We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 2 night get away”
Review of Senator Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Senator Inn & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Augusta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 25, 2011

My fiancee and I spent 2 nights at the Senator Inn and Spa this past weekend and loved every minute of it! We stayed in a king presidental suite and it was a very spacious room, comfortable KING bed, CLEAN, and the heater worked wonderfully! It was a very cold couple of days in Augusta when we stayed, but you would have never known it in the room! Bathroom was clean and spacious, shower water stayed nice and hot! An added bonus was the small flat screen tv in the bathroom (I love being able to listen to some music while in the shower, this allowed me to turn on GAC {Great American County}). They also allow pets for a small fee of $12/night. Our 6 year old Chocolate Lab, Abby, came with us. We could tell she was in 7th heaven being with us there, and not being left behind with a friend! We will definitly be back for another stay! Thanks to the great staff for a speedy checkin and clean room!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monckee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Front Office Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor.com Community

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 818 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2011

Just returned from a 2-night stay for our Sister's Weekend away. The Senator Inn and Spa was the perfect choice! Great value, the restaurant and the pub menu were both wonderful and the massages were a perfect way to end a long day of shopping in Freeport. Went on the AAA package - what a great deal!! We had a Spa suite which was beautiful and SO clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. If we had one complaint - and we only had one! - the walls are paper thin. We could hear every word spoken from the rooms on either side and every child's cry. However, we absolutely loved everything else about the Senator Inn and will hopefully be making this an annual trip!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princessbee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Front Office Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Dear Princessbee61,

It was a pleasure reading your review. We have extended our AAA package until 2014 and would love to have you as our guest again in the future. Thank you for your comments!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This is an older ex-best Western property that has had several upgrades. First is the spa. Great indoor pool with very high ceiling so it does not smell like most indoor pools, Second is a nice restaurant and bar with very good food. And finally renovated rooms. I have stayed here several times and the regular rooms are a disappointment. However, the rooms in the presidential wing or the spa rooms are nice and a very good value. The best part of the hotel is the friendly staff who are genuinely nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Select a room on the presidential wing. They have been upgraded/renovated and are well worth the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Front Office Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Dear Gary M,

Thank you for sharing your comments with the Tripadvisor.com community. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Greater Augusta area soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Very nice features in the room. I really liked the fireplace and whirlpool. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwscr16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jddwentworth, Front Office Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Dear Jwscr16,

Thank you for staying with us at the Senator Inn & Spa. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Maine soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband and I scheduled a 2 day getaway special (through AAA) and it was exactly what we were looking for. We had a fresh & clean spa king suite that included a gas fireplace, fridge, microwave, whirpool tub and even a TV in the bathroom! Had a tasty Thanksgiving Buffet and 2 continental breakfasts that included eggs made to order, make your own waffles, fresh fruit, muffins etc. .We each had a one hour massage in the Spa that was tailored to our needs. Great service and friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you are booking a spa getaway, ask the staff to choose a room near the back so you just have to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babs1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jddwentworth, Front Office Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Dear Babs1218,


We are privileged that you chose us as your Maine destination. Thank you for your great comments about your experience and the staff. The Senator Inn & Spa employees are truly committed to serving each and every guest with the absolute best customer service. We hope that you will visit us again and wish you the happiest of holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Only 4 stars because of quality of food from room service and and the pool area closes to early(9 pm) and no microwave and needs two luggage holders, not just one.
Okay, the furniture was not new and modern or quite antique yet, but the beds and accommodations were very clean, very well appointed and very comfortable (no mold, dust and carpets were vacuumed, linens were clean).
We had a deluxe double room. There was a phone, refrigerator and TV in the over sized bathroom (convenient for watching while putting on make up or lounging in the tub). The hotel staff were amazing, Upon walking in, there was a massage therapist offering free 5 minute chair massages, it was a nice perk and she didn't even accept my tip!
The pool/spa area was huge, and absolutely beautiful! It was well appointed with a huge pool, nice jacuzzi and steam room, and small gym. Additional spa services were available for purchase. I only wish it was open later. The room service was barely adequate, and most of the food wasn't great or even good. The lobster club however was wonderful ($$) but the pizza was rubbery and the shrimp cocktail had no presentation, just laid out on a plate with a mini cup of boring sauce for dipping. The shrimp had absolutely NO flavor.
We loved that our room had both an inside and outside entrance (nice in the snow) and the hotel is huge! It was an over sized room which also needed two luggage holders rather than just one.
I would stay there again for sure, but would not order room service! The price for the value was very good.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the deluxe double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiralin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jddwentworth, Front Office Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

Dear Kiralin,


Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and informative review. Your comments have been forwarded to management so they may be used to better the overall experience for our guests in the future. Also, we'd like to thank you for recognizing our staff as they strive to provide exceptional customer service to each and every guest. We look forward to serving your lodging needs again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed here on our wedding night. We had only reserved a regular room, but when the staff found out it was our wedding night they upgraded us to a presidential suite free of charge. We were extremely surprised by this! Our room had a great fireplace and tub with jets. The spa, pool and hot tub were also great. The breakfast food was amazing, and I liked that they made eggs to order instead of the usual cold/scrambled found in breakfast buffets. We look forward to staying here again sometime!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jddwentworth, Front Office Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

Dear Michelle,

Congratulations!

Thank you for choosing the Senator Inn & Spa as your hotel destination on such a memorable night. It was our privilege to accommodate you. We wish you and your spouse endless years of happiness and hope to have the opportunity to serve you on your Honeymoon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#2 of 9 in Augusta
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
2.4 mi away
Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center
17.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterville
Hampton Inn Waterville
#1 of 6 in Waterville
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Inn & Spa

Address: 284 Western Ave, Route 202, Augusta, ME 04330-4934
Location: United States > Maine > Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Augusta
#3 Business Hotel in Augusta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Augusta
Price Range: $101 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Senator Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Inn And Spa
Senator Hotel Augusta
Best Western Senator Hotel
Best Western Augusta
Augusta Best Western
Senator Inn & Spa Augusta, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing