We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Senator Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Senator Inn & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
264 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

You can tell it is an older hotel (noticed a phone booth in the hallway... with no phone inside of it!) but it is in nice shape, even if you feel like you have been thrust back in time.

But that is kind of the way Maine is in most spots, and I enjoy that.

Our room was HUGE.

The spa was a lot of fun. I enjoyed the Sauna, but the steam room smelled like chlorine, and the swimming pool was a little too cold. Would have tried the hot tub, but little kids were using it.

The free breakfast was a nice plus, and the staff was very friendly.

I would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFandtheFlyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    210
    96
    52
    35
See reviews for
225
206
50
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Senator before and have had very acceptable and even newer renovated rooms. This did not happen this trip. We were put in a King room on the ground floor with a door to the outside, and were the only "adults" in a hallway full of students on a tour of some sort.
We were there for a business conference for two nights. Why would you put any adults on that floor? Besides having to call the front desk twice at around 1-2am to ask them to have the party in the next room stopped. Neither of us could breathe in the room due to whatever air freshener had been sprayed in there weeks ago and along with whatever mold was probably growing on the slab floors and old carpet we had to go outside to get fresh air in the middle of the night! We both left the room for the day on Saturday and I (with asthma) was breathing easier until I came back to the room, which had not been cleaned. Called the front desk and was told cleaning staff had left for the day. WE left the room to get some air and had decided to ask for another room when we got back...fortunately the room had been cleaned and the carpets vacuumed. What a difference in the air quality!! we felt at that point instead of packing up all our belongings before a formal dinner that we could stay the second night.

Room Tip: DO NOT pick one of the ground floor rooms they are old and not kept up.
See more room tips
Green Features: Whatever is sprayed in rooms to keep them fresh is not healthy and becomes stale if you don't continually use the room
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1210GW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Inn rooms are fine. What keeps us returning are the excellent outdoor and indoor (indoor is salt water!) pools, the excellent massages at the spa, and the fine restaurant. Food is always good and the service is always with a smile.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bselver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing bselver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownfield, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Senator Hotel is beautiful! My room was lovely and clean. The pool is out of this world and the restaurant is outstanding! I stayed here on a business trip but plan on visiting again just for a fun get-away! Doo yourself a favor and try it out!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for recommending us Allison F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Maine, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The 2nd Floor King bed Suite is excellent. We celabrated an anniversary here and it was awesome. Loved the fireplace in the room and the cozy robes. The staff was very attentive and extremely friendly. I loved breakfast at Cloud 9. Very fresh and tasty food. Looking forward to returning here for other events. A great value for the price. I wish other hotel suites were that big and the staff were as friendly.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor Suites are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing Kristina D. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel in the SPA suite because we wanted to get the in room massages as a couple. ( you only can request those if you have a suite apparently)
The room was nice, very clean and tastefully decorated although perhaps starting to get a little dated. The fireplace in the room was awesome we really enjoyed it. We overall liked the layout of the room and the amenities. We used the spa and the hot tub which was amazing. The big surprise here is that the pool and the hot tub is saltwater which is much better than the usual stinky pools with bleach. That was a big hit and the pool area is very relaxing and the decor is very nice as well.
We stayed for two days and had both breakfast and dinner at the 'Cloud 9 restaurant'. It was to say the least disappointing. The staff is attentive but the food was bland, uninspiring and we were left with a feeling of 'we could have cooked something much better ourselves at home.'' The claim this being a 'fine dining' is nothing more than that...a claim. We are frequently dining out and we travel a lot both in the U.S. and overseas and believe that nothing in our dishes that we ordered warranted any skills to make. Was the chef sick? Who cooked our meals?....The dishwasher?

We had two appetizers, raw oysters(only two) and the crab dip with their version of the pita bread. The crab dip was very good with large chunks of crab however the pita was so incredibly salty it scratched our throats while swallowing.
I had a fish dish with stuffed sole. It was tasting like it had been previously frozen and then just thrown into a microwave to warm up.The stuffing inside the sole was shrimp and scallop but they were still raw inside and rather cold. On top of the sole was some sort of cream sauce with tiny bits of lobster. The sauce was tasting only of cream. The green beans were only steamed and so was the brown rice that came with the dish. The whole dish was flavorless.

My husband ordered the filet mignon and swordfish dish. Everything on the dish was grilled except for the asparagus that was steamed and the mash potatoes that he said tasted like they came out of a box instead of real mash potatoes. We were very unsatisfied but did not want to aggravate the server that was doing a great job. After all it was not her that had cooked the dishes. We know that this for sure is not fine dining or fine cuisine.

We ordered dessert from their beautiful dessert case. Again the desserts tasted like they were mass produced and not produced with love in house. If they are produced in house we suspect they use industrial cake mix instead of producing them from scratch with real ingredients. Again, what a disappointment especially seeing that our below average dinner costed us 110.00$ excluding tip. We don't mind spending money if the food is great but here it was not.

If they want to claim fine dining status they better step up the game at a serious level here at the restaurant Cloud nine. Thumbs down. :(

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
I am so very sorry that you were unhappy with your meal. It is our policy that no guest leaves unhappy and had I known I would have done my very best to make this the dining experience that we are so well known for. We pride ourselves in providing the best possible food quality and guest service. Please allow us another chance to show you the "Senator Experience".

Regards,
Holly Gessner
Cloud 9 Restaurant Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

For the money, this was a nice place. Our room was small, but the nice complimentary breakfast more than made up for it. The room smelled a little funky, but the staff was nice and friendly. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing Christina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#2 of 9 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
2.4 mi away
Maple Hill Farm Inn
Maple Hill Farm Inn
#1 of 1 in Hallowell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Inn & Spa

Property: Senator Inn & Spa
Address: 284 Western Ave, Route 202, Augusta, ME 04330-4934
Location: United States > Maine > Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Augusta
#3 Business Hotel in Augusta
#4 Family Hotel in Augusta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senator Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Augusta
Senator Inn And Spa
Best Western Senator Hotel
Best Western Augusta
Augusta Best Western
Senator Inn & Spa Augusta, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing