We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Retro perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleepy Time Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleepy Time Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgewater, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Retro perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

This place is a reminder of when we were kids travelling with our parents to the old school drive up motel. Lynn and Mark have preserved the integrity of a bygone era, while offering clean, comfortable and updated accommodations. The binder of menus and restaurant choices was helpful and led us to the New Gloucester Village Store for breakfast.
We enjoyed our stay immensely and will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verypicky2, Owner at Sleepy Time Motel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Shelly, It's very rewarding for us to have our guests appreciate our approach to operating Sleepy Time. "Mom & Pop" work hard to provide a pleasurable experience for each and every guest. We're happy that you found a local eatery in our in-room restaurant guide that was to your liking and hope to see you again on your next shopping trip in the Maine.
Thank you,
Mark & Lynn Klinger
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
40
20
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baldwinsville, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Lynn and Mark were very accommodating. We had a large group and they worked with me to get the arrangements right. The rooms were great with a refrigerator, microwave, tables & chairs... And besides that it was honestly the cleanest place I have ever stayed. We travel frequently and quite often stay at the Crowne Plaza or Double Tree Inn and these rooms were definitely cleaner.
There will be no hesitation as to staying there in the future. This is a GO TO place of business.
Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verypicky2, Owner at Sleepy Time Motel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Rebecca, We are so grateful and appreciate your very kind comments and it's also very exciting for us to receive our 100th review. It was wonderful to have your group stay with us. You were all very respectful of our motel, we especially enjoyed everyone relaxing on our front lawn area in the evening. We look forward to having you all stay with us again during your next family reunion.
Thank you,
Mark & Lynn Klinger
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, il
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were in town to visit Bates College and are so glad that we made the effort to stay just a bit further from the school than we could have. Sleepy Time is wonderfully maintained - a quaint slice of Americana to share with our kids - to give them some sense of what travel was like before the era of the chain hotel. Although rain kept us from enjoying the trails as thoroughly as we had hoped, we did have a bit of time and found the woods peaceful and a welcome change of pace from the internet and tv that the kids usually gravitate toward in hotel rooms. We highly recommend you book a a night here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyVacationTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Over the last several years, my husband & I have searched out family owned motels whenever we travel. Sleepy Time is one of the best... If not "the best"! We were traveling from Maryland to Rangeley, Maine to look at purchasing a cottage of our own and reserved a night at Sleepy Time to give us a break from the long drive. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by Mark who even made a couple of phone calls for us to restaurants to check availability for dining. After checking in he walked us to our room & showed us how to operate the AC & the television. I must say that I think the shower was one of the nicest I've ever had...a lot of water pressure & the towels were nicer than any I've ever used at the "big name" hotels or motels. The bed was more firm than I like (we have a pillow top) but it is in no way a complaint...just a preference. I will most definitely recommend Sleepy Time to friends & family as they travel to see us in Rangeley!
Michele T

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTravels1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Outside is extremely neat and well kept. Owner is very pleasant and helpful. Rooms are immaculate and they haven't overlooked anything. Even wine glasses with corkscrew. Very quiet and peaceful place to stay. Have been there before and always hope they have an open room when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
162 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed for two nights due to price at the time of year of the larger hotels. Really glad we did, nice motel, rooms good, fridge / microwave / utensils / table / desk. Owner really nice and helpful, nice location in a wooded area. Note breakfast is not offered. Nice and restful stay, near to where I was working - will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Sleep Time Motel. It was our first time and we loved it. Lynn was so friendly and accommodating. The room was spotless. There was a dining area, with fridge and microwave and a cabinet stocked with everything you needed, wine glasses, dishes utensils and such. The bed was so comfortable. The motel was very quiet and we loved having our car parked right out front. There are hiking trails in the back of the motel for everyone to use. I will definitely be staying there again when we are back in the area. Thanks Lynn for making our stay for pleasant
Bob and Terry B

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
5.5 mi away
Residence Inn Auburn
Residence Inn Auburn
#3 of 5 in Auburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Auburn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center
4.9 mi away
Center Street Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Time Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Time Motel

Property: Sleepy Time Motel
Address: 46 Danville Corner Rd, Auburn, ME 04210-8604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Auburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleepy Time Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family operated cozy New England motel of six rooms located within minutes of the Maine Turnpike. Sleepy Time offers a neighborhood location on acres of green lawns backed by 100 acres of woods laced with hiking trails. Nearby is golf at Fox Ridge, swimming at Range Pond State Park and cross country skiing at Pineland. Clean,large comfortable rooms,affordable rates and friendly hospitality are what you'll find. Downtown L/A is minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sleepy Time Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Time Hotel Auburn
Sleepy Time Motel Auburn, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing