We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Sidetrip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of State Capitol

State Capitol
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Worth the Sidetrip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Small grounds, easy to walk; good to visit. Dome being restored; varied architecture. Park nearby. Wear comfortable walking shoes.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank scgalinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vassalboro, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Capitol Building of the great State of Maine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

I haven't been to tour other state capitol buildings but ours in Maine is fantastic. I probably had the nickel tour when I was in the local school system but I don't remember much of it. The two chambers are very nicely kept. The hall of flags offers a great view up into the dome.

The exhibits on the lower level show some nicely done scenes with some of the wildlife that can be found throughout the state.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Volator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting state capitol with a wonderful tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The state capitol in Augusta is not the largest. But the architecture is very nice, the interiors are interesting and our guide on the tour was very helpful and told some insightful stories. Definitely worth visiting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexeyB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
340 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Not perfect, but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Went here one time with a small group from school and enjoyed it. Give it a chance you might like it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheFloridaAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
217 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Not a very fancy capitol - but worth the time to tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We try to hit the state capitols when we travel and toured the Maine capitol at 9 a.m.

The tour guide - Dan - was very nice and informative. We were the only 2 on the tour - so it was nice that we could ask questions as we wanted.

The capitol is not very fancy compared to others we've been in but it's worth the time to take the tour and learn a bit about Maine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing