We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No surprises just good, clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Augusta
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
orlando
Level Contributor
537 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“No surprises just good, clean rooms”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stopped for a night in Augusta, on our way to Bar Harbor. The bed was great and the sheets were silky soft. The pillows, also, were just fluffy enough. You can rely on this Hilton property.
The breakfast is the usual breakfast buffet food, but adequate. My only disappointment was the staff. They too were just adequate, but needed a course in guest service, except for the woman working breakfast, who was very nice. They gave you any information you requested, but nothing more. For example, we asked if there were any good restaurants in the area and were given a sheet with all of the information. Actually, had a great experience for dinner, but that will be in another review. Anyway, when we got back from dinner, the same two people were behind the desk, and neither spoke to us. Not good evening. Not hello. Not where did you eat. Not how was your dinner. Now, this lobby is tiny and not the Waldorf, so it would have been very nice IF the staff had been friendlier. I still would recommend this Inn, as you really aren't looking for friends, just a good place to rest your head, with no surprises.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, Owner at Hampton Inn Augusta, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We have had great guest service scores and Trip advisor reviews related to our teams attentiveness. That being said, we obviously slipped with you. We have an engaged staff that must have been not up to their usual high standards. Please accept my personal apologies that the service did not exceed your expectation.

We have heard you and will use your comments to get better!

And as always, thanks for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    104
    20
    1
    1
See reviews for
144
88
13
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VT
Level Contributor
326 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

About the nicest Hampton Inn I've stayed in (and I've stayed in MANY). Everything top of the line. Great bed, bedding, handsome decor, good service. This comes at a rate you wouldn't expect to pay in Augusta. Worth the money, but $175 for a Hampton Inn in Augusta? I just kept telling myself it was a boutique hotel at a reasonable price. Worked!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTLongTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, Owner at Hampton Inn Augusta, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
I love your description of us being a Boutique hotel that was worth the money. Thank you so much. And to hear we are the nicest Hampton your stayed at is a credit to the Augusta team.

As a side note.... The prices do vary and there are many times you can get a room quite a bit less. I hope we can serve you again.

As Always.... Thanks for your business and for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were recently travelling through Maine and New Hampshire and were hoping to stop in Portland, Maine for the night (on our way back up the East Coast). The prices of hotels in Portland were outrageous so we kept going and ended up in Augusta. The last time we stayed in Augusta we stayed at an Econo Lodge which was absolutely horrible and has since been demolished. The Hampton Inn is now located on the property where Econo Lodge was. What a beautiful (new) hotel. Everything was gleaming, excellence customer service. Reception was very friendly and accommodating and the room had all the amenities you would want. Linens were crisp and clean and duvet covers were changed daily. The exercise room was well equipped with top of the line equipment and the pool was very refreshing although very small. They could improve the pool area with some noise dampening tiles. Even with only one other couple in the pool the conversation just echoed loudly. Included breakfast bar in the morning was fantastic and if you were in a hurry and on the go, they would even bag a breakfast for you to take on the run.

Very, very nice hotel and we will absolutely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prayinforsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, Owner at Hampton Inn Augusta, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
SO glad you enjoyed your visit to Augusta and to our new hotel. yes, we are new, but the team works hard to keep it looking that way. So nice to hear you enjoyed the associates! We are so very proud of them.

Good idea on the pool. I always find pools loud. We'll check it out!

We appreciate your comments And as always.... Thanks for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
320 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This brand-new property is running as smoothly as all of the other Hampton Inns we've stayed in. Its clean and quiet, well-run and well located. I love their sheets and pillows and beds! The staff recommended walking around Hollowell which turned out to be a charming town with several good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, Owner at Hampton Inn Augusta, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thanks for your love of Hamptons and the new hampton In augusta. Yo are right, Hallowell is a great little town and just a little bit away.

And as always... Thanks for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stopped there on way back from NYC , very new hotel so clean so fresh, everything you could expect and they honoured the coupon from the Hotel booklet, not many places you can stay for what we paid , less than $80.00 for each couple , excellent location for shoppers, or those just passing through, friendly couteous staff and a great free breakfast, pool, fitness centre, laundry, free parking, spotless rooms, hotel chains should all be like this one Thankyou to the Hampton Inn Suites

Room Tip: Use the Hotel coupon books and get a great deal like we did, four adults , brand new hotel for less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCOTIAGOLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, Owner at Hampton Inn Augusta, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
You are quite welcome. We hope to always take care of our guests as this team did for you. We are made up of a great group of people that make people like you happy.
Thanks for choosing us and we commit to keep doing it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
701 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is truly a 4 star hotel exceeded only by the likes of the Ritz Carlton or similar. This is a 2 month old facility and the rooms and beds are very well appointed. I really like the step in shower and the 37" true HD TV. The wifi works well and the bell has excellent duvets/pillows. I used the fitness center which had weights which I prefer in small facilities. The laundry was good and included detergent. The only area I would say could be better was breakfast which was what you see at most hotel chains and nothing special. The fresh fruit was really freshly cut up which was a plus. A very nice stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bsorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, Owner at Hampton Inn Augusta, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
With all your traveling, We're glad t have a seasoned Road warrior appreciate our Hampton in Augusta, ME. I stayed there when we were opening and enjoyed the same things. This beds are great!

The fitness room is largest than most and lows us to fit it up right.

I hope we see you again on your travels and as always.... Thanks for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I just want to share with you what a great job the people of Hampton Inn in Augusta, Maine did for me and my family. Namely Erika Shaw and Virginia Megill. We were attending my mothers funeral in Maine and had approximately 15 members mostly out of state and as far away as New Mexico and Dallas, Tx. and were at a lost as to what to do and Erika was there for all of us and she went out of her way to help us with anything .. questions regarding restaurants the cememtary etc. She went above and beyond to help us out.

The location of the Hampton Inn was also great. Easy on / off 195 also. as well as the rooms were very very nice and clean. The staff has to be commended for the Hampton Inn. and also a great breadfast. We most definately will recommend Augusta Hampton Inn to anyone in their travels. They made a terrible experience turn out to be one to always to remembered. They are certainly there for you.

Room Tip: Any room you get at this Hampton Inn I am sure will be a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, Owner at Hampton Inn Augusta, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
First of all, we are so sorry for your loss.

And secondly, I would like to extend my thanks to Virginia, Erica, and the entire team. As CEO and owner, we couldn't ask for more compassion from our team. Its obvious it makes a difference and I am proud to work with this team.

i hope we can serve you again on more pleasant terms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
0.5 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Augusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Augusta
2.3 mi away
Maple Hill Farm Inn
Maple Hill Farm Inn
#1 of 1 in Hallowell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Augusta

Property: Hampton Inn Augusta
Address: 388 Western Ave, Augusta, ME 04330-6012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Augusta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Augusta
#1 Family Hotel in Augusta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Augusta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2012. Margaritas' Restaurant on property. Large fitness room. Minutes to State Capitol and offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Augusta Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing