We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably Bad in Every Way”
Review of Days Inn Aberdeen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Aberdeen
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Aberdeen
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Bad in Every Way”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

None of the staff I met could be bothered... about anything basically. Okay so they might be on low wages, but that's no excuse in any hotel or motel for 'front of house' staff to be so unhelpful, rude, unpleasant, miserable and ignorant.

The carpet in the room was so dirty, my shoes stuck to it. I found used tissues (used for what? I dread to think), drinking staws and beer bottle tops between the bed and the bedside table. No ice bucket in the room (in July and 104F outside), aircon switched off when I arrived, and controlled at the discretion of the management centrally. Outdoor pool and surrounding area really dirty.

Places like these seem to think that because they advertise a 'free breakfast' (which of course it isn't because the cost is already included in your room rate), anything will do. The fact is the 'free breakfast' adds up to a pokey little corner of the entrance with a few stale muffins on display, lukewarm orange juice and coffee, and a choice of two high sugar cereals. That's it!

And before any member of management writes a review as an alleged guest, it's NOT a case of 'you get what you pay for' in this case. I paid over $90 for a night in a room worth $39 maximum. In fact I'm being too kind. You'd actually have to pay ME to stay here again!

As far as the attitude of the staff are concerned, there's a hell of a lot of work to be done in staff training. There are several $49-$99 a night hotel chains within 500 yards of this Days Inn. Trust me, NONE of them could be as bad as this place regarding ANY aspect of an overnight stay. Why the Days Inn brand allows it's name to be dragged down to this level, I have no idea.

It's a sub-budget motel employing sub-standard staff in an unhygienic environment. Pay staff next-to-nothing and you'll get next-to-nothing in return, and neither will your guests!

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    56
    57
    33
    41
See reviews for
92
40
29
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anonymous
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I too stayed there for the Cal Ripken Baseball tournament while friends stayed at the Marriott . I must of been there the same week as the previous person that wrote the review below. With my corporate discount I really saved A LOT at the Days Inn. We ate breakfast at the nearby Bob Evans and McDonalds. You are a 3 min drive to the Cal Ripken Stadium. Rooms were clean, beds were very comfortable, air conditioner was nice and cold, shower pressure was 10 of 10. Fridge was great to have for cold drinks. Did not use the pool but friends that stayed there liked it. You will get a mixed crowd of people staying there from muscle shirt guys to baseball moms and dads with little kids. You are a minute drive from a big grocery store and many other hotels/restaurants are in that zone. The lobby was clean and basic (it is not overly impressive from the outside). The hallways and stairwell needs a facelift. The lady at the front desk was extremely helpful and professional. We asked for 2 beds non smoking and that is what we got. We had very early mornings and late nights so this was a well priced place to have a good sleep so don't expect luxury or you will be disappointed. I felt very safe there with my young son.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 647Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIRAN P, Manager at Days Inn Aberdeen, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days after checking out the the expensive and overpriced Marriott near Ripken Stadium. Basic but well-maintained and the pool was a great improvement over the Marriott's small overchlorinated petri dish.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIRAN P, Manager at Days Inn Aberdeen, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Ohio, NS
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

Nothing special but our room was clean and very reasonably priced.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIRAN P, Manager at Days Inn Aberdeen, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

ken p
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE! My wife and I stopped at this Days Inn on our way to ME from VA. We were too tired to continue on, but wish we had. Filthy rooms, dried "something" on the walls beside the bed, the bathroom sink was leaking all over the floor and the carpets were so dirty they were sticky and almost black. Desk attendant was disconnected and could of cared less. Save yourself the disgust and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Dirty, sullen desk person, ceiling in bath with big hole, outside full of cig butts..too tired to leave but we should have.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Falls, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I stayed here because everything else was sold out. The hotel is a little long in the tooth but appears to have been renovated within the last five years. I was a little worried this place would be a total dump, but it isn't. I would stay here again if I had to or the price was right. The rooms are clean and adequately sized. Bathrooms are average size (not tiny). The continental breakfast is free but they skimp on the basics. No fruit, no yogurt - just cereal, OJ, apple juice and coffee. Microwave and fridge in room - old TV.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbo247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Aberdeen
Red Roof Inn - Aberdeen
#4 of 16 in Aberdeen
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Aberdeen
Travelodge Hotel Aberdeen
#8 of 16 in Aberdeen
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Aberdeen
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen
2.2 mi away
Budget Inn of Aberdeen
Budget Inn of Aberdeen
#9 of 16 in Aberdeen
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Aberdeen

Property: Days Inn Aberdeen
Address: 783 W Bel Air Ave, I-95 & Route 22, Aberdeen, MD 21001-2297
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Aberdeen 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing