We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not just for Senators” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Senator Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Senator Inn & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hooksett NH
Level Contributor
228 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Not just for Senators”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2008

This is an older hotel that has received updates through the years. We had a king size room with two doors that opened to the parking lot and the interior corridor which made it very convenient. The room was clean with a large supply of fresh towels. We had breakfast two mornings in the restaurant and the service and food were both excellent. We planned to do some snowshoeing on Sat. morning and the desk staff were very helpful in this regard. They sent us to the Pine State Arboretum, about 5 minutes from the hotel and it was beautiful. The indoor lap pool and spa were both outstanding--warm, soft music and glass on three sides with snow piled high outdoors! The rooms here are very reasonable during the weekends when the state legislature is not in session. Be sure to visit the town of Hallowell, 3 miles away, if you are interested in nice local crafts, antiques, etc.

  • Liked — restaurant and pool
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    209
    95
    52
    35
See reviews for
224
206
50
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2008

This was a quick trip to see family and we were referred to this location by a family member who resides in Augusta. The room we stayed in was average. Cleaning services were good and the location is convenient since it is right off the exit ramp of I-95.They do have a pool and spa and a restaurant on property. Parking is limited and the hotel was quiet. I did feel it was a bit pricy for the type of rooms available. There doesn't seem to be a lot of hotels to choose from in the area and this place is viewed as the best by the locals.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cost
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank checkmateMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2007

If you are into a roadside 1950's motel in the year 2007 this is the place for you. My room was not one of the renovated rooms. To get a renovated room, I would have had to pay an additional $110 a night. My room was small--so small that the dresser chest was in the closet--that means that there was no room to hang clothes. The furnishings in the room were dated. The queen size bed was more like a double and it appears that the mattress had not been replaced in 20+ years. The sheets were so thin that you could see through them. The carpeting was worn and dated as well. The bathroom was dated with the 1950's lime tile and was very, very small. The room in general had a dingy appearance and had an odor that's probably related to the age of everything in it. The heat was very loud and gave off an unbearable odor. The room was in such bad shape that I could not stay. I checked into another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank JusticeOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2007

My son and I stayed here several days this summer, while touring area colleges. We had an excellent AAA rate, and the value for the price - $125 / night - was unbeatable. Our room was large, comfortable, spotless (but a bit dark, the telltale sign of motor-hotel design). It had two entries, and being able to navigate the extensive hotel corridors without going outside was a plus in the heat. The spa was soothing and pleasant, although the price of my manicure / pedicure was big-city high. The hotel restaurant is terrific, a fne-dining experience several cuts above what one expects at a chain motor-hotel.

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — Room too dark
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oatleyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

I chose this hotel based on previous reviews and was not at all disappointed. It is perfectly located for those heading to Bar Harbor on the way up from Boston. We only stayed one night, but were very comfortable. The hotel staff were all very pleasant and welcoming. It is right off the I-95, so not difficult to find either. We had breakfast at the hotel's restaurant and were very satisfied with the wide selection as well as with what we ordered. I would definitely recommmend this hotel.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank aminal100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#1 of 9 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Maple Hill Farm Inn
Maple Hill Farm Inn
#1 of 1 in Hallowell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Augusta
19.5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Waterville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Inn & Spa

Property: Senator Inn & Spa
Address: 284 Western Ave, Route 202, Augusta, ME 04330-4934
Location: United States > Maine > Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Augusta
#3 Business Hotel in Augusta
#4 Family Hotel in Augusta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Senator Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Augusta
Senator Inn And Spa
Best Western Senator Hotel
Best Western Augusta
Augusta Best Western
Senator Inn & Spa Augusta, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing