We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Senator Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Senator Inn & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had no idea at first just how well this would turn out. Good room, good breakfast as well. Recommend it to anyone. I was also surprised at the staff preparing things such as fresh eggs for breakfast, among other things.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlawrence3814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    209
    95
    52
    35
See reviews for
224
206
50
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I serve in the Maine Legislature and the Senator Inn & Spa has been my home away from home. They are like family to all of us. Their employees are helpful and great. Every morning at breakfast, the staff remember our likes and dislikes and they see to our need. We joked that we felt that we didn't know how we were going to go back home because we wouldn't not have the people and the services that we received.

Room Tip: The Spa suites are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyceMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here on business having never been to Augusta. The staff were very nice. Dinner was excellent, had the lobster roll. The pub area is warm and friendly. The room was clean and well appointed, well above most local places, but not quite what I think of when I think "Spa." Did not have the opportunity to use the Spa or pool. A travelling companion said the gym was great. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDOJR1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is my second stay at The Senator Inn and Spa - and I recommend it to anyone in the area for vacation or business. The rooms are bright, spacious, well appointed, beautifully decorated and immaculate. There was a flat screen tv, phone, and refrigerator in the bathroom. How cool and luxurious! The staff is always courteous and helpful - and both times I was pleasantly surprised by the rates. The lunch or dinner at their restaurant is also a treat - wonderful food, service, and reasonable prices. If you are visiting any where in the area, you will want to stay at The Senator!

Room Tip: Their two-room suites are spectacular, but the regular rooms are also very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband, my two year old daughter, and myself stayed at the Senator for two nights Memorial day weekend 2013. We had a terrific experience. Long story short, there had been a bit of a mix up with our reservations with the spa but the staff went above and beyond to fix the issue and it worked out better than we had even originally planned. Book your massage with Lucy. She is awesome!!! Breakfast is very impressive for being continental, and Cloud 9 restaurant is DELICIOUS!!!! Get the French Onion Soup and baked stuffed shrimp!! SO GOOD!! Our room (238) was so much bigger than we had imagined and CLEAN!! We spent alot of our time in the hotel room just relaxing and it couldn't have been better. SO convenient to have microwave, fridge, and two sinks!! The fact that there is a Target practically in the same parking lot is extremely convenient! I can't wait to head back to the Senator agan someday!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 238. PERFECT!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review Jackdancer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

While this hotel looks like a motel, but it's a lovely place. I've stayed several times, and each time the rooms have been improved - this time there was a TV in the bathroom! Staff is friendly and helpful; pool and spa are just wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motherofcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
It was a pleasure reading your review this morning Motherofcats. Thank you for taking the time to share!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed overnight for a nice anniversary stay. They gave us a free bottle of wine which was nice. We had a nice time, only wish was that the 2 pool areas stayed open later.
Indoor Pool closed at 9:00 PM and the Outdoor Pool closed at 10:00 PM, in my opinion should add an hour to each.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithmrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Smithmrk,
Thank your for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is because of reviews like yours that we are able to identify weaknesses in our operation and make the necessary adjustments to correct them. Our management team will be discussing the possibility of extending out pool hours in our next meeting. Congratulations on your recent anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#1 of 9 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Maple Hill Farm Inn
Maple Hill Farm Inn
#1 of 1 in Hallowell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Augusta
19.5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Waterville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Inn & Spa

Property: Senator Inn & Spa
Address: 284 Western Ave, Route 202, Augusta, ME 04330-4934
Location: United States > Maine > Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Augusta
#3 Business Hotel in Augusta
#4 Family Hotel in Augusta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Senator Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Augusta
Senator Inn And Spa
Best Western Senator Hotel
Best Western Augusta
Augusta Best Western
Senator Inn & Spa Augusta, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing