We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay..”
Review of Senator Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Senator Inn & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Augusta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Eliot, Maine, USA
1 review
“A nice place to stay..”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have stayed at the Senator Inn pretty much everytime I spend time in Augusta. The building itself is a little dated but other than that the rooms are always clean, staff friendly and the continental breakfast is generous.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lau A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
It is great to hear that your enjoy time with us in Augusta Lau A. Thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    217
    101
    53
    36
See reviews for
229
211
52
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at the Senator on our way to Acadia National Park. It was very convenient - just off I-95, Not much of interest near the hotel, but all we were looking for was a place to sleep. It was more than we expected - nice spa and pool, pleasant and reasonably priced dinner, comfortable room and good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zvi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

You can tell it is an older hotel (noticed a phone booth in the hallway... with no phone inside of it!) but it is in nice shape, even if you feel like you have been thrust back in time.

But that is kind of the way Maine is in most spots, and I enjoy that.

Our room was HUGE.

The spa was a lot of fun. I enjoyed the Sauna, but the steam room smelled like chlorine, and the swimming pool was a little too cold. Would have tried the hot tub, but little kids were using it.

The free breakfast was a nice plus, and the staff was very friendly.

I would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFandtheFlyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Senator before and have had very acceptable and even newer renovated rooms. This did not happen this trip. We were put in a King room on the ground floor with a door to the outside, and were the only "adults" in a hallway full of students on a tour of some sort.
We were there for a business conference for two nights. Why would you put any adults on that floor? Besides having to call the front desk twice at around 1-2am to ask them to have the party in the next room stopped. Neither of us could breathe in the room due to whatever air freshener had been sprayed in there weeks ago and along with whatever mold was probably growing on the slab floors and old carpet we had to go outside to get fresh air in the middle of the night! We both left the room for the day on Saturday and I (with asthma) was breathing easier until I came back to the room, which had not been cleaned. Called the front desk and was told cleaning staff had left for the day. WE left the room to get some air and had decided to ask for another room when we got back...fortunately the room had been cleaned and the carpets vacuumed. What a difference in the air quality!! we felt at that point instead of packing up all our belongings before a formal dinner that we could stay the second night.

Room Tip: DO NOT pick one of the ground floor rooms they are old and not kept up.
See more room tips
Green Features: Whatever is sprayed in rooms to keep them fresh is not healthy and becomes stale if you don't continually use the room
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1210GW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Inn rooms are fine. What keeps us returning are the excellent outdoor and indoor (indoor is salt water!) pools, the excellent massages at the spa, and the fine restaurant. Food is always good and the service is always with a smile.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bselver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing bselver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownfield, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Senator Hotel is beautiful! My room was lovely and clean. The pool is out of this world and the restaurant is outstanding! I stayed here on a business trip but plan on visiting again just for a fun get-away! Doo yourself a favor and try it out!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for recommending us Allison F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Maine, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The 2nd Floor King bed Suite is excellent. We celabrated an anniversary here and it was awesome. Loved the fireplace in the room and the cozy robes. The staff was very attentive and extremely friendly. I loved breakfast at Cloud 9. Very fresh and tasty food. Looking forward to returning here for other events. A great value for the price. I wish other hotel suites were that big and the staff were as friendly.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor Suites are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing Kristina D. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#2 of 9 in Augusta
450 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Augusta
2.4 mi away
Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Inn & Spa

Property: Senator Inn & Spa
Address: 284 Western Ave, Route 202, Augusta, ME 04330-4934
Location: United States > Maine > Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Augusta
#3 Business Hotel in Augusta
#4 Family Hotel in Augusta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Senator Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Inn And Spa
Senator Hotel Augusta
Best Western Senator Hotel
Best Western Augusta
Augusta Best Western
Senator Inn & Spa Augusta, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing