We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated arena”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #8 of 20 things to do in Augusta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This venue features top performers and expositions.
ALTON
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dated arena”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I attended a 3 day convention of Jehovah's Witnesses it was awesome!! But the facility is very dated. My wife informed me that women's room had not enough stalls that made very long lines, seating was very uncomfortable and the A/C was not up to par my wife and I were on the floor and we sweated 2 of the 3 day we attended. Parking was great and it was nice out doors. Landscaping etc.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BLINDMAN04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    10
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Machias, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What were they thinking?”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have been here several times in the past, for country concerts, and for a graduation, and it was fine, but recently I attended an all day convention and found it VERY lacking. Very few bathrooms and very small. How could a civic center that seats over 5,000 people, have bathrooms to accomodate about 25? What were they thinking?? Also, the A/C was terrible; in the hot afternoons, it felt as if they turned it off. I think large places like this have to factor in body heat, as well as outdoor temperature and if they contract with groups to keep them comfortable all day, then they have an obligation to have an system that can handle it. It was miserable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank soozi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Readfield, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Not the best concert venue”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have seen a couple of concerts here and it is not the best venue for them. The sitting is limited and with the small space the stage was limited. I have been here for sporting events and it is great place for those as well as going to trade shows.

Helpful?
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore Falls, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

It was very crowded and a lot of smoking at the time and that turned me off. Now there is a smoking law so it's probably better

Helpful?
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Sub-Par”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a sub par civic center. Very small, and very out-dated. Dirty bathrooms, and less than friendly staff. The events that take place here are mostly out-dated bands trying to make a few bucks or a come-back. The Shrine Circus that takes place here is a waste of time & money, and the Kidsfest event is also way too expensive for what is actually there. Don't waste your time unless you're looking for a sit-down, low energy, country western concert.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Augusta Civic Center also viewed

 

Been to Augusta Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing