We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Crab cakes around!!!”
Review of Box Hill Crabcakes

Box Hill Crabcakes
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Box Hill Crabcakes is a family owned and operated restaurant in Abingdon, Maryland, and opened its doors in August 1984 with The Kanaras Brothers, Tom and Chris as the owners, along with their father George and mother Demetra who supported their sons as young entrepreneurs. With a strong commitment to customer service and satisfaction in a family-friendly environment, what once was a small eat-in, carry-out restaurant has expanded to a popular regional eatery with long-time, faithful customers who come in weekly to enjoy the "World Famous Crab Cakes," incredible Italian dishes, authentic Greek specialties and delicious hot and cold subs to name just a few of the menu favorites. Voted the area's best restaurant for crabcakes, give us a try and you too will be a satisfied customer who will be back for more! Thanks to the Internet you can now order our "World Famous Crab Cakes" securely online!
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Crab cakes around!!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Completely stumbled on this one by accident on New Year's Day. Stopped at Baldwin's to get our regular Maryland Crab cake sandwich, but they were closed. So searched the "apps" and found this place listed a little ways up the road toward PA. A little further off of I-95, but we will definitely being heading back to get more of their crab!! They have several platters available with different sides, but the crab cake was very large and the best part, it had tons of large crab lumps in it!! Broiled up just right, not over cooked and very lightly spiced. We added a touch of Old Bay to get to our liking, but it was perfect! Don't be surprised when you drive up to the store; it really is a pizza joint house in small strip mall with the normal pizza joint seating, etc. But if you like crab cakes, you gotta try this place!!! The staff was very nice and helpful and willing to work with whatever you want to customize the entries. Price was in the normal range for Crab; like $13-$17 depending on the type/number of sides you get with the platter.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hummel_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    57
    24
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“plastic utensils and foam plates”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I don't think this place is even trying.... granted their crab cakes are decent but the rest is average. I ate there yesterday and ordered the seafood fried platter because I was in the mood for oysters. They came the size of a quarter, the scallops the size of a dime and the fish over fried, the crab cake (fried) was not good at all, tasted like cheap imported crabmeat and a little bit on the old side. More bread crumb than product. The French fries were from a bag, frozen, not homemade and the garlic bread was sliced sub rolls brushed with butter and garlic powder. The Greek salad was very good as was the house dressing. Everything is eaten on foam plates with plastic cutlery and foam cups.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roseBelAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful crabcakes”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Tucked away in an unassuming little suburban strip mall, this restaurant serves the best crabcakes I've ever tasted. The atmosphere is strictly no-frills. It's packed on a weekend, but the servers are quick and friendly (expected to be called "hon"). The crabcake platter comes with a giant, flavorful crabcake, mostly meat, as well as a salad with tasty house dressing and garlic bread. The restaurant will allow two people to split a two-crabcake meal, which is more than plenty even if you arrive hungry. We stop here often when traveling the I-95 corridor, and always appreciate our meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Interesting local spot”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

After hearing about what a good place to go to for something new to us: Eggplant fries, I was curious. They turned out to be strips of eggplant deep fried in a light batter. They were pretty good & I would order them again, they were served with a piping hot marinara sauce. Our main dishes arrived and were just ok. My husband had the fried Seafood platter-which consisted of 3 deep fried oysters, a 3 oz crab cake, 6 scallops, 1/2 doz shrimp, and a strip of flounder filet, all with ff & hush puppies. With the exception of the crab cake, I would say all was pre-packaged. I had the jumbo lump crab cake. They do the crab cakes here in an Imperial style, which means the filler is wet and fluffy, the middle of it was downright gooey. The service was great, just attentive enough. Drinks are self serve, free refills. This place is a little pricey, all the above for close to $39.00, pre-tip. We would come here again, probably making different selections with the exception of the eggplant fries.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank redcatcec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“waited 15 minutes for someone to come take our order, no one did so we left”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

my husband and I stopped in 11/1 to celebrate our first wedding aanniversary and waited 15 minutes, two couples came in and in the 15 minutes we waited they were waited on before, no one ever came to our table so we left.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichelleinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Box Hill Crabcakes also viewed

 

Been to Box Hill Crabcakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing