We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super-clean, quiet, comfortable room”
Review of Sleepy Time Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleepy Time Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Wenham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super-clean, quiet, comfortable room”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Sleepy Time is serious about cleanliness, quiet, and courtesy. Major snow storm and was plowed out early. Proprietors live on site and are friendly and helpful while respecting privacy. Excellent in every way. I'll stay there any time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
41
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days while on business trip. The couple that owns/runs motel are perfect hosts. Very friendly but never pushy or bothersome. The cleanliness was second to none, squeaky clean. Very quiet location, with numerous TV stations, fridge, micro, table even paper plates, utensils and glasses. City center only about 10 minutes away. Would always stay here when in area and highly recommend it. This is not a kimpton, Hyatt or W. those are great when in big city, but I travel 20+ days every month and just love a small, family owned (with pride) hotel. A+

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mugdiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, Owner at Sleepy Time Motel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Mugdiller,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your extended stay with us at Sleepy Time. It's gratifying for us to read your comments about the little extras that we try to provide at our "boutique motel". We may not have a pool or restaurant that you would find at the big chains mentioned, but we can certainly provide a high level of service, very clean rooms and the same in-room amenities you might find there.
We hope to welcome you to Sleepy Time again now that we have our newly furnished rooms in place.

Thank You,
Mark & Lynn Klinger
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEFFERSONVILLE
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

While on route to visit the Oxford Casino we were finding it difficult to find a place to stay, when we came upon this motel. At first we thought it a little pricey, but were pleasantly surprised with all the additional amenities. It had dishes, a microwave and refrigerator and even long stem wine glasses. Since we had leftovers with us, this was most welcome. The room was warm and inviting and the owners very pleasant and helpful. I will definitely stay there again if the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: If in doubt, ask to view the room before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MATOBIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The owner of Sleepy Time was so friendly and welcoming! He showed us our room. It was clean, cozy, and had a rocker which was so comfortable! The room had a refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker, coffee cups and other things like napkins, paper plates, cups, etc., and it felt like home! When I looked at the book kept in the room for local restaurants, I was surprised to find that there were trails all around their property for snow-shoeing, hiking, and snowmobiling! The hotel was close to the highway, but not close enough to hear the traffic! When we come again to visit, we're staying at Sleepy Time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My mom booked this room as we were visiting my grandfather at a senior living facility in the area. We pulled up after dark and I was a little concerned due to first impressions....which were incredibly wrong! The owner was so friendly and showed us to our room which was simply adorable. It was clean, well stocked (even with little things like salt, pepper, napkins, microwave, lotion, etc.) There are over 600 satellite channels (which I was impressed with as well.) The beds were beyond my expectations. All of the parking lot was filled with cars, but I honestly never heard a peep outside our room. The rooms were insulated and it was as quiet as can be. I would DEFINITELY recommend this motel to anyone staying in the area!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We traveled to Maine for a College Tour of Colby, Bates and Bowdoin. I was drawn to the Sleepy Time Motel on Tripadvisor because of the outstanding reviews from their customers. It is a quaint 6 unit motel that will take you back in time. You can see that Lynn and Mark have pride in ownership because the rooms and grounds are immaculately kept. They are super friendly and really know how to make you feel welcome. It was a pleasure to stay at the Sleepy Time Motel! I must say even though I slept very well, I'm not a big fan of the blankets and bedspreads. I would invest in comforters and duvets, I think that would just add a bit of modern comfort to your old school motel. Thanks for a lovely visit to Maine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, Owner at Sleepy Time Motel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Amy, Thank you for your review. We sure do appreciate your compliments regarding your recent stay with us.Your suggestions regarding our bed coverings is something we'll certainly consider doing in the future. Our focus now is to do just what you suggested, bringing some modern comforts to our rooms. Some of these have already been implemented, such as new mattresses, drapes and sheers and new lighting. We also expect new furniture to arrive this winter. The coverlets and blankets you mentioned are also new, comforters or duvets could possibly cause an increase in rates and we'd rather continue to offer a great value to our guests. We hope to see you again if Bates is your daughters college choice.

Sincerely,
Lynn & Mark Klinger
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We came to Maine for a week of house hunting and wanted to stay away from the chain hotels that are very impersonal. We chose the Sleepy Time Motel because of the wonderful reviews we read about it.......and were not disappointed. This 6 room motel is VERY clean, has great beds and linens, flat screen TV with plenty of channels and great reception, big absorbent towels that were changed every day and of course Lynn and Mark who make you feel right at home!!! To the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out and received a thank you email everything was perfect. If you left in the morning and came back late at night.....the lights were on for you. We left one morning (and it was still cool, but were expecting weather in the 90s) and came home to a cool room because the put the air on for us!!! Thank you Lynn and Mark!!

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms and all are great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, Owner at Sleepy Time Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Betsi P,

We are delighted that you both enjoyed your recent extended stay with us. Being a small, true "Mom & Pop" motel allows us to provide a higher level of service and amenities than you might typically expect to find at a motel. It is very rewarding to have our guests leave their thoughtful reviews, that's what brings our next guest through the door, provides us a chance to improve and also gives us a pat on the back. We appreciate you choosing Sleepy Time and hope to see you again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Auburn
99 reviews
4.9 mi away
Center Street Value Inn
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
4.7 mi away
Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Time Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Time Motel

Property: Sleepy Time Motel
Address: 46 Danville Corner Rd, Auburn, ME 04210-8604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Auburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleepy Time Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family operated cozy New England motel of six rooms located within minutes of the Maine Turnpike. Sleepy Time offers a neighborhood location on acres of green lawns backed by 100 acres of woods laced with hiking trails. Nearby is golf at Fox Ridge, swimming at Range Pond State Park and cross country skiing at Pineland. Clean,large comfortable rooms,affordable rates and friendly hospitality are what you'll find. Downtown L/A is minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sleepy Time Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Time Hotel Auburn
Sleepy Time Motel Auburn, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing