We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great "old-style" motel that's welcoming and well-kept”
Review of Sleepy Time Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleepy Time Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great "old-style" motel that's welcoming and well-kept”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed at the Sleepy Time Motel for two nights and booked two rooms - one for my wife and me, and one for our two college-aged children. We loved our stay. This is the kind of motel my family stayed at on family vacations "back in the day." The location is convenient - just off the Maine Turnpike - but far enough that highway noise was not an issue (at least for us).

The owners, Mark and Lynn Klinger, were attentive but not intrusive, and clearly cared about our satisfaction and making us feel welcome. Our rooms were clean, well-maintained, and had everything we needed - including a small refrigerator and microwave.

There are only 6 units in this motel: we had rooms 5 and 6, and liked being at the end of the row - it felt a bit more private.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveAndKaren11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
41
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stopped in the Auburn area on our way to Acadia Nat'l Park, and spent one night at the Sleepy Tome Motel. It pretty much lived up to the reviews on Tripadvisor: good size room, very clean, nice thick towels, etc. Nothing fancy, just good clean accommodations with a helpful staff. The 2 owners were friendly and very helpful - I could tell they cared about us and were eager for us to be pleased with our stay. I'd definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Providence_RITom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed at the Sleepy Time in Maine for my Bates College reunion. It was a very nice place, extremely clean, and quiet. The owners were gracious and welcoming. The price was reasonable and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Clean and quiet little motel. Great location close to the highway.

The owners take pride in offering personal service in accomodating travelers to the Maine area. We will definitely stay at Sleepy Time when visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yarro3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2011

So, I grew up in Maine, but have lived in Washington DC for 11 years. I occasionally visit Maine to see family and have always stayed at more expensive hotels like the Hilton Garden Inn (which is a nice hotel, but really? $240 a night for Auburn Maine?). This time, I decided to give the Sleepy Time a try, based on trip advisor ratings. We were more than pleasantly surprised! This little motel is quiet, super clean, and has all the amenities you could need. The towels were better than those in much fancier hotels. The staff were great and we will definitely stay here again. My only recommendation to the owners is to install a sheer curtain behind the room darkeners, so that you can have them open while you are in the room but still have a bit of privacy. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCtraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2011

came up for a wedding celebration in New Gloucester, Maine-have many friends in the area-wanted to stay somewhere local over the weekend-this place was 15 minutes from the party. Read reviews of local hotels, and chose this one. The price for the 2 days was very reasonable. My expectations weren't very high. But...What a wonderful surprise!!! This place was awesome!!! A queen bed, cable TV, coffee pot & coffee, refrigerator, microwave, table & chairs, plates/utensils/napkins, even S & P. Two recliners. Lots of room. Fresh towels, & toiletries, both days. Clean!!! Clean!!! Clean!!! Inside & outside...This place was spotless!!! I raved about this place at the party!!! I highly recommend it!!! and would stay here, again, in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fromNH03049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed here after reading the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor and the Sleepy Time Motel definitely lived up to its reputation. This is a small (6 rooms), no-frills motel, but the location is good, the value is excellent, and the rooms are clean, comfortable, and quiet. Our dog was welcome, and the free wireless Internet was great. The proprietors are two of the nicest folks you'll meet and were very helpful throughout our stay. I would definitely stay here again, and I absolutely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaineScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Auburn
99 reviews
4.9 mi away
Center Street Value Inn
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
4.7 mi away
Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Time Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Time Motel

Property: Sleepy Time Motel
Address: 46 Danville Corner Rd, Auburn, ME 04210-8604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Auburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleepy Time Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family operated cozy New England motel of six rooms located within minutes of the Maine Turnpike. Sleepy Time offers a neighborhood location on acres of green lawns backed by 100 acres of woods laced with hiking trails. Nearby is golf at Fox Ridge, swimming at Range Pond State Park and cross country skiing at Pineland. Clean,large comfortable rooms,affordable rates and friendly hospitality are what you'll find. Downtown L/A is minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Sleepy Time Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Time Hotel Auburn
Sleepy Time Motel Auburn, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing