We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Failing grade!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Aberdeen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Failing grade!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Pros: We recently stayed here for 3 nights. The great room in the lobby was nice; had a few large tv's and plenty of room to sit to watch sporting events. There were quite a few good choices at the express breakfast and it was free! The hotel is close to many stores and restaurants, as well as the Ripken Stadium (approx. 5 minutes).
Cons: Indoor pool heater was broken and were told during entire duration of stay they were waiting for a part. Pool was freezing! This is unacceptable to have heater broken for at least 4 days! One morning at approx. 8am, yes 8am, we had two notes passed under our door stating they attempted to clean our room, but had a do not disturb sign on door and had to contact desk if we needed it cleaned. So we did that and came back to a dirty room. It ended up getting cleaned LATE in the afternoon after a 2nd request. The front desk people were generally very short with you. Overall, I give this hotel a failing grade and I would not recommend staying here. There are other big name hotels in close proximity...

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hockey0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... C, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hockey0808,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed utilizing our Great Room, as we have this area especially for our guests to socialize and enjoy each others company. Our Express Start breakfast is our brand's signature that begins every guests' day Heart Healthy!

We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. The pool heater did break the Monday prior to your group's arrival, and we did everything in our ability to get it up and running. Unfortunately, we were unable to do so prior to your departure due to shipping complications. Regardless, we are sincerely sorry for this incident.

Our housekeeping staff starts at 8am during the week. When they approach a room that has a "Do Not Disturb Sign" the housekeeper is required to leave a note. We apologize that your room was not cleaned until later, as we do try to clean our rooms in a timely manner, ensuring a thorough cleaning.

We are currently working with our front desk staff and addressing the issue that you have mentioned in regards to attitude towards the guests. We want our team to make our guests feel that they are at their home, away from home.

We do hope that you continue to stay at hotels within our IHG family, and give our property the chance to redeem itself from this stay.

Thank You,
ABDCH Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    49
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
35
13
2
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Islip, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed for a baseball tournament, and would NEVER go back. Room was gross, bathroom was worse. The bathroom had hair everywhere, counter and the floor. Blood on the sheet that covered the comforter. There was soda or coffee spilled down the wall behind and under the desk (pretty sure it's still there!) My 3 yr old found old raisins?? under the chair. The one positive was that the people that stayed before us forgot to take their Spider-man ball and my boys had fun playing with that, (which we found in the room). The heater in the pool was not working, pool was freezing. Other families had some of the same issues. If the baseball team wasn't staying there, we would NOT have been either!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 4sandy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... C, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
4Sandy2014,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our property I would like to extend my apologies to you, and anyone else on your team that endured inconveniences while staying with us. The aforementioned complaints have been addressed with the managers of each department. We hope that for future stays you continue to choose stay within the IHG family, as we strive to be "Great Hotels Guests Love." Though we fell below your expectations, and our standards, over this visit, I assure you that we are following procedure to eliminate these incidents for the future,

Thank you again for your feedback, and choosing our hotel during your Ripken Experience.

ABDCH Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Front desk staff friendly and helpful. Was in town a week for business at APG so this hotel is very close to APG, stores, and restaurants. Room had microwave and small refrigerator and was clean and roomy, but furniture could use an update. Bed was comfortable with nice fluffy pillows. Bathroom was clean with good towels and toiletries. Breakfast was included and food was plentiful with a good variety.

Room Tip: Nonsmoking mixed with smoking rooms on third floor so I could smell strong smoke odor in hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Ladybug12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... C, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
12Ladybug12,

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback on our property. We are happy to hear that the facility was accommodating and convenient for you. Your suggestion to update the furniture is valuable, as we are always considering ways to make our hotel most best in our guests' opinion. We hope that you choose to stay with us when traveling in the area.

Thank You,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Large hotel 15 minutes from APG and close to restaurants and stores. Best breakfast that I've had in the low cost / budget hotels close to the base, and it's included in the room rate. Good, clean room, with a great bed and pillows and a small but decent gym that I used while there. The guest laundry consists of one washer and one dryer, coin operated. Watch for a deal on IHG point breaks on this hotel: I stayed here several times and paid 5,000 points per night. Normally this is a 15,000 points per night property, not sure if here was a special in January and February 2014.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RiverCityMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... C, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
RiverCityMan,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member, and your loyalty to our property. We take pride in our property and love to hear that our guests do as well. Stay tuned, as we will be rolling out IHG's new Heart Healthy breakfast option within the next couple of months. We look forward to your feedback in regards to the new items that will be served.

Thank you,
Amanda Ordos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

this was the only hotel that came within the Per Diem that my company allows, So I stayed in it for a one night while attending a meeting at APG.
I used to stay at the Clarion but it seems that the ratings for that hotel went down recently.
Well, this hotel had all the things a business traveler cares about.
cheerful staff, clean and nice rooms, decent wireless internet and good breakfast.
it definitely went up on the list of Hotels near APG.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaeemrk47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... C, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Zaeemrk47,

Thank you for your review and compliments to our property. We strive to be a Great Hotel that Guests love and are happy to hear that we met that expectation for you. We hope to be able to have the opportunity to accommodate you again.

Thank you,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have stayed here twice now and both times have been pleasant experiences. Rooms are generally clean complete with microwave and refrigerator. Gym is above average in size (has two treadmills, a bike and an elliptical) The only bad thing was the internet speed but apparently they are now upgrading. Overall-good experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... C, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Steve P,

Thank you for your recent review on our property. We are happy that you were pleased with the accommodations and amenities our hotel offers, and that you are a repeat guest. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while accessing our complimentary Wi-Fi, but we are currently addressing this issue and hope to have our upgrade completed before your next stay.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Thank you,

HI Express Chesapeake House Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

It was a chilly week in Aberdeen, but the room was warm and so was the breakfast. The staff was very nice and had a sense of humor. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The lobby was nice and always clean. The only downfall, for the price, is the carpet is starting to wear. I'd stay there again. Last, you could walk to several restaurants, which after a long day of work is a nice convenience. The workout area was clean and all of the equipment worked.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the hotel's front away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... C, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Rick H,

Thank you for your review of our property. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and found the amenities to be of your convenience. We appreciate your suggestion in regards to the carpet. We are always considering options to improve or upgrade our hotel. We hope that you choose to stay with our property or one within our IHG family next time you are traveling.

Thank You,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Aberdeen
29 reviews
2.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Aberdeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Aberdeen
Red Roof Inn - Aberdeen
#5 of 16 in Aberdeen
205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Aberdeen at Ripken Stadium
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Aberdeen
Travelodge Hotel Aberdeen
#8 of 16 in Aberdeen
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House

Property: Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House
Address: 1007 Beards Hill Rd, Aberdeen, MD 21001-2255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen-Chesapeake House is centrally located in the city of Aberdeen, MD, 1/4 mile off I-95. Just minutes away from Aberdeen Proving Grounds, the Heat Center, Cal Ripken Stadium, and Bulle Rock Golf Course. We are just 30 miles north of downtown Baltimore, the Inner Harbor, National Aquarium, Orioles Park at Camden Yards, and M & T Bank Stadium. We are a non-smoking property which offers a year-round heated indoor salt water pool, an outdoor patio, 24hr kids game room, a fitness room, and a hot complimentary breakfast buffet. Guests also enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, 50+ cable channels including HBO and ESPN. We are a government friendly hotel and offer dedicated Wi-Fi along with hardwired high-speed Internet use for increased security. We started 2016 off with a complete renovation and now participate in the new Green Engage program so we have a fresh, up-to-date look in a comfortable setting to accommodate our guests. The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen-Chesapeake House staff takes pride in producing a friendly and pleasant environment and we'd love to host your next visit to Aberdeen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing