We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chesapeake Tournament”
Review of Ripken Stadium

Ripken Stadium
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
NY
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Chesapeake Tournament”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We've played at Cooperstown and this tourney was run very well. The fields are beautiful and they individually announce your player. We enjoyed it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank flr9003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    40
    8
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Minor League Park”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went to see the Aberdeen Ironbirds play the Tri City Valley Cats with a baseball goup last week. It was a good experience for all of us. The food was your usual ballpark stuff, hot dogs etc., We went on the field before the game and the atmosphere was really good. The stadium is really nice good sight lines and seating. I'm going back for the spectacle and check it out some time in the future.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Navek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great family experience”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We took my 5-year old niece here for her first ballgame. What a great choice! Every seat is close to the field. Lots of audience participation between innings, especially dancing with Ferrous, the mascot. The food is awesome -- can't beat the crab sandwich! I wish we lived closer so that we could visit this park more often. *VERY* family-friendly. Great outing for all of us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank olivenonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Go for the Crabs.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

It is a nice drive up 95. As you are driving up Long drive your GPS keeps calling it Gilbert you see a miniature Camden Yards. The stadium is really nice with the best crab pretzels. It also has a dinning place with low calorie options like watermelon slices, and vegetables. I really liked that, it wasn't the high fat meals you get at other stadiums.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NicoleH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great ballpark but annoying PA announcer”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

this was my 55th different minor league baseball stadium visit and this one is near the top of the list. i will break it down from good, bad, ugly.

good: it is by far the biggest rookie league stadium that i have ever been to. they had 6,300 fans the night i went while most of the rookie leagues don't get near 630 fans per night. kudos to the people of aberdeen for supporting the local team. stadium is beautiful with permanent seats instead of bleachers all over the park. the concession stand had a good tasting sandwiches at teh veggie stand which is good to see a different trend instead of the same old hot dogs, etc. also had a great fireworks show after the game.

bad: the PA guy must really love his voice. i don't believe he shut the whole night. i understand the in between innings contest but his "the ball has flown out the yard" after every foul ball that left the stadium got old fast. i guess i am getting older (45) so i don't need all the crazy loud music to go along with the PA guy talking. you have to wait until the game starts back up to carry on a conversation with friends or family that came to the ballpark with you. finally i wouldn't recommend sitting over the 1st base dugout unless you like looking at the mascots backside for 2-3 innings LOL.

ugly: the ticket prices and concession stands prices were high. while this may be rookie ball they charge AAA prices. tickets range from around 12-18 dollars.

Ripken stadium is a real nice park and now i am complete with visiting all the Maryland ballparks. treat yourself but bring $$.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank michaelvirginiabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripken Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Ripken Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing