We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I thought....”
Review of Senator Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Senator Inn & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Augusta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in Augusta several times over the past few months. I've seen pictures of the Senator and have driven by several times. I decided to give it a try. The rate was incredible.... It was too good to be true. I was upgraded to a Presidential Suite. It looks like a Hampton Inn type room, not any bigger. The only difference is the Senators room was dingy, old and dirty. Not at all what I hoped for. It reminds me of a hotel you could rent by the hour. There were cigarette burns on the chair. The bathroom floor was chipped and dirty. The bottom of the tub was BLACK with dirt. I put a towel down when I took a shower. The toilet wasn't even bolted to the floor!!!!
Their spa packages may be nice, but I will never know. I will not return as a guest to the Senator.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Marke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 818 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

As a Maine State Legislator the Senator is my "home away from home". They make the time away from my regular home very comfortable. I can not say too many good things about the way they treat their customers! I would recommend the Senator for one night or, weeks and months.

Room Tip: The Spa rooms are well worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at the Senator Inn for a special evening and it was more then we could have expected. The room was absolutely beautiful, we stayed in a King Spa Suite. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner in the restaurant. We especially loved the fireplace and Jacuzzi tub we had in the room. It was one of the most beautiful evening we have had at a hotel. We will definitely be returning very soon.

Room Tip: King Spa Suite is roomy, comfortable and fireplace and Jacuzzi tub makes it worth the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We've stayed at the Senator for years and have always enjoyed the property! Our children especially enjoy the beautiful pool/spa area and the restaurant is always top-notch! We have normally stayed in one of the queen suites, which are very nice. This year we opted for a more budget conscious room and were a bit disappointed with the condition of the room. We were in one of the lower rooms which had not been updated in many years by the looks of it. The bathroom tile was yellow, sink cracked and the shower was erratic... not what we have experienced in the rest of the property, which has always been well maintained. I think they need to invest in making sure that all the rooms are up to snuff! We will continue to be loyal customers and overall were satisfied with our most recent stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room. The suites are especially nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Whenever I am in Augusta, Me which is about four times a year to visit family, I stay at the Senator Inn and Spa. The rooms are clean and affordable. It is worth it if you want a treat to stay in the suites as breakfast is free and the accommodations make you feel like royalty. The continental breakfast is terrific. The room staff and restaurant staff are very helpful and each time you go you will feel like you are at home.....My preference for Maine is the Senator Inn & Spa....Oh! Don't forget the pool and spa offerings.

Room Tip: I would try to stay in a suite if you have the opportunity. It is a little more money but very much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

It was delightful reading your review Lillian, Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stay at the Senator several times every year and you can always count on a clean, comfortable room. The bathroom in the room we stayed in was just upgraded (complete renovation with new tiled shower) and was very nice. The amenities at the Senator make it a great value for families.

Room Tip: Take a look at the website which shows room options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for sharing Patricia. We are working hard to have all of the bathrooms in the Congressional Wing completed by March!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We came up for an all girls weekend and everything was amazing. The indoor pool was gorgeous and our massages were incredible. We stayed in the upstairs rooms called the spa suites which were very comfortable for us. All of the staff were very friendly from checking in with the front desk, to the waitresses for the free breakfast the next morning.

The girls and I cannot wait to come back for another weekend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

It was a pleasure hosting your girls getaway! We hope to see you again soon Kate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#2 of 9 in Augusta
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
2.4 mi away
Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center
17.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterville
Hampton Inn Waterville
#1 of 6 in Waterville
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Inn & Spa

Address: 284 Western Ave, Route 202, Augusta, ME 04330-4934
Location: United States > Maine > Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Augusta
#3 Business Hotel in Augusta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Augusta
Price Range: $102 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Senator Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Inn And Spa
Senator Hotel Augusta
Best Western Senator Hotel
Best Western Augusta
Augusta Best Western
Senator Inn & Spa Augusta, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing