We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Service”
Review of Firefly Farms

Firefly Farms
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Accident
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Service”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stopped by on the way out of Deep Creek and had a great chat, tasting, and learned a lot about the cheese making process. We'll definitely be back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jescott81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    14
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Friendly and Knowledgable Cheese Maker”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here while exploring the Deep Creek area. Immediately after leaving, my wife said she wants to come back. This is a local business that makes a variety of goat cheeses and also sells a selection of wine, local and otherwise. The owner is from Argentina and loves what he is doing. He took time for some tastings and explanation on the cheese varieties and how they are made. Samples were excellent, and naturally we had to buy some. Really fun experience. You can get all you need here to host a really good wine and cheese party. A must stop while in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mr2man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Driving to Deep Creek? Stop here!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a tip to stop here on the way to Deep Creek, which turned out to be a very good idea. They make their own cheese here and have a lovely shop that includes some tasty things and wine. The owner mentioned that they will do tours and tastings if arranged with a bit of advance notice. We left with some wonderful cheese and pecans. Yum. We will stop again on our next trip.

Helpful?
Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda, md
Level Contributor
449 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Delightful discovery, plan on stopping and staying a while!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were visiting friends in Deep Creek Lake for the weekend and they introduced us to this wonderful cheese and wine shop. It is worth driving out of your way to go there, but fortunately is right on the main road to Deep Creek Lake! The cheeses, snacks and wines are terrific- staff especially pleasant and helpful in the products and pairings.
Also, you can set up a tasting- wine, cheese, food for your group- do it, you won't regret it. We had a ton of fun and can't wait to try it at home, but even more so, going back to Firefly and doing another!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tikidream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great goat cheese”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Generous tasting during which the very friendly and knowledgeable staff explained the cheese-making process and showed us the facility where the cheeses are actually made. The pride and care that goes into their products is apparent. Great added plus was that we could buy good local wines and interesting crackers and breads to go along with our cheese purchases.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lizinjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firefly Farms also viewed

 
McHenry, Garrett County
 

Been to Firefly Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing