We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed March 1, 2014

It was a chilly week in Aberdeen, but the room was warm and so was the breakfast. The staff was very nice and had a sense of humor. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The lobby was nice and always clean. The only downfall, for the price, is the carpet is starting to wear. I'd stay there again. Last, you could walk to several restaurants, which after a long day of work is a nice convenience. The workout area was clean and all of the equipment worked.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the hotel's front away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... C, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Rick H,

Thank you for your review of our property. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and found the amenities to be of your convenience. We appreciate your suggestion in regards to the carpet. We are always considering options to improve or upgrade our hotel. We hope that you choose to stay with our property or one within our IHG family next time you are traveling.

Thank You,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 121 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

Just wanted to write about the outstanding service rendered by Lynn and the Holiday Inn staff during my week long visit.

The Receptionist (Lynn) provided a welcoming atmosphere to including free gift certificates to one of the local restaurant.

Clean room on a daily basis and the breakfast was superb... Thank again for the warm reception and I will definitely return again.

Although the pool was out of order, it was cool because I was busy anyway...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I probably won’t be back to this hotel for several reasons.

My room was mysteriously downgraded at check-in time. The receptionist was bound and determined to put me in a regular king room because of maintenance on the executive floor.

Sounds fishy but I reluctantly agreed.

Although the room was fairly clean, the towels are getting pretty old and thread-bare.

The windows are sealed so opening them to cool off the room was impossible.

Omelets were served only once in two weeks and the (powdered) scrambled eggs were always overcooked.

37 or 42 inch flatscreen TVs but only standard definition TV signal.

Now the biggest issues:

- Exceptionally poor internet access.
- Unreliable network.
- Neglected to inform me that they change the logon password every Monday morning,

Room Tip: There is a Hilton Garden Inn across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Work2Roam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Todd_9999,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the over-all experience you had during your stay. It is regrettable that fell below your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Think a little Alice in Wonderland when you walk in here. Corporate Holiday Inn must have slipped down the rabbit hole if it chose the color schemes and decoration. It looks as though someone made an attempt at renovating, while cutting costs by keeping too much old. The colors are outdated, much too dark, with the "typical granite" thrown around the place to make one think it is more updated. There is a hideous carved clock in the foyer that again does not make any sense to the decor and corporate image for Holiday Inn. Is this a privately owned hotel that is only using the name and has made it's own decorative choices?
The cleaning staff were not courteous to the clients that could be sleeping in on a Sunday morning. They were having loud conversations with many rooms in between them,, and their voices easily carried into the rooms @ 9am. Very inconsiderate.
The bed linens were rough (fitted sheet) and the pillows much too fat. No other choices for pillows were available in the rooms.
The bathroom towels were VERY nice! The best thing I can report about the hotel.
We will not return as a Hilton Garden is across the street and we would rather try them next.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summerlanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We came in on Friday as a group (10 families with boys ages 11-12) for a weekend tournament at the Ripken Stadium. As our first group event, we called and got a great rate. The hotel was clean and had plenty of room. Our group was all placed on the same floor for convenience. Amanda, the group sales manager, was fantastic. Very professional, very prompt at returning emails and went out of her way to make sure we had a private meeting room for our first night upon my request and all our needs were taken care of without a problem. It was very refreshing to receive that kind of service from her and her staff. She handled making sure our food arrived the first night delivered from the Olive Tree across the street to our Ripken vouchers being taken care of. It all went very smoothly and she was GREAT!!!! We loved the hotel, the pool and it was 5 minutes from Ripken Stadium, the breakfast was fine for a bunch of baseball boys and their families. It was great for our group event. I, recommend this hotel. It worked out fantastic for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Wedding reception held @ Ripken Stadium. Since it was to end late, we decided to spend the night and chose Holiday Inn. So glad we die. Room was oversized, bed very comfortable. And the breakfast that was included was delicious! Definitely recommend the hotel to stay at when in the Aberdeen area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Conveniently located to many restaurants and shopping centers, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was also good with biscuits and gravy, as well as eggs and sausage or bacon.

They had me at the end of the hall and the internet was weak (2 bars) and therefore slow.

My desk chair would sink down if I reclined which was frustrating.

All things considered (including price) I will definitely stay again if in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 282Mikado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Aberdeen
39 reviews
2.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Aberdeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Aberdeen-APG
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Aberdeen at Ripken Stadium
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Aberdeen at Ripken Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House

Address: 1007 Beards Hill Rd, Aberdeen, MD 21001-2255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range: $121 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen-Chesapeake House is centrally located in the city of Aberdeen, MD, 1/4 mile off I-95. Just minutes away from Aberdeen Proving Grounds, the Heat Center, Cal Ripken Stadium, and Bulle Rock Golf Course. We are just 30 miles north of downtown Baltimore, the Inner Harbor, National Aquarium, Orioles Park at Camden Yards, and M & T Bank Stadium. We are a non-smoking property which offers a year-round heated indoor salt water pool, an outdoor patio, 24hr kids game room, a fitness room, and a hot complimentary breakfast buffet. Guests also enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, 50+ cable channels including HBO and ESPN. We are a government friendly hotel and offer dedicated Wi-Fi along with hardwired high-speed Internet use for increased security. We started 2016 off with a complete renovation and now participate in the new Green Engage program so we have a fresh, up-to-date look in a comfortable setting to accommodate our guests. The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen-Chesapeake House staff takes pride in producing a friendly and pleasant environment and we'd love to host your next visit to Aberdeen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing