We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel overall, free internet was slow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Aberdeen
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
159 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great hotel overall, free internet was slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This Holiday Inn was a really nice one. I was travelling and had to adhere to per diem rates. The room was clean, fairly quiet, and pretty comfortable. It had a microwave and fridge too, but I didn't use them. The hotel has several good bars and restaurants within walking distance, so that was a plus. A baseball team of 8-12 year old boys arrived on my floor, and they were quite loud until around 10 pm, but I was awake and didn't really care. Breakfast was typical: biscuits and gravy, eggs, bacon, yogurt. Nothing special there, but nothing horrifying either.

The only really bad thing about the hotel: The free Wifi was so painfully slow. It was as if they were sharing a dial-up connection between everyone in the hotel. Other than this one flaw, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kukrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    48
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
35
13
2
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent 3 days here. The hotel is 5 minutes from the Cal Ripken Stadium. They hotel has a very nice breakfast. We were able to get up have a nice breakfast and spend the day playing baseball. All the kids loved the pool. The pool is where we spent our evenings.There is a lot of good restaurants in walking distance. The staff at this hotel was class act. Everyone was very nice. If you are going to a Cal Ripken Tournament this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b16wheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barto, pa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Check in was efficient. The room was clean. Standard two double beds. Would rather have queens. The beds were comfortable, but the comforter way too thin. We did not use the pool, but others said it was nice. No Jacuzzi which was a bummer.
I was worried about the breakfast, but was pleasantly surprised. Plenty to choose from. Hot and cold items and some really yummy hot cinnamon buns. For those who complain about the breakfast, I am not sure what else you could ask for.
For all the kids that were in the hotel, we were not bothered by noise.
My dissatisfaction would come when I asked for a late check out. My husband was ill and could not really leave the room. I asked for a late check out and was told I would be charged an additional fee. I asked for 2:00 rather than 12:00 and was told we would have to leave by 1:00. The hotel was packed and I see not reason why they could not have cleaned our room last and let him stay until 2:00. I was told they had 50 people checking in on a Sunday. Yeah right. At 1:00 my husband sat in the lobby (terribly ill) to wait for me to come back and stated lots of people didn't even check out until after 1:00 anyway. Being a priority rewards member I would think they could have been a bit more flexible and understanding with the situation we were in.
Anyway, I would still recommend this hotel, but there are a few other choices in the area. I would actually check the reviews on them before booking here again just because I felt they could have been a little more flexible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneybonvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Older hotel that has been renovated. Had they spent a tad more money they could have gotten the result they probably expected. The bigger issue is they still allow smoking in some rooms and our whole floor smelled like smoke. Our room did not have a noticeable smell but hallways did. Sink drain stopper was stuck down, the light switch on the bathroom would work intermittently. Pool is large, but poorly lit. Staff was very helpful and friendly. I used my Holiday inn Express app to find it based on rate, but the clerk said he couldn't offer that rate, I had to book online. 15sec later I did that and had the lower rate. Seems like a corporate issue and not this locations issue.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoojs12840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Hoojs12840,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the smell of smoke in the hallway, the drain stopper and the pool lighting. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stopped into this hotel on our way from NY to Florida, unexpectedly. One of our children got sick in the car and we pulled off at the nearest exit on I-95 and this is the hotel we found. Great place. It was midnight and the front desk clerk was happy to check us in without a reservation and also was very understanding of our circumstances, and did whatever he could to help us out. I was thankful for their laundry facility as I had a lot of things that needed washing with a sick 5 year old. Our nights sleep was quiet, and much needed. The room was spacious and clean. We also appreciated the included breakfast in the morning. Good experience overall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Traveled here for a week long meeting at Aberdeen Proving Ground. Hotel had been renovated and was decent but nothing exceptional.

Quietness: Very good. Minimal noise, didn't hear toilets flushing in the middle of the night.

Internet connectivity: Awful. Download speeds never exceeded 512k during the week. Can't stream netflix or download videos. Was not pleased.

Food: The typical, standard offering. Eggs, protein, pancake machine (those freak me out for some reason. Press a button and get a pancake. Awkward.) No extra fruit other than apples and often were out of peanut butter in the morning. No evening meal for business travelers either. In short, met the bare minimum standard.

Staff: Excellent. Always helpful and kind. Had welcome bags with popcorn and chips for Priority members at check-in.

Bed: Reasonably firm. Not awesome like the Hampton Inn beds but wasn't bad. Slept decently that week.

Bathroom: Smelled a bit funny. Hot water wasn't predictable - would change temps on you randomly. Not something normal in most hotels these days.

Room: Spacious. Had a chair and ottoman and a desk.

Temperature control: Typical AC blower with dials. Hard to keep the temperature steady but if you keep it cool, sleep in socks and something warm.. will be fine.

Location: Excellent. Parking lot is shared with the Greene Turtle Sports Bar. Has a gluten free menu, good beer offering and standard fare food. Non-smoking environment with lots of TVs. Also in walking distance to the Olive Tree restaurant. Time to CECOM was around 20 minutes with minimal traffic other than at the gate.

One other thing to note - hotel was mixed smoking and non-smoking rooms. I didn't have an issue with it but it's something to be aware of.

In short, I would stay here again if I needed to but wouldn't search it out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Adrenna,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We value your feedback as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for a 5k race we were participating in a few miles away. Was a nice alternative to a few of the other hotels in the area and they gave us a late checkout when asked - which was very helpful. Room was clean - overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrzgrl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdeen
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
2.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Aberdeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Aberdeen
Red Roof Inn - Aberdeen
#5 of 16 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Aberdeen at Ripken Stadium
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bel Air East at I-95 Riverside (Aberdeen)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House

Property: Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House
Address: 1007 Beards Hill Rd, Aberdeen, MD 21001-2255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen-Chesapeake House is centrally located in the city of Aberdeen, MD, 1/4 mile off I-95. Just minutes away from Aberdeen Proving Grounds, the Heat Center, Cal Ripken Stadium, and Bulle Rock Golf Course. We are just 30 miles north of downtown Baltimore, the Inner Harbor, National Aquarium, Orioles Park at Camden Yards, and M & T Bank Stadium. We are a non-smoking property which offers a year-round heated indoor salt water pool, an outdoor patio, 24hr kids game room, a fitness room, and a hot complimentary breakfast buffet. Guests also enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, 50+ cable channels including HBO and ESPN. We are a government friendly hotel and offer dedicated Wi-Fi along with hardwired high-speed Internet use for increased security. We started 2016 off with a complete renovation and now participate in the new Green Engage program so we have a fresh, up-to-date look in a comfortable setting to accommodate our guests. The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen-Chesapeake House staff takes pride in producing a friendly and pleasant environment and we'd love to host your next visit to Aberdeen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing