We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark and Dreary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Civic Center
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over Labor Day weekend, when the hotel was completely booked. While there have been some renovations (e.g., the lobby looked refreshed; there was granite in the bathrooms), overall the hotel just seems really old.

There is one elevator, which was completely inadequate for the fully-booked hotel. Wait times were long, especially in the morning. The pool is in the basement, and while clean, there is paint peeling from the bottom and the steps. The towels were tiny and threadbare.

Overall, the whole hotel just seemed dark. Brown carpets and orange walls don't help, and I think that the lighting in general (both in the rooms and in the public areas) really needs to be addressed as it was just depressing.

We stopped into the breakfast room, which is a retro-fitted conference room with no windows. Everything looked clean and acceptable, but there was no seating available (again, full house), so we decided to go out for breakfast.

The staff were all quite pleasant; however, at checkout there was a sign stating that the staff person had stepped away. After waiting more than 5 minutes, I just left my room keys on the desk.

On the plus side, I felt that everything was clean just not on par with other chain hotels in the area. I could see the Fairfield Marriott across the street and I was regretting my choice.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank trinchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica H, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you were pleased with the cleanliness of our hotel. We are planning some exciting updates we think you'll enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Civic Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 304 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed one week nice room and comfy over all. How ever the rude manager darci was rude and short with customers. She actually end rolled her eyes to a old lady on front of me on a simple question. How ever the nice lady named Sara who works nights was very wonderful to talk to. She was pleasant to all and welcomed everyone I see come in contact with her. Sara should be the manager not darci. Darci is bad for business And I dunno how she has that job let alone any job where you deal with people. Thank god they got Sara and nice clean rooms. Overall awesome stay except for darci and I might take business else where across street so I don't have to deal with her again (darci)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny910703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica H, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

I would like to apologize for you not feeling service was anything but wonderful. We all work very hard to please each and every guest, everyday. We hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice during our trip. We found it to be clean and the staff was helpful and courteous. The breakfast was good and the attendants were efficient and pleasant. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Good location, close to civic center and local eateries if you choose to travel the horrible streets of Augusta (very sorry condition for a state capitol).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica H, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Comfort Inn. Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

we would like to thank Sara Long for her above and beyond helpfullness. My mother needs insulin every night but forgot her syringes at home. Sara called several pharmacy's and hospitals until she found a rite aid that would sell her a syringe. The pharmacy stayed open until we got there. we cannot express our gratitude enough for all that you have thanks again Sara..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica H, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you! Sara is wonderful and enjoys helping our guests as much as possible. All of our staff prides themselves on great customer service. We hope to have you as our guest again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our room was a decent size with a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and table with 2 chairs and an extra chair in the corner for sitting/reading. There was plenty of counter space in bathroom for make up, etc. The beds were very, very comfortable. We stayed 2 nights. In the morning the shower was luke warm. The next day it was fine, but our room was not made up or cleaned. The breakfast was not bad - waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal, yogurt, boiled eggs, and the usual carbs. The hotel itself was basic but clean and in a good location for our purpose.

Room Tip: Our room faced the parking lot, not a lot of choices.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica H, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am pleased to here you enjoyed our very comfy beds! Our location is great, with close by shopping and restauraunts and easy access to I-95. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This review is for a family overnight stop en-route up I-95.

The headline says it all. We slept OK and the breakfast was OK, but some of the overall hotel qualities which should be higher in a hotel of this chain were very poor. I will not stay here again if I can avoid it.

A lot of paint has been used on improving the interior of this hotel in the recent past. Unfortunately when you go to the public facilities like the pool you experience the old nature of this hotel, and it did make me cringe seeing the domestic hot on a moldy wooden plinth sat in the corner of the pool area. Damp smells in bedrooms and corridors are another turn off, and just make me want to get out as quick as I can.

Considering the cost of rooms here the overall standard of the hotel should be a lot better, plain and simple.

Location is good for the I-95 and there is no noise from the highway. The staff were friendly and helpful, but these points don't overcome the general issues.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pzfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica H, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and are working hard to improve every aspect of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

After visiting the New York State House in Albany and the Vermont Capitol in Montpelier, I arrived in Augusta, Maine on August 12, 2012 to visit the Maine State House. The Comfort Inn Civic Center was a clean hotel. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean. I would recommend this location to you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica H, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! We hope to have you as our guest again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#2 of 9 in Augusta
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Augusta
17.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Civic Center

Address: 281 Civic Center Dr, Augusta, ME 04330-8033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Augusta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Augusta
#4 Green Hotel in Augusta
#5 Business Hotel in Augusta
Price Range: $90 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Civic Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn(R) Civic Center is conveniently located adjacent to Interstate 95, less than a mile from the Augusta Civic Center & the Marketplace in Augusta. Summertime in Maine is the perfect time to enjoy the outdoors! Whether it's hiking, biking, rafting or just enjoying the outdoors you are sure to find it all in our area! Want to check out some Maine lakes? There are plenty of lakes and ponds nearby with opportunities for boating, fishing, swimming, or even charter fishing! The Belgrade Lakes region is just a short drive away and it is alive with fun activities for all during the summer months. In the mood for some golf? Premier golf courses are just a short drive away including Belgrade Lakes Golf Club and the Augusta Country Club. In town to visit one of the local summer camps? Camp Laurel, Camp Androscoggin, Camp Cobbossee and more are all located closeby!Located just minutes from the University of Maine Augusta, Maine State Museum, the Children's Discovery Museum, the State Capitol and the Maine State House; this hotel is a convenient choice for all travelers. The University of Maine at Augusta has beautiful walking trails that make being active easy! Capitol Park is also located a few miles down the road as well as the Viles Arboretum which boasts nature trails and educational programs for children! Enjoy our FREE Hot Breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and a choice of hot waffle flavors! Visit our ONSITE restaurant, The Ninety Nine Restaurant & Pub offering a wide variety of menu items for lunch and dinner!Our spacious guest rooms feature microwaves & fridges, LCD Flat Screen TV's, free local calls, free USA Today newspaper & free parking. Our indoor pool, hot tub & exercise room are the perfect way to start or end your day.Come visit our pet-friendly hotel today, enjoy our cozy rooms and let our friendly staff treat you in top-notch style when visiting the Augusta area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Civic Hotel Augusta
Comfort Inn Augusta
Augusta Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Civic Center Augusta, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing