We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Civic Center
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff and service”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the recommendation of a family menber while we were attending a family renunion. The staff was very welcoming, the room was nicely decorated, and the entire hotel was very clean. We enjoyed our stay here and recommend it. We had an emergency during our stay and the hotel staff was exceptional in assisting us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3seals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Civic Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed the accomodations, and that our staff was able to assist you with all of your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    94
    41
    13
    13
See reviews for
111
77
15
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The young lady who checked us in was very efficient. Our room was nice and had everything we needed. It was a pleasant experience.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ArtNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Civic Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. I am glad that you had a pleasant experience at our hotel, and hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Augusta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed the twice over the last two years and I really like the place. This month, we arrived without reservation and we were greeted by this wonderful young woman, sorry forgot her name, who gave us the best welcoming service I've had in years. For her age, 20, she's definitely a sign of hope young people are not all impolite spoiled brats like we see much too often.

We had a problem with the AC and she switched us to another room and it was done with a smile. Cannot pass over the help from the man ( I think he was the maintenance man) who came with us to move our stuff to the other room. What a nice man. Those two really made our stay great.

Love the addition of Belgian waffles in the breakfast room. Just wish people would know how to use the machine. Some guest looked like they were faced with a machine from outer space.

This will be my stop from now on halfway to my destination.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yves2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Civic Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful review of our property and your experience with us. I am glad that our staff was able to assist you both at check in and with the issue with the air conditioner. We look forward to seeing you next time your travels bring you to Augusta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The friendly staff, clean/quiet room, comfortable bed, breakfast offerings, and convenient location are very enjoyable. Upon arrival, I was greeted by a most helpful and pleasant gal, Kali. She got me placed, as requested, on a ground floor room. I did have some trouble with the closet size and requested to move into the non-smoking ground floor accessible room if it was available. She happily showed me the room, but it was saturated with the smell of cigarette smoke, so I declined. She said there was a problem with the venting and people sometimes smoke just outside the window. She vowed to try and solve the closet problem and to check into other room options. True to her word, when I returned to the hotel the following afternoon, she advised that a maintenance technician would be able to move the bar further into the closet, which should allow me to close the door without pushing all the clothes in first. An employee named Joe did indeed make that repair and also tightened a loose handle on a dresser drawer. He kindly left me a note advising of the work he had completed. I was settling in that evening and had the window open to let in some fresh evening air. To my dismay, the room later filled with the smell of cigarette smoke. No one was standing outside the window given the uneven terrain, turbine equipment, and distance from the parking spaces or exits. I asked the front desk staff where the smoking rooms are located, they advised the 3rd floor of the opposite wing has the only smoking designated rooms. I can't imagine how the venting system would carry it into my room. They thought it might be possible that someone was smoking in a room designated as non-smoking. It is unsettling to receive the room cleaning fine information and feel that I could be held responsible for someone else's actions. Additionally, if I were travelling with my Mom, she would require the use of an accessible room and would have suffered from trying to use a room that would not be at all compatible for someone with a COPD illness. It is my experience that a non-smoking room in a hotel that also has smoking rooms, may not actually be smoke-free. Last night was so warm that I didn't want to have the window open and did not have any further problems. My visit has otherwise been very enjoyable. However, I will try to find smoke-free lodging when I return to Augusta again. The hotel manager said they are considering renovations this Fall with a goal to offer smoke-free lodging in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back have a view of green vegetation and trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MtnSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Civic Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of our hotel. I apologize that there was a smell of cigarette smoke in your room. Although we do our best to avoid it, being a partially smoking hotel this is something that unfortunately happens on occasion. I am glad that the issue with your closet was quickly remedied by our housekeeping department, and that the rest of your stay was enjoyable. I hope you will consider staying with us again on your next trip to Augusta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel many times within the past few years, however, I noticed on this visit that the quality of the hotel has declined. There appeared to be new grouting in the bathroom, but it was poorly done and left a hole in the corner of the tub and floor; there was a hole in the side of the couch; the pool area needs a facelift and there were missing knobs on the dressers. This is a partially smoke-free hotel - the smoke smell usually doesn't make it's way to the non-smoking rooms (if it did I would refuse to stay there), but one evening our room seemed to fill up with the smell of cigarettes. In addition, the doors are loud and noise carries easily through the hallways and into the rooms. Overall, I think the hotel just needs some work to update it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Civic Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and found the accommodations unsatisfactory. We value this feedback and look through these reviews thoroughly in order to find out what areas we can improve on. We will use this information moving forward to make our hotel better. I hope that the rest of your visit to Augusta was enjoyable, and we look forward to hopefully making your next stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

2nd time there for business and no problems. Rooms were clean, beds a bit soft and staff were very nice. I like the fact that I can open the window to let fresh air in. Breakfast was decent and the dining area was kept very clean and well stocked. 99 Restaurant located in the parking lot and an Irving gas station/store with an Amato's right across the street. 24 hour free coffee, tea and hot chocolate available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back so you can open your window and enjoy the forest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hopsing-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica H, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Civic Center, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for writing such a great review, the positive feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad you have enjoyed your stays here and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I stayed at the Comfort Inn purely by accident ( I was tired from driving and thought it was the Quality Inn - got off on the wrong exit) Thankfully I did. I am very impressed with the fast friendly service from the front desk. The clean room and hot free breakfast. The pool and Hot tub were very relaxing and you could tell you came 1st at this hotel. I needed a bed on wheels and the head housekeeper guy stopped what he was doing and assisted me and my family right away. He also recommended some budget places to eat and a great place to take the kiddos We went to an animal sanctuary about 15 - 20 minutes away he was right on with outings to do and good places to eat and directions you could tell he knew what he was talking about. Am very impressed and grateful I took the wrong exit and landed at your hotel. I will definitely. be back and can not wait for our next adventure

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica H, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Civic Center, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a generous and thorough review. We are glad you were wowed by our staff and amenities, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Augusta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn
2.4 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
791 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#2 of 9 in Augusta
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Augusta
17.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Civic Center

Property: Comfort Inn Civic Center
Address: 281 Civic Center Dr, Augusta, ME 04330-8033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Augusta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Augusta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Augusta
#5 Business Hotel in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Civic Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn(R) Civic Center is conveniently located adjacent to Interstate 95, less than a mile from the Augusta Civic Center & the Marketplace in Augusta. Summertime in Maine is the perfect time to enjoy the outdoors! Whether it's hiking, biking, rafting or just enjoying the outdoors you are sure to find it all in our area! Want to check out some Maine lakes? There are plenty of lakes and ponds nearby with opportunities for boating, fishing, swimming, or even charter fishing! The Belgrade Lakes region is just a short drive away and it is alive with fun activities for all during the summer months. In the mood for some golf? Premier golf courses are just a short drive away including Belgrade Lakes Golf Club and the Augusta Country Club. In town to visit one of the local summer camps? Camp Laurel, Camp Androscoggin, Camp Cobbossee and more are all located closeby!Located just minutes from the University of Maine Augusta, Maine State Museum, the Children's Discovery Museum, the State Capitol and the Maine State House; this hotel is a convenient choice for all travelers. The University of Maine at Augusta has beautiful walking trails that make being active easy! Capitol Park is also located a few miles down the road as well as the Viles Arboretum which boasts nature trails and educational programs for children! Enjoy our FREE Hot Breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and a choice of hot waffle flavors! Visit our ONSITE restaurant, The Ninety Nine Restaurant & Pub offering a wide variety of menu items for lunch and dinner!Our spacious guest rooms feature microwaves & fridges, LCD Flat Screen TV's, free local calls, free USA Today newspaper & free parking. Our indoor pool, hot tub & exercise room are the perfect way to start or end your day.Come visit our pet-friendly hotel today, enjoy our cozy rooms and let our friendly staff treat you in top-notch style when visiting the Augusta area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Civic Hotel Augusta
Comfort Inn Augusta
Augusta Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Civic Center Augusta, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing