We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like we would tip over” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schooner Woodwind

Schooner Woodwind
Ranked #3 of 30 Tours in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The classic, wooden 74' Schooner Woodwind sails multiple cruises daily (in season) for public and private charters. Up to 48 passengers on each of our twin schooners. Whether a couple, family, party or corporate, we can accommodate you. We also have a Boat & Breakfast available (in season) on Saturdays. Come Sail Away!
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Felt like we would tip over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Took our office staff on a retreat to Annapolis and decided to book a sail. Great choice! We had wonderful weather and a gentile breeze at least until we set sail. Once in the harbor we had a strong breeze and the ship was under full sail. We wife was uncomfortable but I loved it. We were holding on for dear life. Sure beats having the engine running.

Visited August 2014
1 Thank Financial Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Sailing adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is a 2 hour sail out of Annapolis harbor. The boat is a beautiful modern "stay sail" schooner of classic design. The crew was great, and the captain was very patient with letting the little kids steer and answering all my questions. They serve free soft drinks and snacks and sell craft beer and wine on board. No handicap facilities per se, but we watched the crew help a woman who left in a wheel chair off the boat at the end of the cruise before ours. No sure they can take everyone. but ask before you decide not to go.

Visited August 2014
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful evening on the water enjoying the races”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

My family (husband, 10 yr old daughter, and myself) enjoyed a lovely evening on the Woodwind! We went on a Wednesday night so we got to enjoy the weekly Annapolis sail boat races. It was perfect weather and we couldn't have asked for a better crew!! Everyone was very friendly and made it a very memorable experience. I look forward to doing this again!

Visited August 2014
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good Cruise, Bad Customer Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

The tour itself was enjoyable offering relaxing views of the bay and environs. Onboard service was excellent! Be careful especially mindful when you book tickets, however. There are actually two boats, not one as the website leads a person to believe, so some groups were literally split between vessels. The downright hostile customer service agent seemed gleeful at passenger difficulties and more interested in taking money rather than accommodating or issuing refunds. A little empathy could go along way for guests ... guess they figure they will only see you once so take the tourists cash and run!

Visited August 2014
Thank PinUpBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BethLeath, Director of Sales at Schooner Woodwind, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
We are so glad to hear that you had a great time aboard the Woodwind. We apologize for any confusion that we have two sailing vessels, Woodwind and Woodwind II. We try to do our best to make that as clear as possible on our website as it is no secret of ours! If booking in the future and you have individuals purchasing tickets it is recommended to call in to our ticket office so that we can make sure we book your party on the correct vessel.

We hope to have you out sailing with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great sailing experience if you're not a sailor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Beautiful setting, beautiful boat! What more could you want - a very relaxed and enjoyable cruise around, and the crew worked hard to be helpful without being intrusive.

Clearly a very professional setup....and therein lies the rub as the saying goes......just a tad to clinical for my liking, but then I'm a fussy old codger.

Seriously, if you enjoy getting out on the water without getting wet or dirty or having to work, this would have to be one of the best ways of doing it - good for older kids (8+) too - the pirate adventure seemed to suit younger ones...

Visited June 2014
Thank ExpIntlTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner Woodwind also viewed


Been to Schooner Woodwind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing