We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”
Review of Sleepy Time Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sleepy Time Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed at the Sleepy Time in Maine for my Bates College reunion. It was a very nice place, extremely clean, and quiet. The owners were gracious and welcoming. The price was reasonable and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Sleepy Time Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 158 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2011

Clean and quiet little motel. Great location close to the highway.

The owners take pride in offering personal service in accomodating travelers to the Maine area. We will definitely stay at Sleepy Time when visiting again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yarro3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

So, I grew up in Maine, but have lived in Washington DC for 11 years. I occasionally visit Maine to see family and have always stayed at more expensive hotels like the Hilton Garden Inn (which is a nice hotel, but really? $240 a night for Auburn Maine?). This time, I decided to give the Sleepy Time a try, based on trip advisor ratings. We were more than pleasantly surprised! This little motel is quiet, super clean, and has all the amenities you could need. The towels were better than those in much fancier hotels. The staff were great and we will definitely stay here again. My only recommendation to the owners is to install a sheer curtain behind the room darkeners, so that you can have them open while you are in the room but still have a bit of privacy. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCtraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

came up for a wedding celebration in New Gloucester, Maine-have many friends in the area-wanted to stay somewhere local over the weekend-this place was 15 minutes from the party. Read reviews of local hotels, and chose this one. The price for the 2 days was very reasonable. My expectations weren't very high. But...What a wonderful surprise!!! This place was awesome!!! A queen bed, cable TV, coffee pot & coffee, refrigerator, microwave, table & chairs, plates/utensils/napkins, even S & P. Two recliners. Lots of room. Fresh towels, & toiletries, both days. Clean!!! Clean!!! Clean!!! Inside & outside...This place was spotless!!! I raved about this place at the party!!! I highly recommend it!!! and would stay here, again, in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromNH03049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed here after reading the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor and the Sleepy Time Motel definitely lived up to its reputation. This is a small (6 rooms), no-frills motel, but the location is good, the value is excellent, and the rooms are clean, comfortable, and quiet. Our dog was welcome, and the free wireless Internet was great. The proprietors are two of the nicest folks you'll meet and were very helpful throughout our stay. I would definitely stay here again, and I absolutely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaineScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

We stayed at the motel for just over a week. Rooms are very comfortably appointed with beds, small table and chairs, reclining chair, microwave, refrigerator, and some utensils. Exceptionally clean, no "stale cigarette" smells. Allowed pets, there is a nice field behind the hotel to let your dog run and play some fetch. Very quiet despite being located close to the highway and a busy railroad track. Owners are friendly locals who will do what they can to help you out and are on site. Conveniently located to the highway and turnpike. Good value for the money. I highly recommend this place and plan to use them again should we have a need for a motel room in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CourtneyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Sleepy Time with my aunt and uncle. This motel was the cleanest I have ever stayed at. Mark and Lynn made us feel welcome and the rooms are set up to make you feel at home.

Our room had a queen size bed, 2 Lazy- Boy recliners, dining table & chairs, fridge, micro, coffee and even came with paper plates, cups napkins and plastic utensils.

I had never gotten that many amenities at many of the "higher" end hotels I have frequented in my life.

I would highly recommend a stay at the Sleepy Time if you are traveling to the Auburn area.

Its easy on and off Route 95 but found it far enough away so that the traffic was a non issue.

Thanks Lynn & Mark

Tammy & Greg

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TammyB44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
4.9 mi away
Center Street Value Inn
4.7 mi away
Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
5.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Time Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Time Motel

Address: 46 Danville Corner Rd, Auburn, ME 04210-8604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Auburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range: $90 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleepy Time Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family operated cozy New England motel of six rooms located within minutes of the Maine Turnpike. Sleepy Time offers a neighborhood location on acres of green lawns backed by 100 acres of woods laced with hiking trails. Nearby is golf at Fox Ridge, swimming at Range Pond State Park and cross country skiing at Pineland. Clean,large comfortable rooms,affordable rates and friendly hospitality are what you'll find. Downtown L/A is minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sleepy Time Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Time Hotel Auburn
Sleepy Time Motel Auburn, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing