We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Senator Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Senator Inn & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because our son was graduating from Colby in Waterville and Waterville was full. The staff is very accomodating. My daughter And I had mAssages. Mine was great with Bob. Hers was meh with Kallie. The breakfast buffet is very good. The rooms are a little outdated but clean. The walls are thin and you can hear other people's TVs and phone ringing

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allilluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    209
    95
    52
    35
See reviews for
224
206
50
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was my third time to the Senator and my favorite stay. I had lunch and dinner and the food was outstanding. My room was perfect and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I am hoping on my next stay that I will have time to enjoy the spa and pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing Daina!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were passing through, looking for a place to stay overnight. We were given such a great room, a free upgrade for $99! We were so thrilled with our stay, and the beautiful room, without having to pay nearly what we expected. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. The staff was excellent, and Housekeeping even mailed me my jacket that I left behind! We are going to do this more often. It could not have been a better time! I HIGHLY recommend the Senator Inn and Spa.

Room Tip: We were in Room 210, and it was luxurious, and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation BeckyR. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Maine soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

My first time to the Senator Inn I had a AAA Spa package given as a birthday gift.
My first time writing a review, Could not had a more pleasant experience.
The food at Cloud 9 Restaurant was outstanding. The foodies need to come and rate them and bring the business they deserve.
The hour long massage was outstanding, The spa facility is top of the line.
The pool is beautiful and restful. If you are looking for quiet this is the place to go.
The hotel is clean the staff is attentive.

Room Tip: My only suggestion is to add meat to the complementary breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Mary R,
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It is our passion to create a fun & relaxing experience for all of our guests and we thank you for sharing yours with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have stayed twice at the Senator and have had a great experience both times. Customer service is terrific, even when I checked in after midnight due to travel delays. Remember when you are booking that the room fee includes breakfast, and it's fancy buffet, just leave a nice tip for your server!
My rooms have been clean both times. My room had "telebathroom" last trip, bathroom had both a telephone and a television in it. Both rooms had a little fridge, coffeemaker and microwave, very handy. The restaurant is truly gourmet at reasonable prices. Altogether a real value for your travel dollar. This place deserves to be rewarded with your business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation. It is our privilege to serve your Augusta Maine lodging needs. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

My sisters and I meet at the Senator Inn twice a year. We have massages and shop in the area. We stayed in the spa suite last time and it was absolutely perfect for us. I have always found it to be clean and the staff is attentive. I will be booking there again!

Room Tip: Spa suite has an extra sitting room, fireplace, jet tub. Very roomy and no problem with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedSoxGirlPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback RedSoxGirlPortland!. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

First time to Senator Inn on business. Cloud 9 Restaurant was awesome! We were there on burgers and beer night and heard many rave reviews from coworkers. I couldn't decide between the lobster, scallion and seaweed pizza or the butternut squash & greens with gorgonzola and balsamic glaze-went for the latter, and it was great! The spa is open nice and early at 5 am and open pretty late-and the pool is really beautiful-think Italian grotto with big ceilings and a nice hot tub. Every kind of work out equipment you could want and classes too-locals also use the facilities (and many legislators stay here too). Loved the sauna and the orange coffee offered in a.m. and one of the only places I have been to that serves Stevia natural sweetener. Continental breakfast and coffee in lobby early also nice. Place is laid out like a maze, so it is easy to get lost, and have to agree, the rooms are really wierd-like they are from the 50's with old tile and not enough plugs. Bed was very comfy though and wifi was fine. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HilltownTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor.com community. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#1 of 9 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Maple Hill Farm Inn
Maple Hill Farm Inn
#1 of 1 in Hallowell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.3 mi away
No photo provided
19.5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Waterville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Inn & Spa

Property: Senator Inn & Spa
Address: 284 Western Ave, Route 202, Augusta, ME 04330-4934
Location: United States > Maine > Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Augusta
#3 Business Hotel in Augusta
#4 Family Hotel in Augusta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Senator Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Augusta
Senator Inn And Spa
Best Western Senator Hotel
Best Western Augusta
Augusta Best Western
Senator Inn & Spa Augusta, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing