking is another excellent perk considering what it's like to park in Annapolis. We arrived much later than anticipated thanks to some nasty weather as we drove across the Eastern Shore but not to worry - our roomkey was still waiting for us after everyone had gone home for the night. The extra touches such as snacks in the downstairs kitchen were really very nice, the breakfast was great, and getting to be around the innkeeper's rescue dog was a wonderful added benefit for us. ;-)

[While in Annapolis, don't forget to shop for your pets at Paws Pet Boutique. The owner has rescued dogs himself and is an avid supporter of animal rescue organizations. We loved their selection of fun items for pet owners, too - we came home with the sign, "Warning: Dog Can't Hold Its Licker", perfectly describing life at our house.] ;-)

Room Tip: We stayed in Lauer 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibsonslodge, Owner at Gibson's Lodgings, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you, PWar, for your kind review! It's so gratifying to hear that our efforts are appreciated. We take pride in making our guests comfortable, so that they can find in us a home away from home—so happy that you had a great time.

We hope you come stay with us again the next time you visit!

Take care,
Meredith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Gibson Lodging in Annapolis ,Md and just loved it. It is the best location in town, their next door neighboris the Us Naval Academy. It is just short walk to EVEYTHING in one of the greatest walking towns there is. It is operated by the most friendly people that keep a near and clean property. The lodging facility consists of 3 clean building with a nice courtyard. WE booked at the last minute and our room was small but they do have larger rooms, but everything in Annapolis is small and quaint.
You can not beat it for location, friendliness and cleanliness. If we are in the area, we will definately return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drakesisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibsonslodge, Owner at Gibson's Lodgings, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi Drakesisland,

Thank you for your review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you visit us again soon!

Take care,
Meredith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I did a lot of research when planning our 30th anniversary weekend trip to Annapolis. I wanted a B&B with off-street parking, but where we could walk to everything. Quiet but close to the action. Gibson's was the perfect spot. We parked our car in their lot Friday and didn't move it until we left on Sunday. The parking area was attractively decorated with pumpkins and fall flowers.We were in Lauer 5, 3rd floor. It is a lovely 2 room king suite, extremely clean and comfortable. The view is of the parking lot, but the trees in the lot are pretty, and you can also see the Naval Academy chapel. The staff was friendly and accommodating, giving helpful recommendations for dinner.

If you are looking for a gourmet breakfast, this is not the place for you. The breakfast is not fancy, but has plenty of choices - cereal, bagels, various pastries and juices. They also have make-your-own waffles. This was fine for us.

You can't beat Gibson's location. You are 1 block from the harbor, and within very easy walking distance of all the main historic attractions, as well as the main shopping district. It was convenient to return to our room twice during the day to rest and change clothes.

We would definitely return to Gibson's, and highly recommend it. Gibson's is also one of the less expensive options in historic Annapolis.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibsonslodge, Owner at Gibson's Lodgings, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Happy 30th anniversary, Jeannie! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Annapolis is a lovely town and you couldn't have picked a better place to celebrate your anniversary. Thanks again for choosing our inn. We'd be thrilled to have you again in the future. Take care!
Meredith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

It's been a year since we last were in Annapolis and stayed at Gibsons for the US Sailboat Show so I thought it would be worth updating the review. We again stayed in Room 6 on the top floor. I recommend this room because it is quiet and has a good view. The building we were in was clean and appeared to be well maintained. Meredith once again greeted us warmly. She really makes you feel welcomed when you arrive. There is a light breakfast available of bagels, waffles, juice, etc. Cokes and water are available downstairs in the lobby of the building. The hotel is very well located to the waterfront, some great restaurants & the Naval Academy. It was great to see that Gibsons was still doing well. Just stay there and you won't be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: I am sure they are all fine but we prefer #6 which is upstairs on the top floor. There is another ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenzy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.7 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
874 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
849 reviews
3.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibson's Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson's Lodgings

Property: Gibson's Lodgings
Address: 110 Prince George St, Annapolis, MD 21401-1704
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gibson's Lodgings 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are fully remodeled and under new ownership as of December 2010. The three houses on the property, circa 1770, 1890, 1988, offer 20 rooms as well as a small meeting room. This is a great and distinctive place to stay while learning about the abundant history of the Annapolis area. We are conveniently next to the Naval Academy and only a half block from the City Docks. Two of the buildings are historic town houses: the Patterson (a 1760s Federal Georgian with 5 rooms and our main office & dining room) and the Berman (a 1890s house with a porch and 9 bedrooms, one equipped for travelers with disabilities). Behind them is the Lauer House, a 1988 addition with six king suites, a full kitchen and a sitting room that can serve as a meeting room. Filled with both antiques and reproductions, the bedrooms are of varying sizes. A central patio and courtyard serve as a common area for all three buildings.We offer free courtyard parking with your stay and a continental breakfast (including a hot waffle bar) each morning from 7:30-10:30. All our rooms are air-conditioned and have free Wi-Fi access along with flat-screen televisions, hair dryers and access to an iron and ironing board. A selected number of rooms are pet friendly with a $35 fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gibson's Lodgings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibson`s Lodgings Hotel Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing