We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Sleepy Time Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sleepy Time Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Clean, comfortable and inexpensive ($87 w/ tax). This is a small motel (6 rooms), run by a very nice couple (Lynn and Mark). Couldn't have asked for more though. Even has free wireless. Not the Ritz ... just a very well-kept little motel. It deserves the many other positive reviews it's received.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schulzwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
43
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

I reserved a room for my husband after reading the reviews here. He was very pleased with the entire experience. We will definitely stay here when we travel to Maine as a family. My husband reported the staff (owners) was very pleasant, the room was spotless and nicely decorated. He has only positive comments about his stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Great little spot. Close to Turnpike, close to the Irvin 24 hour stop and shop, close to nature. Mark and Lynn are just down-to-earth folks and nice as can be. They run a very clean and quiet environment. The land behind the hotel has beautiful gardens and Mark and Lynn have mapped out hiking trails. It was quite a rainy week while we were up there and didn't have good shoes for hiking but will next time.

You cannot beat the price, location, and hospitality. Comfy rockers in the rooms, fridge big enough to hold the supplies you need. They provide utensils, wine glasses, coffee pot, microwave, and some condiments.

You won't go wrong by staying here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hpychk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

I saw the trip advisor reviews then looked at the web site and talked with the owners and booked the dates. My wife was nervous when I told her (She’s from Brooklyn), but I just felt that it was going to be good stay and went with that.

Absolutely Zero complaints!!!

Only praise and thanks to Lynn and Mark for making our stay truly delightful.

I agree this is one of those Best Kept Secrets.

I was recommended this for almost anyone. We were there for a wedding and have young children, and did not want to be in a typical everyday hotel. We wanted a place to relax and wind down at the end of the day.

The owners Lynn and Mark even hand picked a nice container of wild blue barriers for my daughter, just because she liked them so much. They attached a small note, and placed them in the room. How thoughtful was that.

I would have come back without the blue barriers.

You won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRMPlus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2008

The Sleepy Time Motel is the best kept secret in Auburn/Lewiston, and now that we've been to our final Bates Parents' Weekend, and our graduation rooms are booked, it's time to give this great little motel its due.

We discovered Sleepy Time during our daughter's freshman year at Bates, and it's now six years and two Bobcat students later.

If you are looking for a typically nice, but predictable, environment, then go to the Hilton Garden in Auburn.
But if you want a charming, clean, retro place run by two people who will do so much to make your stay special, make reservations at The Sleepy Time. We've stayed in every one of the six units over the years. They are all spotless, and have every amenity. For instance, Mark and Lynn have recently installed rounded shower curtain rods, like the big hotel chains, that make the shower stalls feel bigger. And each room has a recliner, wireless access, even a kitchen table and chairs in addition to a desk. Beds have always been clean and very comfy. The only thing the rooms don't have at this point are the crisp white bed spreads and neutral walls of the big chains....instead they have equally clean, but Sixties-looking royal blue spreads, and wood panelling, so the rooms feel dark.

The Sleep Time Motel is one of the key things we'll miss about our visits to Maine when we're no longer paying tuition to Bates College!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BobcatParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreland Hills, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2008

The rooms were clean and freshly appointed. Mark Clinger, the owner, makes sure every stay is a good one. He gave me an ethernet cord to connect my laptop with the internet. For some reason, I couldn't connect so the next day he went to Best Buy to purchase a wireless router to make the connection.

  • Liked — everything sparkled
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jgretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

This is a tiny (six rooms) 1950's style roadside motel. We picked it because of the other good reviews and were not disappointed. While the place has a serious retro appearance, everything is well maintained, clean, and comfortable. The owners are also very personable. You can't go wrong here if you are looking for a decent place to stay. The owner recommended dinner at the Fishbone restaurant on Lincoln Street in downtown Lewiston. The Fishbone is fantastic! Of particular note is the clam chowder -- by far the best that my wife and I have ever had. Costs about $30 per person without drinks. The service was also excellent.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
4.9 mi away
Center Street Value Inn
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
5.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Time Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Time Motel

Property: Sleepy Time Motel
Address: 46 Danville Corner Rd, Auburn, ME 04210-8604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Auburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleepy Time Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family operated cozy New England motel of six rooms located within minutes of the Maine Turnpike. Sleepy Time offers a neighborhood location on acres of green lawns backed by 100 acres of woods laced with hiking trails. Nearby is golf at Fox Ridge, swimming at Range Pond State Park and cross country skiing at Pineland. Clean,large comfortable rooms,affordable rates and friendly hospitality are what you'll find. Downtown L/A is minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Sleepy Time Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Time Hotel Auburn
Sleepy Time Motel Auburn, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing