We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a treat!”

Cloud 9 Restaurant at the Senator Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 97 Restaurants in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed October 17, 2013

When we travel to Maine, we always dine at the Cloud 9 Restaurant, we wouldn't miss it! The staff has never failed to spoil us and anticipate our every need. We have always been delighted with our food choices and would highly recommend it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly G, Manager at Cloud 9 Restaurant at the Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments and observations. We look forward to seeing you again when you are in this area.
Regards,
Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
There are newer reviews for Cloud 9 Restaurant at the Senator Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 371 of 466 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel in the SPA suite because we wanted to get the in room massages as a couple. ( you only can request those if you have a suite apparently)
The room was nice, very clean and tastefully decorated although perhaps starting to get a little dated. The fireplace in the room was awesome we really enjoyed it. We overall liked the layout of the room and the amenities. We used the spa and the hot tub which was amazing. The big surprise here is that the pool and the hot tub is saltwater which is much better than the usual stinky pools with bleach. That was a big hit and the pool area is very relaxing and the decor is very nice as well.
We stayed for two days and had both breakfast and dinner at the 'Cloud 9 restaurant'. It was to say the least disappointing. The staff is attentive but the food was bland, uninspiring and we were left with a feeling of 'we could have cooked something much better ourselves at home.'' The claim this being a 'fine dining' is nothing more than that...a claim. We are frequently dining out and we travel a lot both in the U.S. and overseas and believe that nothing in our dishes that we ordered warranted any skills to make. Was the chef sick? Who cooked our meals?....The dishwasher?

We had two appetizers, raw oysters(only two) and the crab dip with their version of the pita bread. The crab dip was very good with large chunks of crab however the pita was so incredibly salty it scratched our throats while swallowing.
I had a fish dish with stuffed sole. It was tasting like it had been previously frozen and then just thrown into a microwave to warm up.The stuffing inside the sole was shrimp and scallop but they were still raw inside and rather cold. On top of the sole was some sort of cream sauce with tiny bits of lobster. The sauce was tasting only of cream. The green beans were only steamed and so was the brown rice that came with the dish. The whole dish was flavorless.

My husband ordered the filet mignon and swordfish dish. Everything on the dish was grilled except for the asparagus that was steamed and the mash potatoes that he said tasted like they came out of a box instead of real mash potatoes. We were very unsatisfied but did not want to aggravate the server that was doing a great job. After all it was not her that had cooked the dishes. We know that this for sure is not fine dining or fine cuisine.

We ordered dessert from their beautiful dessert case. Again the desserts tasted like they were mass produced and not produced with love in house. If they are produced in house we suspect they use industrial cake mix instead of producing them from scratch with real ingredients. Again, what a disappointment especially seeing that our below average dinner costed us 110.00$ excluding tip. We don't mind spending money if the food is great but here it was not.

If they want to claim fine dining status they better step up the game at a serious level here at the restaurant Cloud nine. Thumbs down. :(

2  Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly G, Manager at Cloud 9 Restaurant at the Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

I am so very sorry that you were unhappy with your meal. It is our policy that no guest leaves unhappy and had I known I would have done my very best to make this the dining experience that we are so well known for. We pride ourselves in providing the best possible food quality and guest service. Please allow us another chance to show you the "Senator Experience".
Regards,
Holly Gessner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Bartender and server Doug is always thoughtful friendly and knowledgeable. Last August I indulged in both seafood and steak for dinner. The appetizer and entre were both prepared to perfection. Mixology of spirits skillfully handled by Doug and a beautiful and delicious dessert topped off another fine dinner.
Cloud 9 is also the scene of breakfast service for Senator Inn guests as well as outside customers. Cold or full breakfast buffet self service is available, or one may order from a breakfast menu. The offerings are excellent and so is the early morning service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly G, Manager at Cloud 9 Restaurant at the Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Doug is the best! He has been with us for many years now and our guests love him.
I love breakfast! I am definitely a breakfast person and our breakfast here at the Senator is top notch. I'm very glad that you think so too.
Thank you very much for your review. :)
Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The food was fantastic and the service was exceptional. It was a huge step above most hotel restaurants. I would recommend it even to those not staying at the hotel.

Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly G, Manager at Cloud 9 Restaurant at the Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you so very much for your very kind review. We greatly appreciate it!
Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were seated promptly and our order for drinks taken right off but there was a very long wait before our waitress came back to take our order. The food was excellent and the desserts were delicious. We have been here a few times for Sunday brunch and highly recommend it. We will have no problem going back some day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hacheta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly G, Manager at Cloud 9 Restaurant at the Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate it. I want to apologize for your having to wait to have your order taken but am very glad to see that you enjoyed your meal and the delicious desserts! Did you try the Mini Desserts? Just the right size after a good meal. :)
Hope to see you again soon!
Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cloud 9 Restaurant at the Senator Inn & Spa also viewed

 

Been to Cloud 9 Restaurant at the Senator Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing