We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much nicer than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Aberdeen at Ripken Stadium
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Its always a pleasant surprise when the hotel you arrive at is far nicer than indicated in the pictures - and this was the case here. All of the pictures I saw online made it look a bit dated and frumpy, but I was happy to arrive to a very modern (recently renovated?) room that was very clean and very comfortable. I think they may have had a memory foam mattress in the room and I got a great night's sleep. The location was great for my purpose-- I needed a place to rest my head halfway up 95. The hotel is right off 95 and adjacent to this baseball park. The hotel has a tasteful baseball theme. I have no idea who stays here if not for one of these reasons- not much around. Also liked that wifi was simple & free (none of this fumbling with a code that you have to reregister every hour). Only downside is that I arrived really late (after hours) and distance from parking lot to entrance seemed substantial when traveling alone. Otherwise highly recommend for comfort and courteous staff. Breakfast looked good from afar, but I think they were charging about $12- stop at the Waffle House a few exits up.

Room Tip: Keep in mind this is next to a baseball park- if you aren't into kids & families & the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 135 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

Father-son road trip to a baseball tournament at the adjacent Cal Ripken complex. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of our room, the free ( and needed) coffee, and the patience of the staff in the presence of a couple hundred screaming pre-teen boys. If you're attending a tournament the convenience can't be beat. Room had a fridge.

Room Tip: You can request a room that overlooks the main Cal Ripken Sr field.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BookinIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We just stayed at the Courtyard for our son's baseball tournament. What a great experience! Staff was pleasant. Activities were planned for the whole weekend (some free/some cost associated...but nominal). The grounds and room were both clean. Staff was pleasant and helpful. The only "negative" was the hotel only had 1 extra pillow per room because it was booked to capacity--however, I can absolutely understand the limitation. (But plan accordingly.)

Originally, our familiy discussed staying at an off-site hotel, but if your child is playing in a tournament, I highly recommend staying on site....it just added to the ease and fun of the overall experience. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I recommend a room with a field view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poundog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Courtyard Marriott and Residence Inn Marriott are in the same building, just opposite ends of the building. This is probably one of the best places to stay in town. Aberdeen is a small town, so you can get around to anything easily. It goes without saying, but you must have a car, no public transportation.
The hotel itself was pretty good. The beds are comfortable, hvac works fine, and the bathrooms are clean and spacious. My biggest complaint is the wifi DOES NOT work. We have a wireless internet device from Verizon, and had to use it constantly, because the hotel system was just not working. This is a major problem unless you rely on your cellular data plan.
There's no free breakfast, it's about $15 for breakfast, but good. Fresh fruit, cereal and milk, omlette bar, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BParkerTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I spend around 75 nights a year in hotels and as a rule loath staying at Marriott properties because they are rarely well maintained and the staff is usually poorly trained. This property is an exception. It is clean and the staff is friendly and accommodating.

Watch outs:
The beds are less than comfortable (like most Courtyards)
The WiFi connection is awful.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyTravelTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went to play in the Cal Ripken World Series in August and we stayed for the first 6 days and we stayed here. The rooms were large and suited our needs 2 adults to a room. There was plenty of space and the beds were good and comfy. The breakfast was the usual thing, eggs, fruit cereal etc., just what you would expect. Even being close to Ripken Stadium is a good thing because you can check out the Ironbirds games by just walking across the street. It doesn't matter which side of the hotel you stay on, one side has great views of Ripken Stadium the other views of the Ripken complex and Cal Snr's yard.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I can summerize my experience with "ehhh".I had to check-in on a Friday evening for about a week. I knew I was probably not going to be happy when they didn't offer the government per diem rate for the week-end, even though they are located right outside a military base. The building is huge and sits right next to the Ripken Stadium - it is divided with one half a Residence Inn and the other the Courtyard Marriott. Right away I knew this wasn't your typical Courtyard when the elevator buttons were a mess - they looked like something from inside a heavily used subway station. The door that faces the parking lot was often broken and unable to be opened from outside. I found out why in the morning, there are little league tournaments going on all summer long. The place was just overwhelmed with kids and parents from these tournaments. So if you’re participating in these, you can’t beat the location, but if you’re in the Aberdeen area for business, forgetaboutit. The staff is just overwhelmed; these kids are running around essentially in a carnival type atmosphere. There just isn’t enough staff to keep up with the work load created by the tournament guests. The pool is in continuous use - with no life guard. Then they let people who are not a guest use the one business computer connected to a printer – one woman comes every day to work on a book she is writing – and when she isn’t on there the kids are on surfing the web. The poor bar tender essentially works alone as a waitress and a bar tender – sometimes leaving the bar unattended for up to 20 minutes. Then there was the furniture in the rooms – the desk chair was so dilapidated and uncomfortable I was shocked this place calls itself a Marriott. If you’re not associated with a youth baseball team stay away.

Room Tip: go one exit in either direction and pike another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0 mi away
Residence Inn Aberdeen at Ripken Stadium
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Aberdeen
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House
2.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Aberdeen
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Aberdeen
Red Roof Inn - Aberdeen
#5 of 16 in Aberdeen
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Aberdeen at Ripken Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Aberdeen at Ripken Stadium

Address: 830 Long Dr, Aberdeen, MD 21001-1132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range: $118 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Aberdeen at Ripken Stadium 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Aberdeen at Ripken Stadium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Aberdeen At Ripken Stadium Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Marriott
Aberdeen Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing