We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Wonderful Staff. (just don't book the basic rooms)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Boston, mA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel. Wonderful Staff. (just don't book the basic rooms)”
Reviewed July 13, 2009

First of all, the outside of this hotel is beautiful - and the staff was just wonderful!

We booked a basic room at first - no heat, no a/c, no windows that open.
The people who hate this place, probably stayed in one of those rooms. Those rooms are ooooooold and scary.

We decided to upgrade to a nicer room - and they actually gave us a fireplace room at a very discounted price. The room was great .... nothing to rave about ... but clean enough and comfortable.

The breakfast was pretty good too - I had pancakes!

Just stay far away from the basic rooms and you'll be fine with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    25
    8
    21
See reviews for
32
27
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wells, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Had to stop here unexpectedly when we got stuck during a Nor'Easter on our way home from a trip up Maine. I had stayed here years ago, and didn't remember it as being all that nice. We were very pleased from check-in until check-out. The staff was friendly and the overall appearance of the hotel was much nicer than I remembered. Our room had been recently renovated and was large, with a fireplace---a nice touch on a snowy night! As we didn't want to venture out to a restaurant, we ate at the restaurant on site, Danny Boy's. We were told that the menu is new, and it was really varied. Lots of Irish specialties. I had a fantastic reuben and super fries. Good beer selection, too. The price was incredibly low for all that we ate!! Breakfast in the morning is complimentary and they had a nice selection of cereals, fruit, and make-your-own waffles.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineTravelKs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

This was a great hotel, yes the building is older but the rooms were nice and clean. The area was very quite. The staff were some of the nicest people. The room was spacious, the internet connection was perfect. Water for the shower was good and hot. The heat in the room was excellent. The location was convenient, the price was good. They offer a lovely complimentary breakfast in the morning. All in all this place as quaint, charming, and we couldn't have been happier with our stay. THANK YOU STAFF AT FIRESIDE INN YOU DID A GREAT JOB!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clevercandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2008

This place is a truck stop. Filthy. Took one look at the room and left. Manager would not refund room through Expedia. Horrible experience.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — filthy room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richmondtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auburn hotels

Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Decided to stay here one night because it was close to the highway and we needed to get up at 3 AM to catch a train. We went to open our door with the key they gave us around 8 pm, only to realize that it was already occupied by someone! So, we went back to the front desk with all of our stuff and told the lady... she pretty much just said she was sorry and had given us the wrong room key (she was off by one room). In addition to this pretty big mishap, we asked for a wake up call at 3 am, were told we were all set, but never received one (we set our own alarms just in case). The walls facing outside are not very soundproof, and we were woken multiple times by loud guests (teenagers or college kids) having conversations and yelling outside of our door. As icing on the cake, as I got into bed, I felt something pricking me from the sheets, and found out that there was a small, thin woodchip-like piece of wood sticking straight up out of the sheets that I had to pry out. The only selling points for this place are that it was cheap, in a good location, and the room had a microwave and mini fridge in it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Wrong room key, no wake up call, loud at night
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amy180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comstock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Overall stay was good but we were disappointed that we didn't get what we had requested and paid for. A complaint has also been sent to Hotels.com whom we booked with.

We requested two rooms side by side and told that was available. Ended up with two rooms each on a different floor. The night of our arrival, we were told the clerk screwed up and was about to be fired and that we should talk to the general manager the next morning. When we came to the desk, we were told the manager was not at the desk and that there were no guarantees with hotels.com. Hotels.com gave us no indication of this, instead said we were booked for two rooms next to each other. That is what we paid for and expected upon our arrival. It was important to us because we came to Maine for my sisters wedding and we had not seen each other in 15 years.

That was our only issue with the Firesdide Inn but we were disappointed enough that we probably won't stay there again or book through Hotels. com.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank butterfly_2minor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2007

Stayed at this property from middle of November 2006 to March 2007. The staff is some of the best. I loved all of them. This is an older property but the staff makes up for the fact that it is older. The food is also good with very large portions. The hotel put a wreath on my door and a tree in the room when they found out I was going to spend Christmas in Maine. This is one example of how the staff goes out of the way to make you feel at home.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Old_Salt_Shreveport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
5.3 mi away
Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center
5.5 mi away
Center Street Value Inn
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
86 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
6.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites

Property: Fireside Inn & Suites
Address: 1777 Washington Street, Auburn, ME 04210
Location: United States > Maine > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story hotel featuring an array of room types. Fireside Inn & Suites offers large two-room suites with kitchenettes, deluxe hotel style rooms, and economically priced motel-style accommodations. Fireside Inn & Suites is conveniently located at exit 75 off the Maine Turnpike, 4 miles from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn And Suites
Fireside Hotel Auburn
Fireside Inn & Suites Auburn, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing